We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in Fiji” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Nadi

Save Saved
You added Novotel Nadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Nadi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namaka Hill | Votualevu, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 hotels in Nadi
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First night in Fiji”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed 1 night upon arrival in Fiji due to delayed flight. All staff encountered were pleasant and friendly. Room clean but smelt damp. No reason to stay here unless you are arriving / departing. Nice Fijian curry in the restaurant and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bula Sherlocksmum

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Fiji, glad you enjoyed the service and the restaurant, I will be sure to pass your comments on the the rest of the staff.

Vinaka and Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    283
    173
    77
    49
See reviews for
170
244
50
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel on our way out to Matamanoa Island for one night, however the room that they put us in was very tired & out dated & smelled musty. When we came back from the island we stayed for 2 nights. The room they put us in this time was much nicer & more up to date. The breakfast was a bit of a three ring circus with no plates to put your breakfast on & running out of juice & bread etc.
The staff were friendly & i can recommend having a massage in their spa, it was well priced & very relaxing. The three shops there were handy & we were able to get some last minute gifts.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms that start with 500. Rooms in the 400's were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Bula Angela C

Thank you for the review, feedback is an essential part of our business, thank you for the great service comments, I will certainly pass this on to the staff. With regards to the breakfast I will address this with relevant staff to ensure this matter is resolved.

Vinaka and regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed 1 night only prior to flight out as it is close to the airport so for that reason alone it was barely passible, however I would not choose the Novotel as a 'holiday destination'. We had a premium room (the best they offer) and the fridge in the room had nothing in it...not even a bottle of water! The milk for tea and coffee was powdered, previous guests half used shampoo and conditioner was still in the shower recess and the lighting in the room is abysmal...if you need to read something you almost need a torch! The light on the balcony didn't work at all. Restaurant looked okay, although we didn't eat there. Staff/reception were helpful. The best thing about the Novotel Nadi is its close to the airport....and that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bula Roxy006

Thank you for your review, at the Novotel Nadi we pride ourselves on service and standards, and in this instance they seem not to have been met, for this I apologise. I do hope you will be able to give us another opportunity in the future.

Vinaka and regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swan hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My God! Where to start...
We realize this is a stop over hotel but is advertised as a 4 star resort. So so far from any resort or 4 star we have ever, ever stayed in. The staff are surely, slow and we don't mean Fiji slow, these guys make snails look like sprinters; that's of course if you can find one!!
We stayed in a standard on the way out and a deluxe on the way back, both stank of mould and mildew, both were shabby but on the upside the beds were comfy.
The pool area is a disaster and the pool is dirty, the restaurant is a) dirty b) food disgusting c) staff slow.
You may be forgiven for thinking we are just moan bags but seriously stay anywhere else but here.
Oh! Yes, they advertise mini bar in room on their website and in the in room book but don't stock it. Receptions says its for customers to put their own in. BUT they will bring drinks to your room and charge you for delivery. Get this as it just happened as I write, we ordered from the in room dining a bottle of wine at an extortionate $48, when they asked me to sign the docket it had $57. I pointed it out and the guy said matter of factly, yes we must get around to changing those they are the old ones!!! We wouldn't pay so they adjusted the price down to $48.
Really, really, this is a hole - don't come

Room Tip: Just don't come; you'll regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bula nigel m

Thank you for your review, at the Novotel Nadi we pride ourselves on service and standards, and in this instance they seem not to have been met, for this I apologise. I am sorry you will not be frequenting the property any longer.

Vinaka and regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel on the first night in Fiji before going to our next resort. The hotel is close enough to the airport but not on the main road and set back. There is a small golf course on the property as well. We stayed in the lower floor rooms which looked over the golf course and my wife loved the bougainvillea flowers which were on the edge of the balcony. We stayed with our two sons aged 9 and 13 and was just enough room for us although we would not have wanted to stay more than one night with out having a larger room. We had a meal at the restaurant which was ok but the staff were on extended Fiji Time!!!! as we waited about 40minutes for our meal. When I book our stay the breakfast was included in the price but I was told in the morning it was not, luckily enough I had the printouts and this was rectified but getting up a bit later than what we would have normally we went to the breakfast about 0930hrs and the food was quite poor, no juice left. we got the last coffee out of the machine and other items we gone and not been replenished. Being our first trip to Fiji I did not know what to expect but there was a dog at tea time just out side of the restaurant that was eating the scraps off the dirty dishes that was placed on a table, my son chased the dog away but it returned. Over all the rooms are nice and it is a close location to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Bula Dugg0

Thank you for the review, feedback is an essential part of our business, I will certainly pass this on to the staff. With regards to the breakfast I will address this with relevant staff to ensure this matter is resolved.

Vinaka and regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Nadi twice as we wanted a more upmarket hotel close to the airport. We had booked a standard room 1st visit & a superior the 2nd. We asked for an upstairs room at 1st visit & found these were actually the superior rooms. The vaulted ceiling makes a big difference and is definitely worth choosing over the standard room which is a normal low ceiling.
All rooms are noticiably dark but this is a feature seen at all novotels- no roof lights so really hard to read etc.

