We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic of Capricorn Resort to your Saves list
Tropic of Capricorn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Mamas for two nights whilst in Nadi for a friend's wedding. We had been corresponding with Mama by email a bit before arriving and found her helpful from the start. On arriving Cathy was very friendly and when Mama saw us she gave us the biggest hugs and we were welcomed to the family.

The hotel is in an area a bit away from Nadi town centre among several other resorts which were mainly full of young backpackers. There isn't much around there to do, just to note. There is a small pool, bar, office with lots of brochures and info and a cafe area. There is also lots of seating outside and it backs straight onto the beach was was great. The beach isn't particularly beautiful in that area but sand was soft and clean.

Mama was very kind and upgraded us to an en suite large room which was much appreciated. The room was basic but had tea and coffee facilities, a fridge and air con (which we didn't actually need). It also had a balcony and windows on 3 sides so was very light. It was perfectly clean and comfy and we found it to be quiet at night. We had a basic breakfast included as well.

I would definitely recommend having some of the food here. We made the mistake on the first night of going to a place next door which had an all you can eat curry buffet to save some money but wished we hadn't. They were so rude and the food was bad. We did have some lunch at Mamas and it was delicious! We had a burger which was homemade and full of salad.

The resort next door had fire dancers one night so we just walked across the beach and went to watch which was fun. I think a lot of the resorts have things going on that you can join in with.

When we had to get to the wedding, Mama's husband drove us there which was really kind and another example of the kindness shown to us. I have no idea what the review below is going on about, but all of the staff were so friendly and helpful to us. If you are staying in this area I'd definitely recommend Mama's as the others seem more touristy and the staff aren't as nice, but at Mama's you will feel like you have come home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    52
    21
    12
    24
See reviews for
13
79
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Germany, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

To be quite frank, this is not the kind of resort you go to if you intend being waited upon like you are royal. If you want luxury, if you want the staff to take a bow whenever you pass them, if you expect the menu to be a la carte cuisine.... go ahead and pay for it! Tropic of Capricorn is one of the best budget accommodation resorts you will find in Nadi. This is where you go when you want to have a vacation without being treated like a simple tourist. This isn't just a resort, this is a home. Mama is the owner and the manager and on more than one occasion you will find her in the kitchen busily preparing your meals. Mama and her ladies make you feel like you are a part of the family. The simple rooms with their sand colored walls, wooden floors and clean, white sheets are very homely. It doesn't really matter if you have an ocean view because most of the time you keep the blinds shut to keep the heat of the sun out anyway. If you walk out onto the dining patio you have the beach stretched out in front of you and you can watch the sun set every day. Breakfast is included and from 7 to 9 am, fairly simple but the perk is Mama doesn't mind if you overslept as long as you help yourself. Some lovely, traditional Fijian dishes can be conjured up in the kitchen and you don't want to miss Mama's Sunday Roast. Need a change of restaurant scenery, you will also find good food (and free internet) over at the Coconut Backpackers, Smugglers Cove charges the same prices for portions that are considerably smaller. There is a bus that pics you up just in front of the resort, and for $1,10 p.P you can travel to Nadi and end its route at the bus station. If you would like to do some Island hopping, Cathy will advise you and take care of all the bookings and transfers to get to you where you want to be. This place is down to earth, quite and peaceful if you understand, this is where you truly learn what Fiji Time means. This is a place where you can let go and relax. If you are young and want to party... try the Coconut Backpackers. If you want the Fiji you see on the brochures... you'll have to pay the price. If you want everything to be perfect... stay at home and don't even dare to leave your organized lives to visit Fiji. If you are not a people's person... that's your problem, don't write a bad review about the Resort. Mama's is a place to call home away from home where you can really have that Fiji time you where looking for. Thank you all again. Vinaka Mama, we will miss you and look forward to seeing you again. Take care!!! Vanuinui vinaka

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

do not stay here. Women who niggle all day at your expense. A passive aggresive environment pool dead kitchen dead no empathy yelling at customers much fijian cursing rude women who hate men No empathy selective favortism of locals tolerate drug sales on the street ....No knowledge of fijian culture yet fijian very sad place one can feel the dysfunction

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After spending the last year traveling the world, my very last stay was at Mama's. What a way to finish my travels .... The ladies here are amazing and make you feel so at home! It was my friends 21st birthday whilst I was here and Mama and Cathy made sure we had a night to remember, sorting our taxis for our night out and even made cake!! I will definitely be returning when I come back to Fiji.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Nadi, not only because you are steps away from the beach & ocean, but because Mama (who runs the place) treats you like her own.

Mama went out of her way to help me learn the culture. She cooks up delicious meals. She greets you every time you see her and always remembered my name. It felt like I was home.

If you haven't been to Fiji (go already, its beautiful, and the people are SO friendly) then be sure to stay at Mamas! You will feel like family and everything else falls into place as a result!

-Andrew
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: I had a ocean view the first time. After I returned from SavuSavu I booked OCEAN FRONT which was inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

me and my husband married on the island then came to Mamas for a larger celebration with friends and family.It was important to us and our guests that we felt "at home". and choosing mamas did not dissapoint. we chose to make and bring our own food, but Mamma let us have full use of their kitchen and aunty Bella made delicious cakes (after admitting at last minute we didnt know how to do it ourselves) - thank you so so much we were all made to feel like family and have nothing but the best memories of our special day. Thank you for sharing our day.
Dawn and Gerald Tavo :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

What a place a home away from home! Mama is the nicest most genuine person you will ever meet. You are treated like one of the family in this hotel. Lovely big rooms right on the beach. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama406, Manager at Tropic of Capricorn Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Bula,

Thanks for taking your time to write this feedback on your recent stay with us at our resort and it was a pleasure having you.
Thanks for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you into our small family resort.
It really is exciting to read that a guest has enjoyed their stay and we will continue to maintain that level of standard.

A big Vinakavakalevu for having us be part of your holidays and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Holeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.0 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Raffles Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic of Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Address: 11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic of Capricorn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi story beach mansion close tothe International Airport with sweeping views over the Mamanuca Islands and magical tropical sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Resort Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic of Capricorn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.