We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye opening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sigatoka River Safari

Sigatoka River Safari
Main Street, Sigatoka Town | Coral Coast, Viti Levu, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
+(679) 650 1721
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fiji's original jet-boat safari, Sigatoka River Safari offers a half-day, uniquely Fijian adventure into the heart and soul of Fiji, aboard custom-built safari jet boats. Passengers will travel along the Sigatoka River in jet boats to visit authentic Fijian villages and experience a day in the life of the real ‘kaiviti’ (Fijian). To bring the safari to life, a driver/ guide is assigned to each group and introduces passengers to the rich culture of the Fijian people and shares the history, customs and legends of the area. Sigatoka River Safari, won Best Fiji Experience in 2008 and Best Adventure Tour in 2007 at the annual AON Fiji Excellence in Tourism Awards.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eye opening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Bloody fantastic, the river was quite swollen after heavy rains of the night before.The fast jet boat ride was exhilarating the scenery amazing.Seeing the local farmers in the river and waving to us in the boat.The highlight was going to the village of Navula, seeing and mixing with the beautiful people and children, joining in dancing with them really was touching We actually left with heavy hearts as we really felt a part of the village even though it was only for a short time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    57
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Fun and Culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My kids and I loved this trip. The downside was the long ride on a dirt road to the launch site. Once there, we were impressed by the speed and comfort of the boat, the scenery and the skill of our driver (especially in low water). The highlight was the village tour. It did not seem rushed or commercial at all. We had a very authentic kava ceremony with the village elders and enjoyed a lavish meal of local foods prepared for us (all good and healthy -- I was somewhat concerned about getting sick due to cleanliness of the water, but we didn't), followed by dancing! The villagers were genuinely happy to see us and were excellent hosts. They benefit by these visits, of course, so it's a win-win. A highlight of our trip to Fiji.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Must do adrenalin and cultural trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We decided to do the Sigatoka River Safari after reading so many fantastic reviews, and we were not dissappointed!
The jet boats are super fast and super loud, and driven by Captain Jack Sparrow and his team. Several stops are made along the river, with commentary and facts along the way - although watch out for a few funnies from Captn Jack! Don't believe everything you hear!
The most appealing aspect of this safari adventure, is that they spread the love, by visiting different villages every day, so by attending, you are not only helping the village you visited, but so many more.
When we arrived, we were greeted by a guide, and taken to the village community hall, where we witnessed a Kava and Welcome Ceremony. Then a little walk around the villge, and onto a large feast in their hall, where they sit back and watch us eat, then they eat after - I wished they had eaten with us.
After lunch, there is much dancing and singing, with the children and elders, and then there is a farewell song, where you are invited to present your gifts to the village. Good gifts to take are pencils, footballs, second hand childrens clothes, books, treats (biscuits and jelly frogs etc) and you can also give cash. This money and these gifts remain with this village, so you know that your gifts are getting to those that need it.
Upon leaving, you are given the postal address of your village, and asked to send them any photo's that you took - and anythng else that you want to send to them.
The bus then takes you back into Sigatoka, and to the Tappoo tourist gift shop. All items purchased here are treated and guaranteed to get back through Aussie customs.
While the trip is a little expensive - $F400 for a family of 4, it was well worth it, and will be included on each and every trip we make to Fiji.
I would recommend the morning trip, purely because it gets so hot in the afternoon, and it is a long day - even though the tour only goes for approx 3 hours.
Our 3.5 yo and 5.5yo loved it, and they were not the youngest on the boat - we felt safe all the time.
Cant wait to go again. This is such a great tour to take your children on, to show them a cultural difference, while still in a safe environment.
Feel free to msg me if you have any questions.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

FJD265 I think is what I paid, roughly AUD150 was well worth every cent and more.

Was picked up from the Sheraton in Denarau and driven to Sigatoka along with a van load of others. Driver (Bobo) was really friendly).
Then boarded the mini-bus to the Jetty learning interesting facts along the way about the vegetation and Fiji in general.

Everyone was asked to gather into the groups they travelled with so nobody got split then we were all split into 2 groups
As I went by myself there was not really any worry about that for me but Captain Jack and Jo (Jordana) were very friendly and kept me company and in fits of laughter the boat ride to the village and back.

There was a little bit of a hill to walk up to the village but not too much trouble (there were handrails to hlep).The village was great! I read someone talk about the whole men being higher than women thing, and that maybe the tours should go to villages that are more women friendly, this is what they live like, if the village experience is what you want it goes hand in hand.
I am a woman and had no problem with it. The only parts where I saw a difference were in the welcoming/kava ceremony (men sat in the front and women at the back) and during the dancing (the women were asked to dance ALOT more lol)

There were older people on our trip and young children. One little boy ended up taking off with 2 of the little boys from the village and playing for the majority of the day.

After walking around the village and being told about some of the history and the make up of the village, we were taken into the community hall for lunch and entertainment.
The food was delicious although I felt rude sitting there and eating whilst the villagers didn't.
Dancing and entertainment was so enjoyable and hilarious.
The villagers were really nice and the children even came to see us after they had finished school.

We were told we could give a donation if we liked but were told it wasn't an obligation and I didn't feel pressured into anything. A couple and I got the address to send things back to the village.

Boat ride back was fun (loved the spins) an older woman in our group kept asking for more lol.

Thoroughly enjoyed myself and would do it all over again. Highly recommend it!!.

PS: Make sure you take sunglasses!! Ladies, you get a sulu as a souvenir and to wear at the village (don't remember if the guys got one) and you also get a small bottle of water (I recommend taking another one as the heat and all the dancing could dehydrate you ;) )

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic chance to see village life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My husband and I took our two 8 year old boys on this trip. What a great experience. After being picked up at our hotel we were taken to the office in town where details were checked and I was given a sarong (females needed to wear the sarong in the village as it is required that women's knees are covered). After a drive of around 30 minutes you arrive at the launch. We were welcomed aboard by Captain Jack who was both entertaining and informative offering information on Fijian history and tradition on the trip up the river. Along the way you see the locals fishing and bathing in the river. Everyone is ready with a wave. The company visits a different village each day of the week, so the whole village was out to meet us this Thursday. First stop was the chief's house where the traditional welcome and kava ceremony take place.(even my boys had some kava!) Following a walk through the village you get treated to a lovo lunch prepared by the villagers. The food was magnificent and fresh. I hope you like singing. The villagers (and Fijians in general) sing to you the whole time. It was wonderful. We also received thanks by joining the villagers in dance. It was fantastic fun. With gifts handed over (we took lollies and school supplies, but a cash donation is also welcome), it was time to head back to our boat for a quick trip home. Be ready to get wet, as you get to experience 360degree thrills on the return journey. Overall an excellent experience and well recommended way to see some of Fiji and get to learn about Fiji life.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigatoka River Safari also viewed

Sigatoka, Coral Coast
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 

Been to Sigatoka River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sigatoka River Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.