We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor management and bad food lets down a stunning hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maro Road | Natadola Bay, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Poor management and bad food lets down a stunning hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed for 7 nights in a club suite at $1200 per night , this is absolutely top dollar for Fiji so expected more.

Good things first:
the club lounge
the lovely staff at the club (except the club manager who was officious and rude)
the beautiful new rooms, great beds, well designed, lovely furniture
the setting - sunset and high tide are to die for
the band who play at the bar - amazing singing
the spa (but the prices are high considering what the staff get paid)
the fire dancing show

Bad things: ( and there were lots- here are just a few)
as many have said, the quality of the food is just shocking - if the local chefs aren't up to scratch (as we were told by a manager) then they need to find some chefs who can cook. there is nowhere else to eat

cleanliness - On 2 occasions I saw a kid do a number 1 in the pool- it was just scooped up and that was it.

the kids club- my kids hated it and refused to go as they got bored and were essentially ignored. fine for toddlers but not for any kids older than 5.

the kids eat free buffet is totally unacceptable and just junk and sickening

billing- constantly having wrong charges on our bill and our final hotel room charges not being mixed up causing stress on checkout ++++

disorganised - the place doesn't really run properly - things are constantly forgotten

and many, many, many other things too long to list

the bottom line is that when you are paying top dollar for a relaxing holiday and every day there are at least 5 things that really upset or irritate you, and you go home feeling annoyed, that is not good, no matter how lovely the setting or the rooms are. I felt bad complaining, but the management have to realise that we have better things to do on a holiday than complain and get angry. Noone comes on a holiday to waste time doing that. If people do complain, then management need to take it seriously rather than with disdain or thing "not another uptight Australian tourist".

Management do know what the faults are as they must read these reviews, and I certainly witnessed enough people getting angry to know they are getting a lot of negative feedback. they just need to get their act together and deal with it. such a shame that a beautifully designed place has so many flaws.

.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Many thanks for your constructive comments. We do strive to continually improve our service levels, and appreciate your feedback greatly.

I have followed up with the team in regards to the points you raise with regards to the'number 2' in the pool, you would have received my letter to guests at the time. If such an incident occurs we are obliged to close the pool as soon as we are notified, to rechlorinate, as we did on these occassions. The health and safety of our guests is something we take very seriously.

Kind regards
Heather

Heather Cornish
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    368
    119
    40
    17
See reviews for
527
621
32
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I was surprised to see all the high ratings on here. Are they real? I have traveled extensively business/pleasure. This hotel has five star accomadations with 2 star service. I wouldnt give it more than a 3 out of give stars.

Problems

-reservations
-conceirge
-maid service (Theft at hotel)
-waitstaff (horrible - we are guessing because they dont get tips)
-guests partying until 2 am
-guests drinking heavily all day at the pool and shouting (loud!!)
-food was OK - def. not five star (there is one very expensive formal dining restaurant that was good.)

We had an issues every day of our trip. This resort needs new managment or something. We asked to see the GM during our stay and he never got back to us.
We won't ever use intercontinental again.

PS - the staff seemed unhappy at the resort and we were told a lot of locals have quit. Its too bad as the property is very nice. Dont be fooled though; having issues everyday of your vacation is not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were very disappointed to read of your poor experience and have noted the number of challenges you faced during your stay. Please be assured that we are fully committed to investigating and rectifying the points you noted and have shared your feedback with our teams for action.

With your feedback we continue to evolve and improve and would like to thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards
Scott

Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

we spent 2 weeks here in feb and it was exactly what I ordered.
We took the helicopter option from the airport as was much quicker than driving but will go car next time and stock up on mixers and snacks in Nadi
We were looking for a holiday where we could both just sit (or lie) and do nothing but read, eat, drink and watch a few movies.
The food was good, breakfast was excellent and so was the Navo restuaraunt which I thought the best value for money and we ate there most nights. did not do the buffet dinners as i've never had a good experience with them anywhere except Vegas.
The beach was awesome and spent most days in a cabana on the beachfront in front of our room reading my kindle (managed to knock over 7 books in 2 weeks) and snorkelling.

