We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an enjoyable day time stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THE BUZZ
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable day time stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After flying for 12 hours from North America, we had a 17 hour layover in Fiji and were looking for a nice relaxing place to enjoy the scenery before flying on to Australia. We were nervous about leaving Nadi, so we booked at Smugglers. The reception was very confused by our reservation so I ended up having to pay for it again (which I had to clear up a month later when we got home) and the breakfast was not very welcoming. The water levels must have been high because there was no beach and so we ended up looking for a tour to do.
The tour desk was very helpful and booked us with a private driver to take us to the same places as the tour would have (for 1/4 of the cost). The massage we received from the spa at Smugglers when we returned was high intensity, but our beds were comfortable and we enjoyed a short nap. Cocktail hour was reasonably priced and the shrimp were HUGE in the shrimp cocktail we ordered!
I will not be staying here again, but met up with people at cocktail hour that have been coming here for years.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    156
    89
    44
    24
See reviews for
29
153
85
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
townsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here last year with a group of women for a week and came back last week with my husband. Very enjoyable both times. Both stays in waterfront rooms with balcony. The views are great and staff very friendly. I love the mix of ages that stay here and everyone has a good time.

Room Tip: Unless you are a backpacker staying in the dorm, pay the extra and stay in the waterfront balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

having a great time in smugglers. all the staff was very nice friendly helpful and always with a big BULA. especially thanks to Alrishma. thanks very much for helping me to book all the tours and giving me a lot of help and useful infromation which make my trip in fiji more convenient and fun. a big VINAKA to you my lovely sis Alrishma. hope to see you again next time when i come back. you are going to be the most important reason for coming back fiji for me.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Me and my brother spent a week at Smugglers Cove and truly enjoyed every bit of it. Amazingly situated location just near the beach is perfect for lazy days. Definitely suggesting this place to everyone who wants to have a relaxation and also adventurous vacation. But, what really made our trip double satisfying and fun was the amazing staff, especially our tour planner,
ARISHMA PRASAD. She was really friendly, helpful, fun to talk, cute and caring :) Our trip wouldn't have been so much fun without her help. So definitely, visit her at her desk and let her help you organize your time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is not your typical backpackers. It is in a great location on the beach. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere. I can see that it could get quite noisy on busy nights and if you had an ocean view room, as these would be closest to the bar area. The rooms are very basic , but as expected in this price point. Overall i was really pleased with the one night i spent at this resort, and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here for one week, leaving in the morning and highly recommend this resort for backpackers, family or retirees. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and the views are lovely across Nadi Bay. We had a pleasurable week, seeing the sights and the staff were very helpful with our questions.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in a room with a double bed and we had no view but we didnt mind because the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your recent visit at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort, Fiji. I am delighted to hear that different aspects of our services and surroundings made such a positive impression on you, during your stay.
I will make sure your kind review is shared among our team and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family to our resort in future .
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was called a Premium Garden Room, and the photo showed 2 double beds. What we got was up a flight of steps, a bunk bed, iron bars over the windows that looked over the carpark. When I queried I was informed that I had the right room. No hot water in the shower, no sheet on the top bunk. And the place was grubby. Worst room I have stayed in ever. The one point comes from the nice Fijians who picked us up at the airport after our late arrival. The location is great, so I could only recommend for dorms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dinning area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.