We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Nadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Nadi to your Saves list
Novotel Nadi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namaka Hill | Votualevu, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked superior room - was given a standard "rundown" room. When I questioned the staff, he asked me to prove to him that I paid for the superior room. Made me open my suitcases as I had to find the printout of my booking. Asked for the Manager to explain this unpleasant experience - the gutless manager sent a data entry staff to say sorry for the misunderstanding. Now we know why this place is such a "dump" - led by an incompetent person. We have been regular at this place but this was our last stay here. Honestly speaking, don't bother eating at this place - better off having a meal across the road at New World Coffee Shop - 1/10th of the price and much better than the hotel crap. Not upto Novotel standard - change in management needed so that problems can be fixed at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Fijitravellers,
Thank you for taking the time to provide some comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as feedback is vital for us to continue improving our service and maintaining our commitment to superior guest experiences.
On behalf of the team at Novotel Nadi, I would like to convey my most sincere apologies that your stay was not as expected. It is disappointing to hear that you were dissatisfied with the level of service provided during your stay. The constructive remarks you offered has enabled the senior management of the hotel, to work closely with our middle level managers; i.e. Duty Managers, to ensure they understand the value of our guests and the importance of them having a positive stay experience, always. I have personally addressed this matter with the hotel's Duty Manager, whom you have highlighted in your commentary and the Guest Service Attendant; both have asked me to convey their sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Fijitravellers, we do believe strongly in providing the highest possible level of service to all our guests and I hope that despite your previous experience, we will be given the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Vinaka & Regards
Jack Work
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    308
    191
    83
    54
See reviews for
192
265
55
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Arriving in Fiji too late for transfer to Mana and also an early departure from Nadi on our way home led us to stay at the Novotel. We have stayed there before and also at the Raddison. It was the price that won us over and the minimal amount of time we would be there for.
We arrived late at night and were shown to our room promptly, had to ask 3 times for the rollaway that was actually listed on booking. We ate a quick and adequate dinner in the restaurant. After a good night sleep the resort arranged a taxi to take us to Denarau.
Upon our return from Mana our experience was not so good, requested pool towels about 5 times, service in the restaurant/bar was shocking, slow & the staff bodering upon rude. Kids hamburgers were way too spicy. Bath plug didnt fit and air conditioning cutting in and out all night. On the plus side the wake up call, bell hop service and courtesy bus were great.
Was glad we joined the Accor Club to get the discounted meals.
Not too sure if we would stay there again, it was pretty good value for money however it was not the best end to a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear ChelleL,
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent stay with us. I'am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in a few areas, please allow me to express my sincere apologies. At Novotel Nadi, we strive to provide superior service and positive guest experience for all our guests during their stays, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured we have taken the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrences. I will share your positive comments with our Front Office Team, which includes the drivers and porters; your feedback will serve as an encouragement to them all.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Vinaka & Regards
Jack Work
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ok we only stayed one night - we had come back from an island resort and needed somewhere to stay before flying out the next day. To be fair, some things were OK - we had a nice meal in the restaurant, the gardens are lovely. However, our room was not very clean (the shower was dirty), the air conditioning struggled to keep up (and kept us awake in the process). The room felt damp - Yes I know Fiji gets muggy but...
The final straw was MILK - yes milk! I like milk with my tea NOT creamer (ugh!). Plus we needed milk for the children so after an abortive attempt to get milk via room service, I marched up to reception in my dressing gown and demanded proper milk. I was directed to the restaurant and they gave me a jug of milk. Does Fiji not have a dairy industry? I guess not but I'm a New Zealander and we like proper milk. Sigh!!

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was on the upper floor - given my review, goodness knows what the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Marion D,
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent stay. I was very sorry to read of your experience. It is obvious from your feedback, the hotels usual high service standards have not been met during this particular stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for this uncharacteristic slip in our service levels. I can assure you the hotel prides itself on its level of service and to hear that we have fallen short on this occasion is very disappointing. I have reviewed the details of your concerns and have spoken to the hotel’s Management Team, as we strive to continuously work on improving our guests stay experiences.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Vinaka & Regards
Jack Work
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days recently over the christmas break. The hotel is extremely run down and needs a lot of repair plus renovation. The rooms were a good size but the lighting in the rooms was extremely minimalistic and it was hit and miss if the room actually got cleaned each day. Breakfast at the resort is a health hazard! If you want to sit on the terrace then you need to check the seats for bird poo and if you choose to have the breakfast buffet then i would recommend only eating from items that are covered as the birds freely enter the buffet area and help themselves and the staff do not do anything to stop them or deter them. Christmas day we were shown a christmas menu only to be told later that they had changed their minds and weren't offering anythng for christmas. The pool looked like it needed cleaning and I am not sure it was cleaned at all whilst i stayed there. The staff i will say however were friendly and responsive if asked a question or could provide assistance. The location is handy to both Nadi City Centre and the airport and the free airport shuttle was a bonus.

