We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxed and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropic of Capricorn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropic of Capricorn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Nadi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Relaxed and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

A very relaxed and relaxing establishment right on the beach. You are likley to be greeted by the owner, Mama, and invited to take tea or coffee even before checking in. This hotel is especially for the budget traveller and you will get more than you bargained for, that is certain. There are ongoing improvements being made and together with the personality of the owner and staff you will be ensured a stress break, excellent.

Room Tip: All good rooms, some better than others depending on your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    12
    11
    16
See reviews for
6
49
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Venezia, Italia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

"Mama" the owner was really friendly and helpfull, as other members of the staff. Rooms are easy but cheap, also the cuisine was good. personally i don't like the location, the beach is nothing special and the worst thing is that's is really busy, a lot of youg noisy aussie and americans. May be is a good choise if you are looking for something "younger" and with more "life" but if you are looking for something typical, quite and authentic stay far from here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We like everyone else decided to ignore the few bad comments and stay here anyway eh a huge mistake. We booked a room at this hotel for 3 nights and I thought it would never end. After arriving from a long flight we booked in and it felt like a Mama was threatening us straight off if we booked a tour with someone other than her. We were sent away down another street about 200/300 meters from the main hotel no street lights to a smelly, unclean, ant infested room. The sheets smelled of mould, hairs in the shower,dirty toilet, no towels and to top it all off a large toad in the toilet. When we complained to Mama she gave us a dust pan and brush and some smelly towels. We then complained to her grand daughter and she put us in a room in the main hotel which had a double bed in it but not room for much else. The food was nice the first day but after that all we got was dirty brown chicken with our rice!!! There are quiet a few insects in the main hotel rooms cockroaches etc which I did not see in any other hotels on my stay in Fiji.There are cats in the kitchen and they walk all over the tables you are eating your breakfast off. We were supposed to stay at this hotel again before our flight out from Nadi but just could not face it. THEY CHARGE YOU A CANCELLATION FEE ON TOP OF YOUR FULL ROOM PRICE IF YOU CANCEL SO WE DECIDED TO JUST NOT TURN UP.
What a joke of a hotel this is. Please ignore the good reviews, this place was just the worst place I have stayed. I'm not a very fussy person when it comes to hotel rooms I had just been backpacking around India staying in hostels and I found this place unbearable.....

Room Tip: Don't pick any stay somewhere else............
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tropic of Capricorn Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
This histrionic plea published six months after the event reveals its raison d'etre when it breaks out into capital script.We decided to just not turn up.Well,in that case no refund is appliceable and that is the reason for the vitriol which is on display throughout its mendacious appeal.Very simple to make a cancellation in just the same manner as a booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Staying at mama's is like coming home. She takes care of everything. Great atmosphere, lovely rooms and nice people!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

When we first arrived in Nadi we were in fact staying in another resort. After making friends with some of her guests we were soon introduced to the legend that is Mama! She welcomed us to her resort and fed us well, introduced us to her amazing staff (Don, Thomas, Bella and Zelda not to forget many more), took us to a tailors, helped us with a complaint from another resort. Mama even arranged a birthday dinner for me. This included traditional Fijian feast,a birthday card and cake. If that's not hospitality I don't know what is.. We weren't even staying there at the time.
We had a spare week at the end of our Fiji trip so we booked in at Mamas for 6 nights. We were in the ocean view room which had a balcony, fridge, AC, TV and en suite with warm water! The room was clean and beds more then comfortable. The food that is cooked here is affordable and highest in quality. (Mama is infact a good chef and uses her own recipes) I wouldn't bother eating anywhere else in the area as it is over priced. Especially next door.
The resort is a perfect Nadi stop, it feels like a home away from a home you are instantly welcomed and they will never forget your name. They are efficient to your questions and queries it is an overall well run accommodation!! I couldn't speak any higher of the service we was given and we will be back in May!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The rroms were basic but clean and good value for money. We had a twin room that was a few minutes walk down the road from the main building. We were meant to get a pick up from the airport but they didn't turn up. Whne we got to the place Mama was very friendly and offered us free breakfast which was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We got very good deal for this hotel and only because of that we decided to stay for two weeks. On our arrival we been told that they dont have that room we booked available and tried to settle us in some house about 200 meters from hotel without street lights and lights in a bathroom, after seeing us not happy about that they offered some bigger room in a hotel for extra $30 a day, after some unpleasant arguing Mama comes out and offers us that room without extra charge just to keep us happy. She looks very friendly to everyone at the beginning but if you stay longer then 2 days in this place you start seeing bad side of her, like very loud conversations of her while drunk, up to midnight. Really annoying if you tired and with children trying to get some sleep but we thought we cant complain much as got some bigger room without extra charge only to find out after 9 days that we still have to pay for it extra as Mama dont remember giving us any deals. Overall food is disgusting, no room service in that place no matter how long you stay and expect selection of insects including cockroaches in a room and around kitchen witch looked a bit weird as we moved after 10 days staying with them to other hotel very close to them and haven't seen a single cockroach. If you looking to stay around is a lot of nice hotels with clean pools and clean rooms everyday for about same price, we travel a lot and this place was first where you have to sit down and talk to them to get the room you booked without being extra charged for what you paid already, they ruined our holiday :(

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropic of Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic of Capricorn Resort

Address: 11 Wasa Wasa Rd, Nadi, Viti Levu 7200, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic of Capricorn Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tropic of Capricorn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Of Capricorn Hotel Nadi
Tropic Of Capricorn Resort Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic of Capricorn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.