We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius On The Beach to your Saves list
Aquarius On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Internet!
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel in a good location with amazing views, situated right on the beach. Ocean view rooms basic but nice, have nice big balconies over looking the hotel pool and the beach. Breakfast was included in the price but was just basic pancakes so not up to much. Food from resteraunt was nice (had a few meals there) but hotel must lose a lot of business to smugglers cove (next door) as menu much bigger and entertainment provided. Staff all very helpful and make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for your very positive comments! We're glad that you appreciated our great beachfront location and our lovely Ocean View rooms. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the great meals we offer in our restaurant and the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. We're sorry that we didn't have entertainment on the night you stayed with us, but we do have great shows during the week that our guests really appreciate. We hope to have the chance to host you again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    63
    36
    6
    10
See reviews for
20
63
41
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice hostel on the beach with convenient facilities and friendly caring staff. On my first night arrival, I was too tired to be aware that I left my purse in the lobby before I went to bed. Surprisingly, bar manager Apolosi kept my purse and returned to me intactly. He saved my life, cause all my valuable stuff are in there. in the following days, he turns out to be very responsible and helpful. All in all, this is a great place to meet friends and a cozy place to enjoy Fiji time! Definitely will recommend it. :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. And thanks for acknowledging the honesty and integrity of our staff who ensured that your personal belongings were returned to you intact. We're very happy that you appreciated our hotel as a great place to meet other people and enjoy your time in Fiji. We hope you come back to stay with us again on your next trip to our very special islands. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My group stayed here at the beginning of our trip and found it to be a great time!!
The staff was amazing!
Special shout out to Paul, Loma, Sara, and Joel. They treated us so well that in fact when we had a layover in Fiji on our way back to LA we went back to the aquarius for a few hours to eat and hang out! During that time they even made sure that we had a shower if needed before continuing on our journey home.

The room was perfect for what we needed as we didn't spend too much time in it other than sleeping. The complimentary breakfast included was a very nice touch. The food was decent throughout the trip.

Everyday we had a coconut though which was all that we needed to keep going and replenish our nutrients. Everything and anything we needed we received from the staff whether we asked for it or they just gave it to us!!! Everytime we left the hotel they also made sure we had a ride and were prepared for the day. When we returned each day they asked how the day was and seemed to genuinely care!

Laying in the hammocks on the beach with a Fiji bitter was paradise and we will definitely be using Aquarius again for a return trip to Fiji!!!! We miss them already!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks so much for your comments! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciated the special treatment our staff offered you. Our team are well known for the professional and yet naturally friendly way they treat all of our guests. This is not trained into them, this is just how they are. We're also glad that you enjoyed our beach hammocks and the meals you had while you were with us. We look forward to your return trip to our lovely islands when we can host you again. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I can't stay say enough great things about this place. The staff is absolutely wonderful! They will do anything to help you. We all loved our stay! We wished we could have stayed longer. Even when we had a long layover coming back to Nadi we went back to hang out and grab dinner. The staff welcomed us again and let us use the facilities before getting on our flight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for your great comments! Our staff always love hearing that our guests appreciate the extra effort they put into making your stay special. We also wish you could have stayed longer to share even more of the Aquarius experience. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to our beautiful islands. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

First and foremost I must say that my new hubby and I were so sad when it was time to leave Aquarius. This small, quaint hotel is filled with amazing staff and is located right on the beach. We would be at a loss to not mention everyone that made this experience as memorable as it was. Dave, the manager was amazingly accommodating and kind. Paul, Joeli, Sara and Loma all were very thoughtful and provided great service. My husband and I looked forward to going down to breakfast every morning to be greeted by everyone's smiling faces.

Next, we stayed in #5 that overlooks the ocean. The sunset view from our room was spectacular. The room is a bit small for the 8 days that we were there but we mainly used it to sleep as most people do on vacation. There was a very nice-sized, private balcony that we enjoyed sitting out on in the evenings. We read other reviews regarding the water pressure but we didn't have any problems with it whatsoever. I must also mention the shower is a nice size...

Also, I would like to talk about the food and service. The food at Aquarius is decent. We enjoyed our pancake and egg/toast breakfast every morning. The drinks were also always pretty good made by Joeli and Sarah. My husband and I also got massages by Solate and they were awesome! She is definitely gifted with her hands.

Yes, as others mentioned, the beach is not the white sandy beach but it is still quite nice. People that are expecting a 5-star resort with white, sandy beaches that pay Aquarius' fair and moderate rates are crazy! For the cost per night, the Aquarius is an awesome deal. One thing I would suggest is providing free wifi for guests that book an ocean view room or stay longer than 5 nights or more.

