We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Gateway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Raffles Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Raffles Gateway Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 9891 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10% off room rate!
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel near airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here both before and after our stay in the Yassawas (late flight in and early flight out). The grounds are beautifully maintained, the rooms clean, tidy and comfortable and the location in relation to the airport second to none.

Even though we could clearly see the planes on the tarmac at the airport from our room there was no airport noise and the complementary airport transfers removed any worry from the late arrival and early departure. For those transferring to the islands via the Yassawa Flyer the pick up and drop off point is conveniently located out the front of the hotel.

The staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful - clearly used to dealing with tired and somewhat disoriented passengers. A great welcome and farewell to this beautiful country.

PS for those who love a good curry you must try the curries in the hotel restaurant - you will be very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: If you have specific requirements eq ground floor unit or particular bedding configuration I suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    341
    122
    23
    19
See reviews for
194
260
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Located walking distance from Nadi Airport this hotel is perfect if you have to catch an early flight out. You don't have to walk as they do run a shuttle the short distance of less than a km. The hotel's low buildings around a courtyard gives a cosy feeling. My room was a good size and clean. The sirloin for dinner, however, did not impress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Raffles Gateway is an OK place to stay if in transit - it's literally across the road from the airport - but I'm not getting all these rave reviews.
The rooms are basic but clean and the grounds, especially the pool, are well maintained and give a nice ambience.
The food leaves a lot to be desired - large, uninspired cafeteria-like meals - and the staff seemed bored. Unfortunately there's not much in walking distance, except the airport, so you are captive in terms of eating option.
Overall, it's a decent place to stay for a night or two but I'm not with the "5 star raves" or the "great value" crowd on this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikerie, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here before an early morning flight. It's the perfect location and the pool area and cafe are the best. Rooms are spacious and clean but the shower, OMG!! Soooo good, especially after being on outer islands with sand in every crack ;). Once again as with any resort in Fiji if you ask for a taxi they will get the resort car and charge double the price, make sure you ask for a metred taxi and it starts at $1.50. We tried to book another night but was booked out so are staying next door at tokatoka. Guess we'll have to see or that can take over my love of the gateway showers :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at raffles for 2 seperate nights and were really surprised. The rooms were tidy and clean, the restaurant had a great range of food and the pool was lovely.
More of a family style resort than for couples..... My hubby loved the slide.

The resort is very close to the airport and you do not need to catch a cab, about a 5 mins walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
926 reviews 926 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 278 cities Reviews in 278 cities
545 helpful votes 545 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Like us, then you can do worse than this place which is walking distance from the terminal.

But if you don't need to get an early flight then I'd be exploring your options a bit more as I see no reason to be spending your time in Fiji stuck on a busy highway with planes coming and going!!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After spending 2 weeks travelling around Fiji Raffles is definatly the place to stop, family friendly with wonderful pool and waterslide. I have been to Fiji 8 times and usually stay at the Novotel last night but tried this due to the waterslide and other tripadvisor comments
.
Staff will bring suitcases to your room...tip $2 FJ if you can...staff earn between $2-$3 fijian per hour.

Right across from the airport you can check out with no charge until 12 noon and then reception will mind your cases while you get the last bit of sun and swim before your flight home. You can walk across the road with your cases.

Don't be turned off by 'the airport'...this is Nadi...not Sydney...minimal flights come and go and you can hardly hear the noise when they come and go as they fly on the other side of the airport.
We also caught the local bus outside Raffles for $1 per person into Nadi town..instead of a $30-$35 cab charge return.

Rooms clean and in very good condition. Excellent gardens, 2 pools including a warm spa for the little ones and the brillant water slide...I think I counted my 5 year old go down 30 times lol

The food at Raffles is average but not foul. eg:Club/toasted sandwiches are good, but local dishes like Kokoda were very average compared to other places we have stayed. We ended up eating in Nadi town for lunch the next day.

The staff are very friendly at Raffles and the coffee bar make good Italian espresso...just what I needed after all the filtered or weak coffee on the fiji islands.

Room Tip: If travelling with little ones, request a downstairs room and near the big pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffles Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Gateway Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 9891 | Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raffles Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Raffles Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Raffles Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Raffles Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Executive Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and mini-bar service, and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. Conference Facilities Raffles Gateway Hotel is now home to state of the art conference facilities also and are designed to accommodate small to large business meetings and private functions and cater for up to 120 guests. Offering the flexibility of private secretariat rooms, variable styles of set up and spacious break out rooms these modern facilities have all you need for a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raffles Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Raffles Gateway Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.