We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but decent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THE BUZZ
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but decent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The resort has a lovely terrace for food and drinks and the pick-up and drop-off to Port Denarau and the airport are great, but the rooms are quite dirty with small beds and in 2 different rooms on 2 different occasions we had cockroaches running through the room. Also, the food in the restaurant is not very good. I would reconsider...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    156
    89
    44
    24
See reviews for
29
153
85
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hey oop ! After a red eye trip from Mana, we fetched up at Smugglers Cove. Don't be put off by the name. It sounds dreadfully kitsch, but is really quite a pleasant place for old and new, or do I mean young ? The staff are very helpful for old farts like the Missus and I, and we were shown to our room, baggage carried up for us. VERY embarrassing ! I felt old and infirm ! Non the less, we found ourselves in a clean room, adequate sized bed, en suite shower & thunderbox, a telly of sorts, ( we didn't use it ) and only 45 seconds to the beach approaches. A pool, was just about unused when we were there. Too small for anything but toe dipping.
That night, was one of the funniest stage entertainers I have ever seen. An Elvis impersonator, portly, wearing the full Monty of E.P regalia, tropical weight, and a voice that could bring a mozzy out of the air at 50 metres ! My evening was completed by joining in with some local musicians, spoon playing with them to Kenny Rogers songs, and anesthetizing my lips with a few libations of Kava. I haven't been able to whistle since ! The melody has gone but the numbness lingers on !!
BEWARE OF THE SUN ! As ones head fries, the thatch on the front t the beach huts lances straight into the tender scalp. Sometimes one becomes either invisible or anonymous to staff when ordering food or sarnies outside. A friendly jigger up is all that's needed to remind them of your cravings !
I love this place, the staff and the ambience. Pricey, but hell ! Fiji IS pricey. Get over it ! It's a holiday place, fun and ALIVE !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed twice in a girls dorm, the 8 bed dorm and the 4 bed dorm. The 8 bed dorm was great with 2 bathrooms, was awesome. Aircon was pretty good. Verry clean and definetly good value what you pay for. Food was good as well! Arishma is the girl from the travel desk. She is as angel! She booked my travels to the Yasawas independently, without Fiji adventures and it was perfect! Even when I changed my itenary a little bit, she was a helper over the phone and organised some things for me. Would definetly come back to stay before going to the Yasawas again!

Room Tip: Didn´t try the fitness centre and the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer,CO USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Smugglers on two separate nights as we made connections through Nadi to and from other parts of Fiji. Our first room was in the newer building on the second floor, facing the beach. The room was large, comfortable, clean and quiet so suited us well. The resort really caters to the younger, surfer or backpacker crowd but as older travelers, we felt welcome and comfortable. Our next night's stay was unfortunately in the older building in a tiny room above the bar although we had requested the newer building when we made reservations months earlier. The room was noisy although not too late into the night. When we first arrived we spoke to the lady at the activities desk who was strongly promoting the guided tour into and around town. She did not offer the information that a cab ride was only $12 and a bus that stops in front of the hotel was about $1. The town of Nadi is hot,crowded and full of hawkers and small enough that you really didn't need a "guided tour." The gift shop owner sold us an overpriced two day old newspaper with the date cut off. Nice. One afternoon was plenty there and it was nice to come back to Smugglers where you could relax with a walk down the beach. The availability of a laundry and the use of showers after check-out was nice. Now, the worst part of the stay was the breakfast. We know not to expect much when there is a free breakfast but what we do expect is clean! We were not the only travelers to note that the plates that were put out for the breakfast buffet were almost all covered with cigarette butt ashes and it took 8-9 tries to find a plate clean enough to put food on. The "juice" was mixed in a 5 gallon bucket of questionable cleanliness before dumped into the serving container. The food itself was not much with fruit that wasn't peeled and probably not washed. All is all, we would not have stayed the second night at Smugglers if we had not prepaid and I would advise travelers to look at nearby hotels that may offer more for the money.

Room Tip: I would really insist on the newer building but that didn't prove to be successful for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you like lots of young (mostly Australian) backpackers, this is the place for you. A bustling restaurant and bar at night (with somewhat mediocre, overpriced food), but fun.

The room was clean and big, with a TV, fridge and aircon.

The beach isn't the nicest in the world; black sand, slightly muddy water. But there is a pool.

Basically, if you want a serene picturesque beach, then go to one of the islands. But there is great stuff to do in Nadi (Kula eco park, coral coast, sandunes hike, sleeping giant waterfall and zipline, garden of the sleeping giant, markets, hindu temple), so if you need a nice place to stay, this is a good pick.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Smugglers is a great place to stay because you will meet a lot of people. You will end up running into people you've already met from the islands if you are staying there after, it's definitely a good hub. They have a good restaurant with good food and the people working the desk are great. My only complaints would be the shared dorm. If you stay there, I urge you NOT to stay in the 34 bed dorm. Spend the extra $5-10 on a smaller (4 person) dorm. My friend stayed in a smaller dorm and it was a much better fit. The bigger dorm had an extremely funky smell to it that was impossible to get used to.

Room Tip: do NOT choose the 34 room dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Generally speaking, staying in Smugglers is very convenient. We stayed there on the first nite of Fiji, OCT 30 2013. It is close to the beach, we had a lovely morning walk along the beach. The breakfast is ok. Which annoyed us most, is the smell of the new decorated room. NOT COMFORTABLE at all! Especially the odor of the paint. Next time I will choose the hotels on the port area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dinning area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.