Good Points
Relaxing atmosphere
Navo restauraunt
DVD's from concierge
Rooms (just amazing and very well thought out )
Beach with snorkelling on your doorstep
The bed and pillows
Spa (equivilent in price and service to a spa in melbourne)
Off season best time to go i think
less than 5 hours travelling from Melbourne

Bad Points
Nothing really
It can get a bit windy but I love a cool breeze
A bit more shade around the adult pool If they could get some trees around it to solve shade and wind problems ( the outrigger has one of the best pool surrounds i have seen)
If the had a few pool tables in the bar i would have spent every night in there instead of in my room either reading or watching movies.
But all in all it fit the bill perfectly for the type of holiday we wanted which was to forget work and do nothing.
We went to Nadi and Denerau for a day. Won't bother doing that again. We did have a great meal at an indian restuaraunt but the cocktail I had at the Hard rock was.. well.. could not even taste the fruit syrup. A very expensive glass of coloured water. It was cold though.
So if you want a 'do nothing' luxury holiday this is the perfect place.
Although I was so pleased to get away from work I would have gone anywhere with a pool and food But we were more than happy with the intercontinental.
Will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We value your feedback and would love to welcome you back upon your return.

Kind regards
Heather

Heather Cornish
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Intercontinental in Fiji is the best resort we’ve ever stayed at and we’re well travelled. It’s not perfect and has its faults, which I will list, but overall I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay on the mainland.

1. Don’t try to find the place in the dark if you’ve hired a rental car. The sign for the resort is not lit up, which I find incredible given it’s an international resort.

2. In our room their were two types of shower heads, the normal shower head and what they call a rain shower head, which is directly above you. The only problem is if you want to have a shower using the normal shower head, the rain shower head leaks cold water on you right throughout your shower.

3. There are three restaurants in the Hotel, an upmarket one, another one by the pool and a third one which is a buffet restaurant. Not one of them serve you water when you sit down for a meal, which is standard practice in the U.S. When we sat down in the upmarket restaurant, we were offered two types of water, which we had to pay for.

4. The other trick they use in the upmarket restaurant is to make the portion sizes small, so you end up having to order an entrée, the main and a dessert so you’re full and I’m not an overweight person, so I don’t require lots of food.

5. The service by the pool restaurant is poor if you’re eating during busy times.

6. The resort has a sixteen foot wooden boat where they will take you sports fishing for a couple of hours. They offer you two times, from 8.30 a.m to 10.30 a.m or from 4 p.m to 6 p.m. Don’t go in the afternoons as you are much more likely to catch something in the morning. This was told to us by the guys who took us fishing. It is a bit of a rip-off though. They charge Fijian $300 per hour if you want the boat to yourself. They will try and pressure you to go with someone else. The problem with this is if you go with strangers you’ve got to sought out who’s going to catch the fish. I think the skipper should allot times to the passengers but the skipper just asks everyone who wants the rod when the fish is actually on the line. You want to take some seasickness pills too. It looks calm in the lagoon but once you get past the breakers, it’s a different story. It can be a little cold too with the wind and you’re going to get soaked as the waves crash over the boat. I took my raincoat and stayed pretty dry and warm. We found it fun but two hours was enough. The boat’s pretty basic so you’re sitting on a wooden seat. I would call the Hotel and book the fishing a couple of weeks before you’re due to arrive as it was pretty booked up when we were there.

7. The snorkelling in front of the resort is not great and the coral is quite dark but that’s apparently the case with all the coral on the mainland. If snorkelling is your thing, you’re better to do the blue lagoon cruise and perhaps spend some time at the Hotel before or after the cruise or spend some time at one of the outer islands for a few days snorkelling.

So as you can see there are a few things that the management at the Hotel can improve on but overall our stay at the resort was fantastic. It’s a beautiful resort, a very romantic place for a couple and you come back feeling invigorated for work. It was the best holiday I’ve ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
We have taken note of your disappointments but we are glad that it was your best holiday.