I was deeply saddened when it was time to leave, my husband and I will definitely be coming back! Thank you, Aquarius for making our honeymoon so memorable! Vinaka!!!

Room Tip: I would definitely try to stay in #5 or #6 ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! And thank you for choosing Aquarius to spend part of your honeymoon. I know our staff tried to make it special for you, and we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We're glad you appreciated your Ocean View room, and we note your comments on the size of the room. We are looking at how we can better utilise the space of the room. It will definitely help when we install the new flat screen TVs, which will be mounted on the wall. We are also looking at your suggestion for Free WiFi. The costs for high speed internet are finally coming down in Fiji which makes this more possible. We're also pleased that you enjoyed your meals and recognised the great value we provide compared to large 4 & 5 star hotels. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back now that you are part of the Aquarius family. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Accutaly we were there in june 2012 (I couldn't go further than july 2013). I'm sorry to write a review that late, but that shows how unforgettable the staff were at Aquarius. The place is awesome, the beach is nice, a great place to stay begore you move on to the islands. But what really makes the difference are, as I already mentioned, the staff. The people helpt us so much out, while my girlfriend had to get an surgery because of her appendix. From the very beging with her symptoms until the flight back home, almost 10 days later, there were helpful, generous and extremely friendly. I would recommend this place, just because it's full of love even if you don't really know each other. That's just a state of mind there. Very special, one of our most unbelivable journey we had while we traveled. Thank you so much again the whole team of Aquarius!! We'll come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for your great review! We're very pleased that you appreciated how great our staff were when you stayed here. We remember your stay with us and were happy to help out your girlfriend. We take pride in looking after our guests as if they are our own family. We're also happy that you thought our hotel is "awesome". Since you stayed here, a number of improvements have been made, and continue to be made to make our property even more comfortable, modern and enjoyable. We look forward to your return visit! Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After one week holiday we think this hotel need to review how to treat people stay there for more then one day. Excellent for one night only or couple want to stay alone with each other. The quality of food were poor respect the prize and the quantity given, the room was clean but not enought shampoo and soap for two people( we had 2 shampoo and 2 soap bar in one week) so lucky that we had some by our own, the pressure of the water was scandalous, hot water(a few drops coming out). Belonging friday night that was very good enterntainment nothing else was planned during the week. The breakfast was pancakes every day and not very good. We haven't been treated like other people in there, no one showed us the hotel, the activities, the choises of the menu, instead we saw other couples received those attentions. The beach was quite dirty, lots broken glasses and bottles on the beach and in the water, the water was like a dump, dark, dirty.The room was on the driveway where all the people coming in and out from the street so very noisy starting from six in the morning and after 11 in the evening, no rest at all.Luckly the staff was nice and friendly. If you want to spend a nice week this is not the right place.Very disappointed.

Room Tip: probably ocean view are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I've discussed your review with our staff and they are all surprised by your comments. Our staff are widely known to be the most friendly and professional hotel staff in Nadi. You need only read our other reviews to see that. When they were questioned about your comments, our staff said that they had tried to chat with you in the friendly and personal way they do with all of our guests, but they felt you wanted to be left alone. Our apologies for the insufficient shampoo and soap in your room. Had you asked at the front desk, we would have gladly provided more. When asked how you were enjoying your stay by our Manager and by our Front Desk receptionist, they said you always sounded positive on your experience with us. The beach in front of our hotel is cleaned daily by our staff. Further away on the beach we have no control over the management of the beach by other hotels. We're glad that you enjoyed our Friday entertainment. We are a small, intimate property so activities on other nights depend on the number of guests we have in-house.

Regarding your comment on noise, our neighbourhood is an active one because of the hotel properties nearby, but it is rare that it is noisy after 10pm. Flights to Fiji come from early morning to late at night, so guests checking in may sometimes create noise at 6am but rarely as late as 11pm. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do hope you give us the chance to show you our Fijian hospitality on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius On The Beach

Address: 17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadi's Hidden Gem! Nestled right on Nadi's Wailoaloa Beach, Aquarius On The Beach is a small, family-owned boutique hotel where we make every guest feel special. A mere 12 minute drive from Nadi International Airport, Aquarius On The Beach offers something for everyone. Enjoy our refreshing fresh water swimming pool or dine in our widely acclaimed restaurant where the menu offers both variety and value. Enjoy quality wine at sunset on the private balconies of our ocean view rooms or read your novel in the privacy of your deluxe or standard room balcony, or enjoy the air conditioned comfort and cleanliness of our dormitory rooms. With all of our rooms, you are getting one of the best values in Nadi - Beachfront at a budget price! Our Tour Desk can help organise your entire stay in Fiji, giving you choices that fit your needs and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aquarius On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Nadi
Aquarius On The Beach Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.