We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, cheap, good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Skylodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tanoa Skylodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanoa Skylodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Namaka Queens Highway,Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Nomads Skylodge Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Nadi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient, cheap, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed o/night before heading elsewhere in Fiji the next day. We had one of the best curries we had throughout Fiji for dinner and slept well, in small but clean room. Good value and free airport transfer great. All staff very helpful without inquiries about transportation to other parts of Fiji.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Bula,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. It is so rewarding that you really enjoyed your stay with us. All customer feedback is very important to us and all, good and bad are taken seriously. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff concerned. Please do visit us again when you are passing by our way, we will still provide you with the same Fijian Hospitality and if you know of anyone coming our way, please feel free to introduce them to us.

Kind Regards,


Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    46
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
14
49
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Only 7 minute drive from airport. Rooms are old and in need of upgrade. Booked an executive room on the internet showing 2 double beds but ended up getting 1 double and a single bed. Beddings looked old but clean. Rooms detached from the main reception center. OK for the money paid

Room Tip: Rooms next to the reception center can be noisy with the band playing in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Bula,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. All feedback either good or bad is very important to us so that we can improve on our services and facilities. I do apologise for the defects in our services . For rooms we do not have executive , however I believe you meant a superior room. Superior rooms we do have configuration of either two doubles or one single and one double and Iam at a loss why this was not offered to you. Also the the moment Tanoa Skylodge is undergoing major renovation from rooms to other facilities to meet up the demands of our different customers though we are classes as budget accommodation provider and seen the level of customers using Skylodge as pre- post which they find very convenient.
All the above comments will be shared with the staff concerned and please do visit us again in future when you are travelling ourway to see what changes we have made and definitely would be happy to look after you.

Kind Regards,

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My god.....the bed bug infestation!!!! for two consecuetive nights woke up for a very serious dose of scratching and anger..was absolutely pissed off about this..i heard read a review and also saw those photos and i thought it would be way past that guys horrible experience..

had to get up and take a shower..put some repellent and prayed it would not start all over again..

too bad it was there...on the third day had to give up and move to Grand Melanisian

For many of you who may ask why didnt we complain....ah wellllll...just too damn tired of going up and down

Overall the experience was very good..same type of rooms in Suva will cost you around 130+ but it was just half the price for "Tanoa Hotels" like i said in suva..

Pool was nice..lacked night lights which was a bummer as went out for a afternoon swim..

Staff are good....and ahhhh yes...the towels.....took them an hour after we checked in to get only one....

Location is great...close to namaka town..food shopping everything is available just on the road and at the end of the day it was a good winding down at the LC's restuarant for the two of us.

Room Tip: Ask for room which may not have cases of bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Bula ,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. It's also great to see that you enjoyed your stay. All customer feed back is very important to us so that we could improve on the service and facilities of the hotel.Yes indeed Tanoa Skylodge is very centrally located to all amenities which our guest like and in turn we have seen increase in our return customers. For the rooms we do have maintenance program in place and just recently we have upgraded the bathroom facilities to this property in all rooms including new set of shower cubical's in all rooms. All your comments will be shared with the staff concerned and please do visit us again when travelling our side to see what more changes this property has gone through.

Kind Regards
Raj Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Accommodation offered is dormitory and self contained rooms. The rooms are spacious and basic. Only 10 mins from the airport. Local bus to Nadi township only FJ70c per person.
We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Basic menu but okay. We had pizza and butter chicken. Nice, polite bar staff and reception usually helpful.
Free transfer to airport on the hour.
Good value for money. Caters mainly for backpackers.

Room Tip: If you stay in the "Cottages" rooms ask for ones away from the road (should be a little qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Bula,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. It is so rewarding that you really enjoyed your stay with us. All customer feedback is very important to us and all, good and bad, are taken seriously.Indeed the Tanoa Skylodge hotel is 'value for money' accommodation provider with a three star rating and not only do we look after the backpacker market, we also cater for thr independent leisure travellers, corporate guests and those attending meetings and conferences. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff concerned . Please do visit us again when you are passing by ourway, we will still provide you with the same Fijian hospitality and if you know of any one coming our way, please feel free to introduce them to us.

