We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice transfer location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THE BUZZ
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice transfer location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for my start and ending of my Fiji stay. Nice Place for transfer from the airport and transfer to the other Islands.

Ok, bar/restaurant and a small swimming pool. Good location right on the beach. Sunbeds on the Beach.

Not very modern, but ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    156
    89
    44
    24
See reviews for
29
153
85
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

very basic hostel. clean, air con, excellent food. no free wifi. pool with sun loungers looking onto the sea. very quiet, not much night life. friendly staff. would recommend if you're looking to relax. i would recommend exploring the islands rather than the mainland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I recently had a week away at Smugglers for my 3rd time in 5 years. This place has been an exciting and fun home away from home for me and I'll be definately looking forward to going back. Its such a cost effective holiday destination from the accomodation to the food/drink. The garlic prawns entree' on the menu was my most favourite meal on the trip. Only around $9 AUD and was so tasty and filling (for an entree) that I had it 3 times through the week. The staff were all so friendly and accomodating as usual over the years which just makes the trip that much more of a holiday. You literally just wake up, go have breakfast and either go island hopping for some fun activities or walk down the beach to the local golf club and go for a bash. Better yet grab a sun bed and soak up some rays on the ocean front and then when the sun goes down grab a cocktail and sit back and enjoy the local fiji entertainment. Truly a great holiday destination and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Apartment rooms make for a better travel rather then the dorm rooms.. worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed at Smuggler's for three nights in June 2014 after my friend, who lives in Suva, chose the place after having stayed there many times with visitors. I'm so glad she did!

Smuggler's has a very laid back vibe. The grounds are quite large with a restaurant, cafe, pool, souvenir shop and travel desk on-site to take care of anything you need. My friend and I stayed in the 8-bed female dorm, which was clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The room included two bathrooms with a toilet and shower each. The shower was quite cold with low water pressure, but it was still welcome after our long days.

Water sports are included in the price of the stay, although we didn't have time to enjoy them, as we were too busy walking around the city. There are also events different nights of the week, such as a Polynesian dance show and BBQ. It was a quick $8-$10 FJD cab ride into downtown Nadi. The continental breakfast includes cereal, oatmeal, juice, fruit and toast, and the cafe offers hot options for a reasonable fee. We ate dinner most nights at the restaurant, and we both enjoyed the kokoda (white fish marinated in coconut milk), prawn dishes, and curries.

I'd definitely recommend Smuggler's Cove!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Smugglers was exactly what it said in the tin! Basic backpacker friendly accom. My boyf and I stayed in a double room of our own which after shared doorms in Oz was bliss in itself. The room was clean enough the only problem was the hotel was undergoing maintenance work so was a bit noisy on our floor at times. Although the beach wasn't the white sandy ones off the islands the sunset was pretty and there was always entertainment on at night. Plus the breakfast included was nice! You can also book your trips on site which was helpful!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed at Smugglers for 3 nights in an oceanfront room which was amazing value for money. Room was very clean on arrival and serviced every day.

Restaurant has a wide range of food to choose from and are open until 11pm every night. Great atmosphere on the deck with fire dancing and Polynesian dancing held a few nights per week. Free breakfast is an added bonus.

Location was good - right on the beachfront and the bus into Nadi town goes right past the front of the hotel.

There is a bit of noise and music from the bar downstairs that can be heard in the rooms. This is all finished by 11pm though. If you're catching an early morning flight or want an early night then this is not the place to stay.

Had a great stay - definitely more than a hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked a week stay and had no regrets. Wonderful friendly staff, always ready to help and engage in conversation and laughter. Our room overlooked the beach, was clean, had a/c, a fridge and king size bed and balcony. Magnificent sunsets, good restaurant and bar offerings with live evening entertainment. Good central location for island hopping and day cruise tours. Easy bus and taxi access. Lively location with backpacker option and other hotels nearby. Great beach for strolling.
What's not to love. Plus, World Cup was on at the bar screen. Bring on the Fiji Bitter!

Room Tip: Late night partying noise was an issue on a couple of nights as our room overlooked the resort beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dinning area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.