Kind regrads
Heather

Heather Cornish
Actiing General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at a 2 bedroom club suite - more like an apartment ( 2 Adults & 2 Children) for 4 nights at the end of our Fiji holiday. What a beautiful place over looking the beach. Away from the crowds & total serenity. So RELAXING even in the middle of school holiday. Wonderful staff who are always happy to help & we love the food provided at the Club whether it was breakfast, high tea or the evening canapes. Definitely we will be back.
Thank you Niv, Jane, Katrane and all the other staff on your team for such a blissful stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
We appreciate your feedback and definitely glad to welcome you back on your return. I am gald your holiday was enjoyable.

Kind regards
Heather

Heather Cornish
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Big Busy and Bland would be the first things that come to mind when i think of our stay.
If your expecting five star you may be a little disappointed especially when it comes to the food. I have had better food in a 3 star boutique hotel. Yes you have options but even the finest restaurent was bland and did not offer quality or taste. This hotel has had consistent bad reviews about the food and it is astounding they are still not addressing the issue. You expect burgers and fries and average salads around the pool but if you pay big $$ for the good stuff you want to feel like you can't wait to go back. We chose the club as we thought it may offer some solace being school holidays no such luck. Noise wherever you tried to escape to. Even the adults only pool had inconsiderate people who did not adhere to the rules and unfortunately the Fijians are not up for confrontation.
There are sufficient kids areas and this should be respected so the people who want to relax can do so. The beach itself is ok but not overly inviting. The sunsets are excellent. The band in the Kama lounge was fabulous as were the cocktails. The transfer in the land cruiser whilst expensive is worth the extra money. All the staff are fantastic and overall the resort is well set out and has everything for a nice holiday. We spend the last 3 days (we checked out early) on an island that was far prettier, relaxing and had amazing food (likuliku) for us it was just perfect. We may return again but not until they sort out the food issue - so we will look forward to future comments.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel - and would recommend it for families with small children. Key points we found about staying here:
- Kids club is fantastic. The have varied activities each day, and it runs from 8:00am - 10:00pm (approx) and costs something ridiculously cheap like $25 fijian a day. Great play area, and throughout the day they take the kids out to do activites. One night having dinner we watched a group of about 20 kids suddenly appear on a frog hunt! Baby-sitting is also excellent easy to organise and not expensive
- Cleopatra baths on the balcony. Everyone mentions these and for good reason - what a great idea! Nothing like sitting in the bath with a beer watching the view from the balcony.
- Kids pool. Nice but not the best we have seen. Not as many things (like slides) to keep the kids occupied as other resort pools we have seen
- Buffet/Food options. Good but again not the best we've seen. After a week the breakfast buffet started to feel a bit same same. Be aware that the resort is not close to any other resorts or towns, so you do need to have all your meals at the resort.
- Location. The location and the view is great - and yes the beach is fantastic, especially when compared to somewhere like Denarau Island. But the resort is isolated - there are no othe resorts near-by and the nearest town/resort is a 20 minute taxi ride. So you do need to make sure that the resort has everything you want/need cause that's where you will be eating, playing, swimming and doing your activities

All in all we really enjoyed our stay there, and with a 2 year old child it was great to know she had a lot to do when she went to the kids club. We stayed a week, which was an elegant sufficiency, any longer and i think the food options and relative isolation would have started to kick in

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji_Staff, Sales Coordinator (sanjeshni.nand@ihg.com) at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for the postive feedback and hope to see you return.

Kind regards
Heather

Heather Cornish
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Maro Road | Natadola Bay, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort and Spa is located on the beautiful and picturesque Natadola Beach on Fiji's main island of Viti Levu. Relax on palm-fringed white sand beach or swim or snorkel in rolling surf to experience natural Fijian ambiance. The resort offers breathtaking 360-degree views of Natadola Bay and exotic landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Hotel Sigatoka
Intercontinental Coral Coast
Intercontinental Fiji Hotel
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.