We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius On The Beach to your Saves list
Aquarius On The Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Internet!
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Rotterdam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in Aquarius on the Beach after reading the good reviews on tripadvisor and we don't regret it.

While the prices for a room are quite high, especially compared to the places around, it is worth your money.

The service is good, the staff is very friendly and genuine.

For wifi you have to buy a prepaid card, just like in most places.

The complimentary breakfast, unfortunately, is something the hotel could put in a little bit more effort and money. I wouldn't really call a small piece of banana, a small piece of watermelon and 1 piece of toast (divided in two) with butter and jam a proper breakfast. However, after insisting on a change we got pancakes on our last day, which was a lovely gesture, thanks for that staff.

The rooms are cleaned every day and there was a fan in the two bed dormitory we stayed in. There is a pool and the hotel is near the beach so the location is very good. We also got a free pick up from the airport.

Unfortunately the prices on the menu for dinner are very expensive, so we haven't had dinner there, but there are plenty of places around where you can get the same dishes for half, or even less, the price.

If you are looking for: good service, good location, clean rooms with fans and friendly staff: this is the place to go.

If you are looking for the cheapest accomodation and food: find another place.

All with all we enjoyed our stay at Aquarius! Thanks staff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for your great comments! You highlighted our great location, the cleanliness of our rooms and our friendly and genuine staff. You also commented on the prices of our food and accommodation. But like many things, you get what you pay for. To achieve a higher standard of food and room quality, we may charge slightly more than some of our nearby competitors for dormitories (but a lot less than others) and our food costs are very competitive with other, similar hotels. Yes, you can get cheaper food at some nearby takeaway shops, but not better food. We offer quality dining on the beach or around our lovely pool. You won't find that at the cheaper eating places. But we take yours and everyone's comments to heart and will certainly look at improving what we offer our valued guests. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    36
    6
    10
See reviews for
20
63
41
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Haven't been there in a few years due to family responsibility but plan to return ASAP. (Actual yr. not available on review check list.) Stayed there in ocean front room for several months before spending 2 yrs in Fiji. Would consider long term living there next time returning - it's that great. Love everyone there and you live on Fiji time not USA, Ausi or NZ time. The food is great and reasonable. Loved the ice cream bars and we miss everything about Aquarious. Even had laundry service as an optional amenity when we were there which was really great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks for your great comments! We're glad you enjoyed our food, our amenities and the friendly atmosphere of our small, personal hotel. It sounds like you miss our staff and our great location and want to come back. We'd love to have you back anytime. Vinaka vakalevu (Thank you very much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Aquarius is a great place near airport, great manager, bathrooms need curtains.
However the gay movement in fiji tourism is out of control. the staff at Aquarius needs training on etiquette on not pushing homosexual behavior on its guests, just because their guests are friendly. There is a line between work and insanity. wont be staying at Aquarius again, but other than that Aquarius was great!

Room Tip: dont get room 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologise if there was any misunderstanding during your stay. My staff had already briefed me on the incident you mention and we were surprised at your comments. Our staff do not make advances on any guests, but are genuinely friendly and informal, which is the way of our people here in Fiji. Thank you for your positive comments on our location and manager. We take great pride in providing friendly, professional service. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I cannot THANK Aquarius for everyone's willingness to help, courtesy and friendliness. Me and my friend Michelle were meant to stay at Bamboo Backpackers just opposite and had to abandon our plans (luckily) to upgrade to this wonderful hotel that just made us feel so at home. Our room was clean, had air con and clean showers. Everything you need to feel comfortable really - along with the not-a-single-thing-to-fault staff who were hospitable to a T.
We were lucky enough to catch a night where a local band was hired by pilots having a laid back birthday party. It was nice to dip our feet in the swimming pool while listening to some unforgettable Fijian jamming.
The bar was stocked with all sorts of nice trustworthy drinks (trustworthy being the key word). And if anyone likes a cold beer then Fiji Gold is highly recommended.
Special thanks to Joe and Sarah amongst the staff who truly made my stay at Aquarius one to remember. Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
What a great review! Many thanks for appreciating the way our staff makes our guests feel at home and makes their visit special. Thanks also for your comments on the quality of our rooms (even the dormitories) and the various activities we have available for our guests. We hope to see you back in Fiji again, and hope for a chance to host you once again at Aquarius On The Beach. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My family and i stayed at Aquarius for 3 nights. We really enjoyed the fun and friendly staff! Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is great. Right on the beach and in an area that has a lot of activities going on. In fact when we were there the local skydive company were landing jumpers right on the beach! The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed in the room with the deck over looking the ocean, great spot for a beer! The food was better than alot of places Ive tried in Nadi and very well priced too. We had organized pick up from the airport and drop off as well, both working very well and priced better than local taxi's.
I would not hesitate to recommend Aquarius to anyone visiting Nadi, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're glad you appreciated our friendly staff and the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. We're also glad you were pleased with the number of activities available at the hotel and in the area. On behalf of our staff, we're always happy when our efforts to provide good quality and good value is appreciated by our guests. We certainly hope to host you again on your next trip to Fiji! Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

.My daughter & I stayed at the Aquarius on the Beach for 3 nights on my way to NZ. If you are headed to NZ or AU I would recommend a stopover along the way if you can pull it off. HELPS with the jet lag. The Aquarius on the Beach was a great place to do just that. We spent 3 nights there, paid extra for a private room, which I would recommend.

Great location for someone that wants to relax & sit on the beach with a cold drink in their hands. I did also check out some of the other accommodations while I was in that area. Let’s just say that the next time I go back I WILL be staying at the Aquarius again. I liked the vibe!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front private room is money well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the Ocean View room which is really our most popular room category. We're also glad you liked the vibe at our hotel. We try very hard to create a relaxing atmosphere, but still provide our guests with activities and entertainment. We hope you come back to stay with us again! Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I visited Fiji on our way to NZ..

The Staff are friendly and really make to feel at home - say hi to Victoria at reception for us.

We had the delux room with the outdoor deck facing the beach so that every morning you wake and when you look out the window your greater by beautiful beach view with palms, hammocks and the wild horses which roam freely on the beach.

This was definitely an awesome place to relax after a long haul flight for a few days before and after we hit the yasawas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
What great comments! Thanks for your review and pointing out some of the qualities that make us so popular - our great staff, our beachfront location, and our convenience to traveling to the smaller islands and beyond. We're glad you had a great stay with us and invite you to come again and again, like many of our guests do. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius On The Beach

Address: 17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadi's Hidden Gem! Nestled right on Nadi's Wailoaloa Beach, Aquarius On The Beach is a small, family-owned boutique hotel where we make every guest feel special. A mere 12 minute drive from Nadi International Airport, Aquarius On The Beach offers something for everyone. Enjoy our refreshing fresh water swimming pool or dine in our widely acclaimed restaurant where the menu offers both variety and value. Enjoy quality wine at sunset on the private balconies of our ocean view rooms or read your novel in the privacy of your deluxe or standard room balcony, or enjoy the air conditioned comfort and cleanliness of our dormitory rooms. With all of our rooms, you are getting one of the best values in Nadi - Beachfront at a budget price! Our Tour Desk can help organise your entire stay in Fiji, giving you choices that fit your needs and budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aquarius On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Nadi
Aquarius On The Beach Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius On The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.