We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Accommodation at its Best!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic of Capricorn Resort to your Saves list
Tropic of Capricorn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
New Germany, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Budget Accommodation at its Best!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

To be quite frank, this is not the kind of resort you go to if you intend being waited upon like you are royal. If you want luxury, if you want the staff to take a bow whenever you pass them, if you expect the menu to be a la carte cuisine.... go ahead and pay for it! Tropic of Capricorn is one of the best budget accommodation resorts you will find in Nadi. This is where you go when you want to have a vacation without being treated like a simple tourist. This isn't just a resort, this is a home. Mama is the owner and the manager and on more than one occasion you will find her in the kitchen busily preparing your meals. Mama and her ladies make you feel like you are a part of the family. The simple rooms with their sand colored walls, wooden floors and clean, white sheets are very homely. It doesn't really matter if you have an ocean view because most of the time you keep the blinds shut to keep the heat of the sun out anyway. If you walk out onto the dining patio you have the beach stretched out in front of you and you can watch the sun set every day. Breakfast is included and from 7 to 9 am, fairly simple but the perk is Mama doesn't mind if you overslept as long as you help yourself. Some lovely, traditional Fijian dishes can be conjured up in the kitchen and you don't want to miss Mama's Sunday Roast. Need a change of restaurant scenery, you will also find good food (and free internet) over at the Coconut Backpackers, Smugglers Cove charges the same prices for portions that are considerably smaller. There is a bus that pics you up just in front of the resort, and for $1,10 p.P you can travel to Nadi and end its route at the bus station. If you would like to do some Island hopping, Cathy will advise you and take care of all the bookings and transfers to get to you where you want to be. This place is down to earth, quite and peaceful if you understand, this is where you truly learn what Fiji Time means. This is a place where you can let go and relax. If you are young and want to party... try the Coconut Backpackers. If you want the Fiji you see on the brochures... you'll have to pay the price. If you want everything to be perfect... stay at home and don't even dare to leave your organized lives to visit Fiji. If you are not a people's person... that's your problem, don't write a bad review about the Resort. Mama's is a place to call home away from home where you can really have that Fiji time you where looking for. Thank you all again. Vinaka Mama, we will miss you and look forward to seeing you again. Take care!!! Vanuinui vinaka

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    29
    18
    10
    19
See reviews for
9
61
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Park, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

do not stay here. Women who niggle all day at your expense. A passive aggresive environment pool dead kitchen dead no empathy yelling at customers much fijian cursing rude women who hate men No empathy selective favortism of locals tolerate drug sales on the street ....No knowledge of fijian culture yet fijian very sad place one can feel the dysfunction

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

After spending the last year traveling the world, my very last stay was at Mama's. What a way to finish my travels .... The ladies here are amazing and make you feel so at home! It was my friends 21st birthday whilst I was here and Mama and Cathy made sure we had a night to remember, sorting our taxis for our night out and even made cake!! I will definitely be returning when I come back to Fiji.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Nadi, not only because you are steps away from the beach & ocean, but because Mama (who runs the place) treats you like her own.

Mama went out of her way to help me learn the culture. She cooks up delicious meals. She greets you every time you see her and always remembered my name. It felt like I was home.

If you haven't been to Fiji (go already, its beautiful, and the people are SO friendly) then be sure to stay at Mamas! You will feel like family and everything else falls into place as a result!

-Andrew
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: I had a ocean view the first time. After I returned from SavuSavu I booked OCEAN FRONT which was inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

me and my husband married on the island then came to Mamas for a larger celebration with friends and family.It was important to us and our guests that we felt "at home". and choosing mamas did not dissapoint. we chose to make and bring our own food, but Mamma let us have full use of their kitchen and aunty Bella made delicious cakes (after admitting at last minute we didnt know how to do it ourselves) - thank you so so much we were all made to feel like family and have nothing but the best memories of our special day. Thank you for sharing our day.
Dawn and Gerald Tavo :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

What a place a home away from home! Mama is the nicest most genuine person you will ever meet. You are treated like one of the family in this hotel. Lovely big rooms right on the beach. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama406, Manager at Tropic of Capricorn Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Bula,

Thanks for taking your time to write this feedback on your recent stay with us at our resort and it was a pleasure having you.
Thanks for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you into our small family resort.
It really is exciting to read that a guest has enjoyed their stay and we will continue to maintain that level of standard.

A big Vinakavakalevu for having us be part of your holidays and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Holeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Mama and staff are caring protective and accomidating , she takes care off all , espically the young ones, and goes beyond the normal scale to look after your needs, sleeping little to insure guests don't miss flights and other plans requiring early starts, the money has never been important to her ,( her rates are very reasonable) and is the mother ' many people crave for, and will go all out to take care of her guests.
I recommend you highly to book a beach facing room with attached balcony, as its right on the beach, overlooking the ocean and is the ideal place to take a relaxing holiday.
Guarantee you'll be coming back again n again to see the most spectacular sunsets ever.

I've been there three times in the last 3 years and I've been to many countries .
But will always return to mamas tropic of capricorn resort and big hearted mama.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama406, Manager at Tropic of Capricorn Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Bula Peter Decosta,

Our sincere gratitude for your very kind review of Mama's Tropic of Capricorn. Mama and I are so delighted of your honest positive comments and for these it definitely motivates us to spread the warm, happy and cheerful spirit around. We are glad that you really enjoyed the amenities offered in the room, the ocean views and the friendly of the staffs. Thank you for being with us and we hope to see you again soon :)

Best Wishes,
Holeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic of Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Address: 11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic of Capricorn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi story beach mansion close tothe International Airport with sweeping views over the Mamanuca Islands and magical tropical sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Resort Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic of Capricorn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.