We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic of Capricorn Resort to your Saves list
Tropic of Capricorn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was here for a night. Absolutely loved it. This place is just awesome. Nice Location, excellent service. Had taken a sea view room and whole night could hear the sound of waves. Room was very clean and spacious.
The Owner Mama is very warm and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    18
    11
    21
See reviews for
10
68
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savusavu, Fiji
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We live in Fiji, are Fiji citizens and know that you just roll with the punches with whatever happens! It is what it is and it is what YOU make it!

After booking in to the Bamboo next door and them having no record of our booking (they'd rented our pre-booked room out!) they took us here. We recognise the area as budget travel, but we get a lot of divers who are on a budget and we'd wanted to try out a place to stay in Nadi to help our guests out by trying and then recommending. We paid $65 FJD for a double room, breakfast included.

Capricorn offered us ocen view or block wall view, we chose ocean view and they then said sorry, only block wall view - I think it had to do with us having a large suitcase and ocean view had stairs! Not beig fluent in Fijian has us at a disadvantage sometimes!

Room, was on the driveway, very small, air con was not efficient, no hot water and towels, sheets etc were clean but stained.

Breakfast was local supermarket jam on toast and tea/coffee.

Cycone damage still obvious, but lots of new building, so they must be doing OK. Good on them. Location also sees them amongst a number of other budget accomodations and backpackers can party up a storm!

It is what it is!

Room Tip: Main building, Ocean View - insisit you can carry your own bag to ensure you get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Tropic of Capricorn is the most amazing place... its beautiful, clean, very cosy and loveable.

Mama the owner of Capricorn is a god sent angel.... As soon as I walked into the hotel- she greeted me like I was a long lost son..

Please come to Nadi and stay here..

Love you Mama...

Best place ever :)

Room Tip: Choose the room upstairs for good views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was here in March/April 2012 (during Cyclone Daphne).

Firstly, I was in Bamboo. Which is really cool. Then I moved over to Tropic of Capricorn just over the road. I stayed in the downstairs dorm. Also one night in the upstairs dorm. The below review covers both.

The rooms are better. Cleaner. The place is clean :) It has air con and the shower/bathroom facilities are the best.

The air con was well good!

But where it really shines is Mamma. On my trip around the world my fondest memory of somewhere to stay would be here when I think of the hospitality. She goes out of her way to make people's stay as hassle free and as nice as possible.

Example:

Myself, along with others, had problems with a certain boat company regarding our bula passes that would take us island hopping. Mamma sorted pretty much all of this out (even though some people did not buy the pass through her). I am convinced that if she was not involved then some people (including myself) would have been massively out of pocket.

Cannot fault the place. Really kind and welcoming! Even when I came back from island hopping and had a night before my next flight she welcomed me like an old friend (and I had no reservation). Mamma - if you're reading this I think I still owe you for the bed for that night! Get in touch and I'll wire you the money (Nish Mohamedally)

There is a pool and there is an ocean view. I fully recommend that you stay here when on the mainland.

No bedbugs. Clean. Cheap. Honest. LOVELY owner. What more could you ask for?

This is the only review I think I have done on Trip Advisor where I've rated 5 stars for service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness and rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Mama treats all of her guests like long time friends coming to stay in her home. Lovely modern accommodation right on the beach and not far from the airport, and best value compared to other backpacker places located on the same street. Nadi itself is definately just a stop over place while you go exploring other parts of Fiji, but staying at Mama's is like dropping in to see your friend while on holiday. Will definately be back Mama!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limone sul Garda, Italy
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we spend there one night. we got a very small room, full of dust at the last floor. the hotel is a mess, full dirty, a lot of dead insects everywhere, cats and dogs going in and out the kitchen. the pool is not a pool is just a hole with green mouldy water, so small that my bathtube home is quite the same. the owners are unfriendly and the place is just running down. i asked why everything was so dirty and the owner answered me that the cleaning lady had her day off....to me she could have left weeks ago...
the air conditioning is over the bed and so drops on the pillows...the pillows inside were green of mould. my partner has a light asma and we didn´t know about the mould, so he coughed all night before discovering the reason the following day.
it´s a pity because the hotel is right at the beach but if you take a look to the next resort or the other budget options around new town you see immediately the difference.
in my opinion cheap doesn´t mean to be dirty. i suggest not to book here.

Room Tip: they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It wasn´t the finest hotel ever nor is Nadi the nicest place to staz in Fiji since they have all those beautiful tiny islands. BUT if you stay on the main island go Mama´s tropic of capricorn. It is really clean, modern new looking bathroom, with a nice ocean view.
The price-performance ratio was excellent. The breakfast was nice as well and Fijians are super nice, they even carried our luggage to the room.
There is a nice hostel right next to Mama´s as well, but it´s more expensive and has shared rooms. But you can just walk over and eat in their restaurant and have some drinks at their bar which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic of Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Address: 11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic of Capricorn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi story beach mansion close tothe International Airport with sweeping views over the Mamanuca Islands and magical tropical sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Resort Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic of Capricorn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.