We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaspray Sailing Adventure-Day Tours

Seaspray Sailing Adventure-Day Tours
PD052 Port Denarau, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 44 Activities in Nadi
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Nadi, Fiji
1 review
“Fantastic Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a fantastic day on the Seaspray and had to write a review. I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone. My boyfriend and I are only in Fiji for 10 days from the U.S. and debated, researched on which activities to do during our short stay. The Seaspray cruise was perfect from the time we boarded at Denarau Harbor, to when we set sail on the Seaspray. The crew on the Seaspray were so welcoming and fun. Tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable. If you are looking for a relaxing day sailing on clear blue water, listening to Fijian men singing, then this is a cruise for you. The day was spent mostly on the boat, cruising the different islands. Stopping for a little over an hour to snorkel as the crew cooked us a delicious bbq lunch of chicken, sausage and grilled fish. Salads (potato and green), rolls, rice accompanied the bbq meats. Free drinks were provided throughout the day. Lots of beer and wine for everyone. What we really enjoyed about the whole day was how relaxing it was. After the snorkeling and lunch, as we set out to sea again, the crew allowed us all to jump into the water for a swim to cool off. This was awesome. We also had an opportunity to visit a small Fijian village, take part in a Kava ceremony and learnt about the inhabitants. The best part that I will take back to the states with me is the memory of the Fijian crew relaxing playing their ukelele and guitar, seranading us as the sail boat cruised across blue blue waters. It was a pretty picture perfect day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ohh on the sea spray :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

These spray is an absolute must when travelling to Fiji. Food and alcohol include for the day. All the staff are men there amazing so funny great entertainment . The seaspray song was stuck in my head for weeks. They take you to visit a village were you see a kava ceremony and drink it to you want, also shop in the markets . Snorkelling at castaway island was my first experience snorkelling ever it was amazing ( eventually) the guide was really helpful guided me the whole time. 5 stars to the seaspray boys. Must do this !!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Not as good the 2nd time around - Still a great experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After enjoying this trip so much during our last time in Fiji, we absolutley raved about it and we wanted to share this unique, unforgettable experience when we visited Fiji again this December with family. I must say, it was a bit of a let down in comparison to the last trip.

The boat was over-full with barely enough seating for everyone, some of which had no shade. Our last trip (same time of year, a year ago) had about half as much people with ample space to move around and to find another spot in the shade as the boat changed direction.

The crew (different from the last trip) was not as involved and interacting with everyone. They basically carried on with their business for most of the trip with the exception of the initial welcome speech/instructions and info as we arrived at some of the activities and they sang a few songs without inviting us to sing along, or to suggest songs and had little conversation with the passengers. The last trip was a buzz and the crew was the heart of it.

The trip was rushed, partly because it took so much longer to get everyone to and from the village on the smaller boat - they had to do 2 trips in comparison to only 1 trip previously. The whole relaxed, lazing in the sun with the wind through your hair experience was missing...

At the village, we were taken to the community hall for the kava ceremony and that was it. The last time, after the ceremony, we were taken on a tour through the village, shown how the water was kept, taken to the village school and sports grounds (even though the school was closed) and as we walked through the village, we were told about the Fiji way of life, culture, traditions, raising Fiji children etc. This time, we had none of that - it was to the hall and then straight back to the beach where we were allowed time to shop from the market stalls. We would have had more than enough time to walk through the village as too much time was allocated for shopping - people were all done and waiting around in the shade for the boats for quite some time before we started back to the boat. The village visit was especially disappointing as we've told our family how great the village visit was and that it was a "must do" so they had that expectation and then none of it happened.

The crew was friendly and the BBQ lunch was great, but whereas the 1st experience was so unique and something we could not stop talking about, this one was just another day trip...

It cost us quite a bit of extra money to be able to make this trip, as pick-up was not offered from our resort and we had to get a water taxi (which did not come cheap), all of which we were OK with as we had this amazing experience to look forward to, and then it turned out to be quite ordinary. Maybe if we did not have to go through all this effort and expense to be able to make this trip and maybe if we did this for the 1st time, we would had a different opinion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good tour, beautiful scenery, long day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a nice day out but it is a long day especially if you're staying on the Coral Coast. We spent 2 hours in the mini-van and another 2+ hours on the catamaran. The Seaspray motored the whole time (I expected this to be a sailing trip). There was quite a buit of swell and I felt unwell by the time we anchored at Monriki. That's OK but having been on a few boat rides I expected there to be some forewarning of the swell so I could take some anti-nausea meds. The snorkelling is good (only 1 hour though which is a bit disappointing given all the travelling). The scenery is really lovely. There isn't much emphasis placed on safety - it's not ignored but it is a very relaxed approach. The food and drinks are good - nice to help yourself whenever you wanted a drink. The village stop was interesting. After this we encountered a storm and motored back to Mana Island to wait for the catamaran. It was a little uncomfortable as there are no sides to provide shelter. You could go below but space was limited and there were diesel fumes- I preferred the fresh but wet air! Overall the captian and crew do a good job of making the trip pleasant. If you haven't been to the islands, it's a worthwhile trip. You do need to consider the length of the day and how much travelling you do on the day if you're staying outside of Denarau/Nadi.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulua, Colombia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my dad had an amazing time, beers all day, snacks, amazing tour guides. We took great pictures in monuriki. The BBQ on the boat was delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaspray Sailing Adventure-Day Tours also viewed

Nadi, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Seaspray Sailing Adventure-Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaspray Sailing Adventure-Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.