We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect intro...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Fiji Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Fiji Resort to your Saves list
Club Fiji Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 9619 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The perfect intro...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This resort, like just about everything about Nadi, is treated by tourists as a place to pass through. I wouldn't book to stay more than 2 - 3 nights here but if you stick to that you will be fine.

The setting is peaceful, tranquil even, when jets are not passing over. The resort is less than 10 klm from Nadi International so you will notice the planes. Mostly however, jets are not passing over so it is not an issue.

The friendly staff do their best to give you the "fiji resort" experience - music, singing, dancing, fire stick twirling - they do it all. The bar staff are ready with a welcome smile and a cocktail. The food is adequate and wait service typical of second tier places - good but could be better.

The fact is, this is not a Denarau Island big name hotel. It is not situated on one of the stunning Yasawa Islands. It is not new.

It is also not precocious and it is not expensive relative to other parts of the mainland.

The "bures" are timber, tin roof holiday units. Ours had a main bedroom, tired but clean bathroom, lounge with two additional flat couch single beds (not fold out bed couches). The open kitchen had a microwave, electric frypan, sink, empty bar fridge, plates, cutlery, glasses and basic cooking implements. The windows have storm shutters and flyscreens - no glass. There are ceiling fans in both main rooms and aircon in the main bedroom. We didn't use the a/c in July - night temps of 18 C were comfortable for sleeping with shutters open. We did burn mozzie coils but didn't use the provided nets. The whole thing was comfortable and practical without being anything other than a three star accomodation that it is.

The bures face the water. Ours had three steps across the lawn to be on the beach. The beach faces a large tidal flat and is only good for paddling not swimming. There is no coral for snorkeling here. The beach is not wide and becomes dark sand/mud at the water's edge. It looks pretty in pictures but you wouldn't want to roll around in the mud.

The resort is at the end of a rough dirt road. We arrived at night and my wife and teenager told me later they wondered what Dad had got them into. They both were impressed when daylight presented the resort setting.

The resort has a small pool, bar and main restaurant area and smaller pizza/pasta restaurant. The resort is not surrounded by bars or restaurants or shops - any of this requires a taxi ride. Any tourist sites also are more than a walk away. We found this to be the case pretty much everywhere we stayed in Fiji - use the facilities of the resort or catch a lift. Accept that and you have nothing to complain about. Nadi is about 7 - 8 klm away. Touts are an issue in town. Nadi has several good supermarkets if you want to self cater. We didn't and between the main restaurant and the pizza pasta place we were catered for. Nadi also has souvenir shopping but I would do this elsewhere due to the "tout" issue.

This was the cheapest place we stayed for the whole 14 night trip at about $120AU per night. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it as a short stay option before travelling to highlight destinations.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bure 11 which has no immediate neighbour on one side. It is almost the furthest from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    53
    36
    48
See reviews for
53
152
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

When you first arrive this resort it seems like the perfect tropical getaway. The setting in many ways is ideal. Friendly staff and and a palm tree lined beach greet you as you step out of a rather ancient courtesy van. If you're staying here for a couple of days then this place is okay. If however, you are staying for several days as I did then you may want to think about your options. The problem with staying at this place for any length of time is there is very little to do. If you like drinking at the bar and listening to a really bad live band then you'll be fine. One of the things that really irritates me is is there is only one convenient television. This TV is only on during breakfast with the volume turned right down and there is no remote for the guests. When there is something worth watching during the evening the TV is taken to the bar and you have no control over what is watched. There should be at least another TV with remote that guests can use without having to go to the receptionist.
It would be unfair to criticize this resort regarding the food. The reality is everywhere in this part of the world the standard of food is poor and at best average, including the Beachside Resort.
As for the rooms, these are extremely dated. The armchair is really old and uncomfortable. There is no way you could class these rooms as 3 star. But the sad thing is it wouldn't take much to raise the standard of this resort. The resort already has friendly staff and a wonderful setting. But some how I don't think this will happen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Club Fiji Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
For a small boutique resort (29 Bures in total ) I try very hard to provide lots of things for guests to enjoy.. including daily 11am snorkelling trip to nearby reef on club Fiji boat . daily bus shuttle to nadi Town .Also there are tours that I provide using club Fiji minibuses these are at discount rates...... being, Natadola beach picnic trip , Orchid and tropical plant gardens and Lautoka produce and handicraft markets . I also have a tour desk with many trips and tours available..My evening entertainment include Tuesday night Fiire Dancing and knife dancing show.... Wednesday open mike evening ..... Thursday night (6 pm till 10 pm) 4 piece live band with keyboard player 2 vocalists and guitarist. Friday Kava night with Local Fijian boys and traditional kava drinking ....Saturday night Cultural dance show see dance style and costume from many pacific countries ..... Sunday Live band ...2 pm to 8 pm on beach ....with 5 pm to 10 pm Beach BBQ... The snorkelling trip , kava drinking and all live entertainment are provided free of charge ...I also have U tube at the main bar for guests to have fun choosing their own music .. comments of little to do and really bad band seem unjust and not accurate .. I do agree that we have not set resort up for people to come and watch TV .. we have a TV which is available in the morning where we show live BBC news during breakfast..... it is possible to sit overlooking the beach without being near TV for guests wanting to get away from it all .. We also have 2 Movie Bures where guests can watch a good selection of latest movies on movie hard drives .. A survey we carried out over a weeks duration came up that 90% of guests did not want television or phones in their rooms ..
As well as the main bar we have a two storey building ( JB"S on the beach ) with great views, a relaxing atmosphere and gourmet pizzas and pastas.. Other attractions food wise include Wednesday Taco and tequila Night, Friday Mongolian BBQ night and Sunday Beach BBQ .. We also have a chef providing Japanese Tepanyaki 6 nights a week ) ..comments re food being poor in this part of the world and other comments seem all from a very negative outlook john bullock owner GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The atmosphere at club Fiji was consistent for the 9 days we stayed. The grounds are well maintained and are full of the tropical ambience you want in a place like Fiji. The best part of club Fiji is the amazing view out towards the mountains, islands and the calming water. Spend your time relaxing on a hammock or exploring the many attractions of nadi and the surrounding island. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

