We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tu's Place

Tu's Place
Queens Road, Martintar, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
+679 672 2110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Nadi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Loveley food and nice staff. It doesn't look amazing but it's sure worth visiting. We had the chicken and beef curry.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    52
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Enormous Serves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

For the first time, strangely, I had regular Fish n Chips. I LOVE Tu's Place and have been coming here for years, but altho the portions were enormous, the salads divine and the chips nice and chunky, the batter was a bit soggy and the fish a bit dry. This is the 'first' time I have not been 100% impressed with the food but it was still excellent value for money. Actually it could easily have fed 2 x people. Tomato Sauce and Aoli were served along side. The Aoli was divine. Altho this was my first time back in just under a year, the staff remembered me and that is a nice touch.

So my HUGE plate was $22 Fijian. Was nice to see another Fijian couple (daughter and older mother) dining there, too.

I shall return of course, before I leave Fiji, but will this time most likely go for the Kokoda which is the best I have tasted in Fiji.

Bula Vinaka Tu's Place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
749 reviews 749 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
“Mixed results”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Went to Tu's Place recently on the recommendation of several others. Four people in our group and all ordered fish (but different dishes). Three of the four raved about the food. Unfortunately, I was the "odd man out" having ordered traditional fish and chips, which I was not that impressed with. Not much flavor and rather dry. I requested tartar sauce and the waitress simply pointed out that they provide tomato catsup and mustard. As many others have stated, servings are very generous; most of us were unable to eat everything provided. Very friendly service and nice atmosphere. The menu offers a good mix of Fijian dishes, with some European and Thai additions. Good cold beer at reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good local eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Food was tasty with probably too big portions! Menu is predominantly Fijian, which is what we wanted although there are some English options and Thai influences. Good value aswell - around FJ$100 for two wines, two beers and two courses for two people. Would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Real food for your heart and soul!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant 2 nights in a row. We had not read about it in advance but our hotel manager recommended the place for us . The food was excellent! Really big portions and really tasty! We could not eat everything but they offered leftovers to go. Nice! The service was really good and friendly. Considering the quality of the food we thought the price was good, we payed about 50 fiji dollars for 2 mains, beer and coke. Will go back next time we're in Nadi!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tu's Place also viewed

 

Been to Tu's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tu's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.