We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tu's Place

Tu's Place
Queens Road, Martintar, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
6722110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 66 restaurants in Nadi
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Found the place via TripAdvisor and reading the reviews thought we'd give it a go. Just had lunch earlier on today and it was good.

We tried the Fish & Chips and the Steamed Fish Parcels. Both were great with fresh fish. We also had the bean salad and roast pumpkin salad. Must admit, it was some of the best salads we had .... and was made of local ingredients.

Menu was quite varied from Fijian (Sea)food to thai inspired dishes. They're open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Would recommend to anyone in the Nadi area to give a go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    49
    41
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tu's a Fijian Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The service and presentation has improved, the quality and quantity of the food is excellent. The price structure is realistic, with real Fijian friendliness. When in Nadi this delightful restaraunt is a must. Beware of the Big Breakfast it is as suggested BIG...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

What a little gem. True Fijian service with a smile and fantastic large sized meals. Not one of our party of 9 was disappointed. This place is a must if in the denarau area

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big portions great for people with big appetites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I hadn't been here in some years so had forgotten how big the portions are. I had a fish dish which was a walu I think I was told ( a deep water fish) like a tuna - it was very dry and lacking in flavor. The salads that you can choose to go with the mains - one potato one was really spicy so if your are not into spice watch out, we can eat spicy but that proved too spicy so we couldn't eat it, the pumpkin sale though was very good. The chicken wrap that another person had was very tasty though, and the dessert banoffee pie was huge, delicious, but too big for one person to finish. The restaurant was very busy that night so the food came out about 45 mins after we had ordered.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simple decor and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

On a transit stopover we skipped our hotel dinner at the Raffles Gateway to eat here. A $10 taxi ride (always bargain first), Tu's is located in a down at heel shopping area halfway to Nadi. A simple cafe like interior hides excellent food and a very friendly hostess. Around $80 for two for two course and drinks. Highly recommended alternative to the poor buffet often served at the big hotels.
It was employ on the night we visited but they do take reservations. Open until nine or later.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tu's Place also viewed

 

Been to Tu's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tu's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.