This Novotel has great bones in a solid and nice looking set of buildings, overlooking a golf course. Thick schist stone wall partitioned balcony, so good privacy.

Asked for upstairs room just as a preference which turned out to be a superior room, without being charged. It is quiet and staff are mostly good, but they need to pick up their game in the cleanliness area.
Thick dust evident and the bathrooms have so much mould under the grouting and missing or chipped dirty tiles, we actually wore jandals in the shower. Our second room was so bad we were surprised they would allow guests to stay in a room with so much obvious mould on display.
The other noticeable issue is the overwhelming stink of damp coming from through the air ventilation system in both rooms. We ended up opening both ends of the room to try and clear the awful smell.

Pros....
Membership Points for staying at novotel
Well known hotel chain
Food is pretty good, a bit hit and miss at breakfast though
Free airport shuttle, but unreliable if you need to be somewhere at a time and they dont inform you when it runs- one staff member later told us it ran half hourly, another said hourly. We had notified staff of our arrival prior twice but shuttle did not arrive at the airport. We had to phone as it turned out no-one had documented the request. Just get a taxi!

Cons
Both rooms- room smell damp like mold spores
Cleaning really bad, bathrooms and thick dust throughout
Pillows shocking, type that are full of air and not a lot else. They had no other types as per usual novotel pillow menu, so had to put cushion inside pillow case
Mix of good and disinterested staff
Mix up with breakfast saw us charged twice. When we emailed front house manager, he dealt with it which was good.

Would maybe go back- but only just. This resort wouldnt need much work to pick up its game and management would be key to this- it is a novotel and certain standards are linked to this brand.

Room Tip: Definitely superior rooms over standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Bula kiwi_NZ_67

Thank you for the review, feedback is an essential part of our business, I will certainly be taking all you comments on board in order to improve areas we fell short.

Vinaka and regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the Novotel Nadi for a one night stay after our honeymoon in Fiji (Royal Davui - amazing!) due to flight scheduling and sadly this hotel severely disappointed us.

Positive - the hotel is very close to the airport, less than 5 minutes, handy in that aspect.

Negative - Upon pulling back the bed linen to go to bed I found multiple hairs in the bed and stained sheets in multiple locations, quite disgusting. The room was very small, old and dirty, the bathroom was very slightly renovated (new sink and bench) but that did little to compensate for the old, dingy interior of the rest of the tiny room, the bath/shower combo was filthy. I have stayed in better hotels for half the price. The food in the restaurant was fairly unhealthy, overpriced and average. I actually wore thongs everywhere in the room as the floor looked dirty.
I am glad we had less than 24 hours here, to kill time we actually spent almost 2 hours working out in the gym, (thankfully air conditioned with free water). The remainder of the time was spent out on the grass on a chair tanning as I didn't want to spend any more time in the room than required. Oh and the TV is smaller than my computer monitor, don't know what that's about.

Summary - if you're not overly fussed this place is close to the airport and will do the job. Next time we need a transit hotel I'll be happy to head somewhere on the Coral Coast for a night or two, the extra $ will be worth every cent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Novotel Nadi, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bula mrsktm

Thank you for the very detailed and objective review of the property, we are looking into the concerns you raised in order to improve our offering to guests.

Vinaka and regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Nadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Nadi

Address: Namaka Hill | Votualevu, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Nadi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Novotel Nadi - Managed by Accor ! The exotic Fiji Islands, set in the emerald waters of the South Pacific, is home to the Novotel Nadi. A warm welcome and traditional Fijian hospitality greet tourists and business travellers alike at a hotel where paradise becomes a way of life. Set in 42 acres of tropical gardens in the Namaka Hills, the Novotel Nadi is just a short drive [say, 3 minutes] from Nadi International Airport, served by many major international airlines and 10 minutes from one of Fiji's thriving business districts. It is an ideal base for touring and discovering Fiji's white beaches and crystal seas or marvel at mystical rituals such as "meke", traditional Fijian dancing. Get back to nature and explore the soaring Sleeping Giant mountain or sip a cocktail by the sparkling pool. The Novotel Nadi is based on traditional Fijian architecture and has 127 spacious guestrooms with balcony. Other facilities include same day laundry and babysitting. As soon as you step into Novotel Nadi, leave your cares behind and enjoy warm hospitality and impeccable service. The Novotel Nadi has a wide range of leisure activities for your enjoyment. Take a plunge in the pool, play tennis under the stars on the floodlit court or enjoy a game of golf on the hotels private 9 hole golf course. Indoor games include table tennis and pool. With sweeping mountain views, our 127 spacious guestrooms either have a balcony or patio. Each room has a private bathroom, television, air conditioning, refrigerator,tea and coffee making facilities and connected to high speed broadband internet and in-room wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Novotel Nadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nadi Hotel Nadi
Accor Nadi
Nadi Novotel
Fiji Mocambo
Novotel Nadi Fiji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Nadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.