We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst dining experience of my life” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Nadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Nadi to your Saves list
Novotel Nadi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namaka Hill | Votualevu, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Ponsonby, Auckland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience of my life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was ok although I can see an American suing them when they fall over on the wet floor tiles in the main corridor. We stayed in April and damage from last years hurricane still not fixed. I realise they are probably having to deal with intransagent insurance companies but I would have thought they could at least put nonskid mats over all parts of the wet floor.

Anyway I never put in bad reports but have to about the night restaurant. My squid entre arrived stone cold on browning lettuce. I ate the squid but not the lettuce so I could not complain. Then my husband got a stone cold main. While they "reheated " it I had time to eat my whole meal. It came back still stone cold again.

The next night we caught a taxi for $5Fiji to Bulaccino which was wonderful [although the chilli is
far too hot] and we went back for lunch.

There is a very good carver working in the hotel who will make things for you if you stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    309
    191
    83
    54
See reviews for
192
265
55
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great place to stay if you have an early morning flight....friendly and efficient staff...Food in Talei restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. Bathroom could do with updating...shower over bath tub not ideal for older travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had two interconnecting rooms , think it was 802 and 803 down near the driving range.Lovely rooms, though had an intense damp moldy smell, and this only got worse when you switched on the aircon which gave everybody scratchy itchy throats and a cough.Dinner was terrible, the steaks are laughable and the salads where old and dangerous looking. Breakfast was pretty good except it took almost an hour to get a poached egg(and there where two other people in the restaurant, and then I got three at once from different chefs).Reception and tour staff where excellent.Think if they demolded the rooms would have been alright though as you are in Fiji, and western food is rarely done as well.

Convenient and very close to the airport though two stars as the room mold thing was a killer.

Room Tip: if they take you down the ramp to the 800 series rooms next to the driving range , run away, that mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

No milk provided in the room. the room condition smells like damp ... need to provide some air freshener. Staff was friendly which makes it difference. Very good for stop over (short term only) Buffet breakfast is average it could be better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Weren't able to stay but we did visit the restaraunt

I confess to having high expectations for meals out. Partly because my family are all great cooks and I know I can be picky when it comes to food. Something my family have allowed for and something that doesn't always make me glad we ate out. Love the company, sometimes the experience, just want a meal that is going to fill me and is what it suggests it is on the menu. Not from a chef who thinks they are some “new age” culinary artist not satisfied being a capable and qualified chef. I find this especially an issue when we travel. It seems the more exotic the location the bigger the let down with meals.

This time we took our chances at the Accor Novotel in Nadi. Rang and politely received our booking. Arrived, politely greeted but noticed it looked a little quiet which had us worried. Our read of the menu resulted with 2 Seafood Plate meals of kokoda, garlic squid and prawns mix, mussels, deep fried fish and rice.
Eaten kokoda many times in Fiji and not always happy with it. It was not the case this time. Dare I use a "master chef" cliché but it was “a prefect balance of acidity”. With the rest of the meal easily the best meal I have eaten the last 6 years in Fiji at numerous resorts and hotels. The smooth and perfectly reduced garlic cream sauce, plenty of prawns and squid, lightly crusted fish pieces and poached mussels all beautifully complemented by the rice (which never disappoints me anywhere in Fiji). Good food and a reasonable serving, in fact so good that when we returned to Nadi we made sure we enjoyed the same meal again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a good stopover before heading out on an island cruise if they will pick you up from the hotel. There is a supermarket over the road for cheaper supplies, but nothing close for a taste of local food. We are back again for a night before flying home. Seems to be frequented by airline staff, so this is usually a good sign. Not a great deal to do in this town, so don't book a long stay - go to the islands or the Coral Coast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect, as it was close to the airport, and fairly cheap. I didn't really expect to find a 2 story motel style setting, however that had no effect on my stay.

I would say this is one of the better properties in the vicinity of the airport, for a short stay.

Fairly clean, decent WiFi. The breakfast is overpriced and bland.

Will repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Nadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Nadi

Address: Namaka Hill | Votualevu, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Nadi 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Novotel Nadi - Managed by Accor ! The exotic Fiji Islands, set in the emerald waters of the South Pacific, is home to the Novotel Nadi. A warm welcome and traditional Fijian hospitality greet tourists and business travellers alike at a hotel where paradise becomes a way of life. Set in 42 acres of tropical gardens in the Namaka Hills, the Novotel Nadi is just a short drive [say, 3 minutes] from Nadi International Airport, served by many major international airlines and 10 minutes from one of Fiji's thriving business districts. It is an ideal base for touring and discovering Fiji's white beaches and crystal seas or marvel at mystical rituals such as "meke", traditional Fijian dancing. Get back to nature and explore the soaring Sleeping Giant mountain or sip a cocktail by the sparkling pool. The Novotel Nadi is based on traditional Fijian architecture and has 127 spacious guestrooms with balcony. Other facilities include same day laundry and babysitting. As soon as you step into Novotel Nadi, leave your cares behind and enjoy warm hospitality and impeccable service. The Novotel Nadi has a wide range of leisure activities for your enjoyment. Take a plunge in the pool, play tennis under the stars on the floodlit court or enjoy a game of golf on the hotels private 9 hole golf course. Indoor games include table tennis and pool. With sweeping mountain views, our 127 spacious guestrooms either have a balcony or patio. Each room has a private bathroom, television, air conditioning, refrigerator,tea and coffee making facilities and connected to high speed broadband internet and in-room wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Nadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nadi Hotel Nadi
Accor Nadi
Nadi Novotel
Fiji Mocambo
Novotel Nadi Fiji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Nadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.