We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Raffles Gateway Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 9891 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Nadi, Fiji
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed our easter weekend here to the fullest very nice and friendly staff food ya very tasty nice environment pool centre too good nice shopping depts as well a small heaven in nadi i would say. We stayed 2 nights in march at the beginning and the end of our Fiji trip. We thought the rooms were great for our family of 4. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the waterside. We ate 2 meals which were great an very well priced We didn't see a bus when we arrived to take us to the resort but we just walked across.

Room Tip: Corner suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    387
    133
    23
    21
See reviews for
216
293
57
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I were spending 10 days in Fiji, the first and last days were spent at the Raffles Gateway and the 8 days in between on one of the Yassawa Islands. We had toured the Raffles in Siem Reap, Cambodia--but let me tell you, the Raffles Gateway is certainly not to be confused with the Raffles in Siem Reap. The Raffles in Siem Reap has been one of the world's great hotels for more than a century--and how Raffles could let its name be sullied by hanging its moniker on this old Gateway Hotel in Nadi is beyond me. I guess they just do not care about the value of their great name.
To start, we waited more than a half-hour for the shuttle to pick us up, only to find we could have walked from the airport to the hotel--with our luggage--in about 8 to 12 minutes. The shuttle van was old and beat--which, at the time we did not know was a portent of what was to come. When we arrived at the hotel there were pleasant bellmen to help us all with luggage--it turns out all the bellmen were helpful and courteous, but such was not the case with almost all the rest of the staff. The front desk was slow to wait on us, and when they did, it seemed to both of us that we were more like pests then guests.
The room was huge, I will grant that. But it was dark and dingy, and there were cobwebs here and there, grime in the corners, and a general lack of good housekeeping. But the air conditioning worked like a charm. We went to the bar for wifi--$15-20 for 1/2 hour, but I have no complaints about that in Fiji--and a glass of wine, which was expensive and awful. Further, the female server was borderline rude. We then sauntered about a bit, and took in the attractive landscaping and neat swimming pool.
After a while, we went to dinner. Ho hum. Service barely adequate, food edible; and that is all I can really say.
Since we were leaving at 6:50 am the next morning to catch a bus to take us to the port to catch the Yassawa Flyer ferry to the Yassawas, I checked out that evening and asked to check some luggage to be held until we returned 8 days later. Again, the 3 folks at the front desk seemed to be trying to out-wait each other to see who would finally have to wait on me. And when I asked about leaving luggage, you would have thought I had asked the impossible. But in the end, all was taken care of--and out luggage was there and in good shape when we returned.
When we did come back 8 days later, we had a different room, but it was no spiffier or tidier than the first, but again it was huge [a family of 6 could have stayed in that room]. Again, the food was served without warmth from the servers, and the food itself was lackluster, but not bad.
I do not understand how this hotel has received the 4 and 5 star ratings it has. It simply does not warrant them.
One final comment, that has nothing to do with the hotel. If your plan is the same as ours was, to fly in on day 1, catch a ferry on day 2 to go to an island, and return several days later to spend 1 night before catching your flight the next day [most likely night], then think about doing the following. Instead of taking a ferry boat to the outer island of your choice, arrange for a flight to that island. Therefore, when you fly into the airport, you grab a cab or shuttle bus to where your flight departs, fly out to the island in less than an hour in most cases, land on the water where a boat from your resort meets you, and voila, you are at your resort and have bypassed the need for a hotel in Nadi at all--and have had the fun of flying over all those islands to boot. The same can happen on the return. Since most international flights depart late in the evening, you can take a late morning or early afternoon boat from your resort to the plane, board the plane, and fly back to Nadi, and get to the airport to fly home or wherever. This can save you two nights stay in Nadi--which will probably make up the cost difference between taking the plane vs taking the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in march at the beginning and the end of our Fiji trip.

We thought the rooms were great for our family of 4.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the waterside.

We ate 2 meals which were great an very well priced

We didn't see a bus when we arrived to take us to the resort but we just walked across the road.

We caught the shuttle from the domestic flight to the hotel, and to the airport the day we flew home. Quick and easy.

We have already booked in January again for 2 nights.

1 negative the stairwells are very slippery I fell down the stairs and really did hurt myself the day we arrived. I did notice they upon the return visit there was a sign saying slippery which wasn't there when I fell. I do hope u fixed the broken tile.

Anyway Vinaka! See you again in January.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have travelled to Fiji many many times, and always travelled out to Denarau as a stopover before going out to the islands. On our most recent trip, this time with a toddler, we decided to try overnighting at the Raffles Gateway instead. It was a pleasant surprise! We literally walked out of the airport with our bags and baby and headed across the road, where the staff were very friendly, the room was big and nice, and it was all super easy. The bed was comfortable, the shower was good, the food in the restaurant wasn't great but it was fine. In the morning we got picked up but it would have been a 2 minute walk back to the airport. We didn't get time to try the pool but it certainly seemed that kids were enjoying the waterslide. Next time we will definitely overnight here instead of heading to Denarau, not worth the trip for 1 night - but for more than 1 night or maybe 2 I think we still would.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have a large living area and 'bar'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights on a small Fiji Island. It is hard to coordinate the time of the boat going back and forth with the flight times. Most people had to stay on the mainland one night. We read several reviews and selected Raffles Gateway. Beautiful facility. Nice room. Beautiful flowers on the grounds. Unbelievable pool with a small water slide. Nice restaurant inside with local Fijians singing and playing instruments. Nothing to do outside of the hotel but we really could have stayed there 2 nights because it was so comfortable. It was a relief from the hot days at an island resort. The shuttle constantly runs back and forth to the airport which is only a 2 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Don't know where to start - may be with the good things - about Raffles. The large pool is nice, and the food is so-so. I had some food in the room and went out for a few minutes and came back to a swarm of cockroaches eating the food. I was woken up by people rolling their suitcases in the walkways late at night and early in the morning. I will never stay here again. Novotel hotel that is close by is much cleaner, and a bargain at a higher place as they include breakfast as part of the room tariff.

Room Tip: Go to Novotel -- even though it is a little far away from the airport, the rooms are much nicer (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner, myself and our bub had a great stay here this March - it was better than expected. Due to a very early flight to Suva the next day, we chose this place for its very close proximity to the airport and quick transfers, being across the road from the airport.

Airport noise was not a problem at all - we were so tired after our flight, we didn't have any issue with noise! The staff were very friendly, the food was lovely, the place was quiet, the grounds were beautiful and the rooms great. If anything, it would have been better if they had better shower heads - they were those needle sort of water streams. Loved that they had aircon and spacious rooms.

My partner really enjoyed it too. For budget accommodation, its a great option for a stopover, with restaurants only a taxi ride away (we paid $10FJD to get to the Bounty restaurant). I wouldn't stay there for too long because I am a fan of heading out to islands, but if I had to stop over again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Gateway Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 9891 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raffles Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Raffles Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Raffles Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Raffles Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Executive Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and mini-bar service, and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. Conference Facilities Raffles Gateway Hotel is now home to state of the art conference facilities also and are designed to accommodate small to large business meetings and private functions and cater for up to 120 guests. Offering the flexibility of private secretariat rooms, variable styles of set up and spacious break out rooms these modern facilities have all you need for a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Raffles Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Raffles Gateway Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.