Room Tip: Looking across the golf course are quieter and quite shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear TraceyMel,
Thank you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as feedback is vital for us to continue improving our service and maintaining our commitment to superior guest experiences. On behalf of the team at Novotel Nadi, I would like to convey my most sincere apologies that your stay was not as expected. It is disappointing to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay experience. The hotel continues to activate and use its preventative maintenance program, as a mechanism to ensure all its guest rooms and facilities add value to all our guest stay experiences. Bird control remains a major issue in all hotels and resorts in Fiji; Novotel Nadi is not immune to this either. However, we are working tirelessly on a solution, to further improve guest experience. I have reviewed the details of your other concerns and I have addressed them with the hotel’s Management Team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to your next visit, as we anticipate to better serve you in the near future.
Vinaka & Regards
Jack Work
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I wish I had taken the time to look at the trip advisor reviews before booking here. Thank GOODNESS we were only booked in for one night!!!!

We stayed here on our way back from a lovely holiday out in the islands of fiji. We arrived in the afternoon, and left early the next morning.

I really honestly cannot think of one good thing to say about this place. The food was terrible, the service was average (not like usual Fiji standards at all!) and the hotel in general was old and tired to say the least.

Our room was absolutely disgusting - there were cracks in the bathroom tiles, stains on the bed linen. It was really just awful. Unfortunately during our stay the AC was also not working so we were forced to use a standing fan and it remained hot and muggy in the room.

This hotel does not deserve its current star rating - I only hope the formal star reviewers go back their soon to set the record straight for the rest of us, and save a lot of future disappointment.

I booked this hotel through Qantas Holidays and have also sent them a note advising I think they should remove their recommendation for this hotel. It is certainly not up to standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear njchristiansen,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with comment on your stay. I have noted your comments in regards to several issues you have highlighted. I have addressed these issues with the relevant managers and I assure you that appropriate action has been taken; we sincerely apologise for this occurrence. During this particular stay it was rather unfortunate that one of the compressors in our AC Chillers, had a malfunction which resulted in the varying temperatures in the rooms. However, since the 20th December 2013, we have purchased and commissioned a completely new AC Chiller, this has permanently resolved all issues relating to the coolness and comfort of our guest rooms.
njchristiansen, we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Vinaka & Regards
Jack Work
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed her for 5 night in November, lovely people, very helpful staff, drivers very helpful too and kept one for a few days which we found was the best way to see the island and he was very happy to wait while we had lunch, walk on beaches or just visit villages.
Hotel too was great, restaurant tried very hard and staff very helpful at breakfast or dinner. For an airport hotel - very happy.

Room Tip: We had two room on in the same area looking over the golf course but I think all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear roninspector,
I'am absolutely thrilled that you had such a memorable time at our beautiful hotel! We really appreciate the time you have taken to provide positive comment. I will share your comments with our team. I'am sure your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and our guest stay experience.
Thank you once again roninspector, for your comments. The team at Novotel Nadi looks forward to the day when you shall return in the not to distant future.
Vinaka & Warm Regards
Jack Work
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Nadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Nadi

Address: Namaka Hill | Votualevu, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Nadi 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Novotel Nadi - Managed by Accor ! The exotic Fiji Islands, set in the emerald waters of the South Pacific, is home to the Novotel Nadi. A warm welcome and traditional Fijian hospitality greet tourists and business travellers alike at a hotel where paradise becomes a way of life. Set in 42 acres of tropical gardens in the Namaka Hills, the Novotel Nadi is just a short drive [say, 3 minutes] from Nadi International Airport, served by many major international airlines and 10 minutes from one of Fiji's thriving business districts. It is an ideal base for touring and discovering Fiji's white beaches and crystal seas or marvel at mystical rituals such as "meke", traditional Fijian dancing. Get back to nature and explore the soaring Sleeping Giant mountain or sip a cocktail by the sparkling pool. The Novotel Nadi is based on traditional Fijian architecture and has 127 spacious guestrooms with balcony. Other facilities include same day laundry and babysitting. As soon as you step into Novotel Nadi, leave your cares behind and enjoy warm hospitality and impeccable service. The Novotel Nadi has a wide range of leisure activities for your enjoyment. Take a plunge in the pool, play tennis under the stars on the floodlit court or enjoy a game of golf on the hotels private 9 hole golf course. Indoor games include table tennis and pool. With sweeping mountain views, our 127 spacious guestrooms either have a balcony or patio. Each room has a private bathroom, television, air conditioning, refrigerator,tea and coffee making facilities and connected to high speed broadband internet and in-room wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Nadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nadi Hotel Nadi
Accor Nadi
Nadi Novotel
Fiji Mocambo
Novotel Nadi Fiji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Nadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.