We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
nicolepettersen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel has a great location right on the beach front, good food compared to the rest of Fiji, clean, comfortable and reasonably friendly staff. My only negative would be that their alcoholic drinks and so called 'cocktails' are extremely watered down.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    182
    104
    47
    25
See reviews for
38
175
100
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This is a nice place, right on the beach, swimming pool if you want it and the bus to get into town stops right outside. the free airport pick up is a must. the breakfast is good,the only thing was the dorm is 36 people which can get quite hot and noisey, but not too bad as there is air con and you should bring ear plugs! the staff are friendly and help wen they can, the restaurant has good menu, and there is evening entertainment which is excellent.
this is a nice place, right on the beach, swimming pool if you want it and the bus to get into town stops right outside. the free airport pick up is a must. the breakfast is good,the only thing was the dorm is 36 people which can get quite hot and noisey, but not too bad as there is air con and you should bring ear plugs! the staff are friendly and help wen they can, the restaurant has good menu, and there is evening entertainment which is excellent....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

My sister and I stayed one night prior to heading to the islands, I think this was the perfect amount of time. Anymore and it would become very tiresome, loud and boring.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

This hotel is a fantastic stop off point for travels who plan to move onto the other islands. I stayed here for 1 night in May 2007 and we found the staff helpful. We booked our tour through the tour desk on site and the lady was very helpful and even gave us discount. Other reviews have complained about this Fiji time, but I find this one of the most attractive things about Fiji. If you want something done fast then stay at the Ritz in London, Paris etc... This is a hotel which is aimed at travellers and I found it a good stop off point for one night.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

I booked my room through Hostelbookers. I sent a follow up email driectly to Smugglers to confirm the booking. They sent a number of emails back and forth to confirm. Then when we arrived they said they had no record of our booking!
I had read some reviews of the hotel on Tripadvisor and wasn't looking forward to it as it had been described as dirty etc...
We have found the hotel rooms to be clean and of a high standard. The food in the restaurant is not great, I wasn't able to eat a few of the things served to me and was offered no alternative by the staff.
The hotel doesn't really have much to do except sunbathe. You are best using the hotel for a day before you stay on one of the smaller islands. The bar empties about 10pm, so there isn't much of a party atmosphere, most people are here to top up their tans and not much else.

  • Liked — Nice clean rooms and being able to walk directly to the beach from the hotel
  • Disliked — Not much to do but sunbathe, poor food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

When we made our rservation we were under the impression that we were to be given a standard double room. Our request was for a standard double. A room for a couple with a double bed or 2 beds. On arriving there on a late Friday night, to our horror they had given us a filthy rrom with a BUNK BED! It was not the room they had said they would be reserving for us. As it was all that was available within that price range - we could not take it as it was not suitable at all. The bottom bunk bed did not even have a proper mattress - all it had was a box spring. The manager would not even call us a cab to get back to Nadi town. It was quite stressful because we had made no other arrangements for back up accommodation.

Upon arriving back in America we discovered that they had still charged us the $98.fiji dollars on my debit card. It was really unfortunate and shameful for them. We will certainly make sure other travellers are aware of SMUGGLERS COVE's unethical business practices.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The staff and the deceitful information in assigning accommodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisabird89
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

I am loving my time at smugglers cove!
The rooms are clean and decent, the staff are friendly and are always willing to help you.
The food is delicous, the beach and the pool area is really nice.

  • Liked — Price and friendly service
  • Disliked — hard to say
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.