We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for that price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropic of Capricorn Resort to your Saves list
Tropic of Capricorn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent for that price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It wasn´t the finest hotel ever nor is Nadi the nicest place to staz in Fiji since they have all those beautiful tiny islands. BUT if you stay on the main island go Mama´s tropic of capricorn. It is really clean, modern new looking bathroom, with a nice ocean view.
The price-performance ratio was excellent. The breakfast was nice as well and Fijians are super nice, they even carried our luggage to the room.
There is a nice hostel right next to Mama´s as well, but it´s more expensive and has shared rooms. But you can just walk over and eat in their restaurant and have some drinks at their bar which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    18
    11
    21
See reviews for
10
68
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stay at mamas for over 2 weeks she treated me as her own. Made sure I was happy and having a good time. Stay in a dorm room it was clean and comfortable. Close to other hostels so if you need more amenities just hop over to smugglers. Great time hope to see MaMa Jerry and the rest again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Came to stay here because my other hostel was fully booked and had been bitten by bed bugs so wanted to move on as quickly as possible. The hotel is a fantastic budget hotel. If you are expecting 5 star facilities then not for you but for the price the facilities are really great. It is right on the beach next to the bigger Smuggles resort but a double room is a fraction of the price and still has everything you need. Mama the boss was helpful right from the start. They were busy but she found me a room and for a really good price. The room was on the smaller side but very clean, newly decorated and had everything you needed. Overall very good value. The hotel has a really relaxed atmosphere and Mama really makes this. I was staying on my own for a couple of days and I often would sit with her and have a chat and a cup of tea (for no extra charge!) She made you feel like it was home away from home. She also went to tell the old hostel that they had bedbugs and the next day one of the staff from the old hostel came to apologize to me. She went out of her way to make sure you had a good stay. If you want a double room for a cheap price but still in the centre of the touristy beach area would definitely recommend Mama's Tropics of Capricorn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my fience stayed here for just over a week and was welcomed with open arms from our fijian mama!! The hostel has suffored some nasty vandal damage from evil overpriced rivals next door (smugglers cove) but has only put a minor set back to the big dreams that mama has for the place!! Its located on the beach and is a good base to go off to the islands from as you can get the boat from that same beach! drinks are cheap and its always happy hour there!! You could go next door to smugglers to watch the over rated fire dance but thats about it because they overprice everything and the food is super bland!! Mama was kind enough to let us use her kitchen as we were running out of money. We managed to look past the vandal dammage and saw the place for how special it will be one day! Cant wait to return and see how it looks. ps it has the most comfy beds in the world!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Budget accommodation - not recommended for families. Renovations taking place on top floors so very noisy, would not stay there ! Located on the beach but not close to anything. If happy to hang around resort then ok, would have to get local bus into town $ 1 FJ but limited times or taxi would cost $ 10 FJ. close to airport (10 minutes) but that's about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not sure why someone is insisting that the food at Mama's is expensive. It is the cheapest menu around, and also your best option for authentic Fijian food in the area. Smuggler's Cove is more expensive and not nearly as good.

Mama was very hospitable to me and other guests while I was there. Even when I was staying at Smuggler's Cove, she invited me over and served me free authentic Fijian food on multiple occasions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Mama, hubby, Jerry and Bella are the most welcoming caring people. They seem happy and relaxed which has a wonderful effect on you and exactly what I needed. Not a big showy resort, but clean and spacious, and the bed was so comfortable, i slept longer than I would at home. Meals are simple and well cooked to order, not expensive. For those worried about the pets, Mamas pets are extremely well behaved and you only ever see them, they don't bother you at all. I stayed only as a transit stop for 1 night either side of a 4 night trip, Jerry was great at organising transfers and from what I gathered, could provide stacks of great ideas on things to do on an extended stay. The local bus stop is right out the front, the Island cruise transfer coach drops off there too. There is complimentary pick up from the airport and a very prompt and reliable service back to the airport if needed( $12 FD). I was surprised at the number of people staying, there isnt any noise and you barely notice the place next door unless you go onto the beach. Loved it and thank you so much.

Room Tip: get the pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropic of Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Address: 11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic of Capricorn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi story beach mansion close tothe International Airport with sweeping views over the Mamanuca Islands and magical tropical sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Resort Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic of Capricorn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.