we have just spent 8 days at this resort. before leaving I read recent reviews and was a tad skeptical about booking so decided to find out for ourselves. OMG you winging Aussies and Poms get your heads out of the sand, if you wanted 5 star accommodation you should have booked the Ritz. we could fault nothing. it was as advertised and we never have expectations when travelling the Pacific. normal Island time, grounds were immaculate, many activities were available, themed nights were near on top class, great range of meals with the chance of winning a small gift each night when eating in, beach massages, manicures, pedicures and hair braiding available all day. the staff were of top class, always smiling and friendly and helpful.there were many a hammock spread amongst the coconut trees. very tranquil, peaceful.i ticked the fitness centre but there was not one. why would they need it when you can run along the beach, swim in the pool and kayak out to sea.

Room Tip: bures on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The website promised a Fijian escape with thatched bures with friendly Fijian staff.
The reality is that the “resort” provided very tired rooms (corrugated iron thatch!) with bathrooms well beyond their use by date. It is in a very isolated area at Nadi Beach and if you want to go anywhere it is necessary to get a taxi or a long walk. Food at the pasta/pizza restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. At the main restaurant , the menu was extensive but very pricey and of poor standard - we had to send 2 dishes back as they were cold and were returned after a couple of laps in the microwave.
Other than the bar manager the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful particularly the reception.
You have to pay a cash deposit FJD 50.00 - they would not swipe your credit card as most other institutions do. The room was not ready by noon check-in.
Trying to be a resort but failing. Could not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at Club Fiji, to wind down from a long trip around the world, jetlag and business.
The staff could not be more helpful, massages all day, drink all day, swim and eat. Bure's Huts, were exactly as we wanted them. Like a thatched hut with air conditioning. Roomy and clean.
It is not expensive, you are very close to the airport and Nadi. It is quiet at night unless you want to join in the festivities, which we did every night. No sterile concrete rooms, just plain basic comfort. Plenty of places to go and see. The local rum, is yumyum but watch it 58% Good stuff.
You do meet a lot travellers and make friends. If you go there, Say hello to Tiki, from Tiggi one of the Barman working there. It is great to see some of the staff wearing their national dress.
Fun and good times is what you make it. So make it.
See yah and have good time Dick & Cindy Hannam

Room Tip: Watch out for falling coconuts. Some rooms do have TV. There are rooms to suit every body.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were in the resort on the ways to another island resorts on Fiji. It is good as stopover place for one night because it location near Nadi international airport, but I wouldn't want stay there for long time.
The the ocean there is not clear, when low tide it runs away from the coast to 200 - 300 meters. The staff smiles on-duty. The restaurant food was good, but because it is open on the air there were many birds on the tables and chairs.
I left my glasses on the reception and called them from another resort about its. The receptionist asked me "Didn't see".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Fiji Resort

Address: PO Box 9619 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nadi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Fiji Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Fiji Hotel Nadi
Fiji Nadi
Hotel Fiji
Club Fiji Resort Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Fiji Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.