We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Navala Village arranged by Sheraton Hotel on Devaru Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navala Village

Navala Village
Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Nadi
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most picturesque villages in Fiji, this one retains the traditional bures (thatched huts supported by center poles) that have been replaced in other villages by prefabricated concrete homes.
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Visit to Navala Village arranged by Sheraton Hotel on Devaru Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It was April, 2004 and we were on our 40th Anniversary trip to the South Pacific - Tahiti, Moorea, Bora Bora, New Zealand, and Fiji. The trip to Navala Village, via a four-drive jeep with a driver/guide was great. Do not remember the cost, but it seemed reasonable. The tour cost covered the transportation, guide, visit to the Village [no extra cost], a very good fresh fish and vegetables lunch, and a gift for the Village. The lunch was at the lodge close to the Village and the owner/manager accompanied us there after lunch. We met the kids who were very friendly. All was smooth and pleasant. The manager of the guest house accompanied us to the village to see to details.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brè sopra Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't miss this experience. wonderful. Nice and friendly people, wonderful village. Take your time to visit the village and have lunch with them.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“authentic village experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

eye opening experience - genuine people! its amazing how happy you can be with so little.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This village was fantastic. We travelled to the village when on the day trip with sea spray (south sea cruises). The guide was very knowledgable and the kids we extremely cute

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very fake, made for tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The village is pretty but felt like an act. Welcome dance seemed forced and the villagers seemed bored with the Kava ceremony.Tour of Village went 100m finishing up at a donation box. Was nice to see the kids in class.
We were invited back to see the villagers crafts which apparently is their main source of income and trade. We were sooo disappointed to see the same nick knacks and tourist junk in every boutique across the islands.Yes was cheaper but is all the same crap -probably made in China. When asked if they made themselves the villagers all said they made themselves! -no wood turning seen on village tour??? shark tooth, mother of pearl, paua, silver, shells... every piece identical. Was so disappointing as was hoping to see some crafts made by the children like, pictures, book marks and cards etc.
Was a nice lunch and ok day out. The long boat up the river was pleasant and the scenery was lovely. The boat men were fun guys.
I wouldn't recommend this tour based on the village experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Navala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navala Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.