Kind Regards,

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have stayed here several times while transiting Nadi area, max stay 2 nights each time.
With hostel rooms as low as FJ$20 a head (about US$10), this must give about the best bang for buck in the area.
Rooms are basic mostly servicable, some bunks area bit rickety if the top person moves about, but for a little extra, an ensuite room is a good investment if you are not in a really tight budget group. They also have cottages as another step up. but I have not experienced those.
They need to put mattress protectors on the beds!, and some linen is lookng decidedly 2nd hand now.

Has guest laundry. Wifi is available for FJ$5 for 30 minutes, FJ$8 for 60 minutes.
There is an independently operated massage gazebo located near the pool, offering manicure, pedicure, and various massage options. It is reasonably priced, and the lady who runs it is quite lovely. - and NO, it is NOT a sex place, it is very respectable.

It has a very basic restaurant doing grills, currys, toasted sandwiches, burgers and pizza. Breakfast menu is okay. Prices are a little up there for a Fiji basic place, but bearable. Same goes for drinks from their bar. Non-alcoholic beverages can be bought cheaper at a cooler near reception.

It can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, as they not only host individuals and tour groups, but hold private pool area functions for weddings, birthdays and the like.

Buses can be caught right near the back gate, and it is about 400 metres to the nearest fresh food market. There are vodafone, take-away, and other shops similar distance, towels are extra except for the ensuite doubles, which have them included.

Real plusses
- You can bring and eat your own food around the pool area and another covered gazebo near there and tbe restaurant. eg, we had an all fruit lunch in shade surounded by the birds and trees.
- It has a pool - - very much a plus in the price range.
- Staff are very friendly and helpful, whenever I am checking in, even after some months I call out "I'm Hoooooooooome" as I wander in, and get "Bula mr mark" in return.

As example, our group of 14 arrived back at 10pm last Wednesday via their shuttle after 17 hours travelling by bus and ferry from the northern islands, and they were just closing the restaurant, but held it open another half hour so we could get late dinners - and did so with very good grace.

Unavailability of rental towels for dormitory guests due to a "towels shortage" has been a problem for at least 2 years - like a lot of things in Fiji these days, outages of basic services and products have become so common-place, that locals don't really understand that for western tourists this is a no-no. If you advertise it, you should have it.
After having none despite a forward request 2 weeks ahead; confirming they WOULD be some for us on our inward journey; I had to "insist" quite firmly that they find or buy some for our group upon our outward one this year. Towelk cost is FJ$2 per day, and a $10 per towek security deposit.
But overall, apart from this ongoing gripe, it is a good option, and I think for the price range they deserve 4 gongs.
- and Yes, I'll be staying there again next year. After all, it is my home in Nadi.

Room Tip: ask for the "2nd corridor rooms - away from the pool area" These have room numbers from ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night in a double bed room after arriving at Nadi International in the evening. Tanoa has a shuttle service from the airport which made it very easy for us to get there and our driver was polite, helpful, very friendly and fun. Hotel staff were polite and the rooms, while basic, were fine and clean. Compared with the location and cost of other choices this suited our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Bula,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. It is so rewarding that you enjoyed your stay with us. All customer feed back is very important to us and all, good and bad are taken seriously. Your positive comments will be shared with the staff concerned. Please do visit us again when you are passing by our way, we will still provide you with the same Fijian Hospitality and if you know of any one coming ourway, please feel free to introduce them to us.

Kind Regards,

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Food at restaurant was expensive yet average. The room was run down and the blanket on the bed smelly. Maybe l had the worst room in the place??. The staff though were lovely and accomodating and bar area had a nice atmosphere with live music at night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Bula,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. All feedback either good or bad is very important to us so that we can improve on our services and facilities. I do apologize for the defects in our service. At the moment Tanoa Skylodge is undergoing major renovation including the rooms to other facilities. Our dishes in the restaurant start from as low as $10.00.
It is pleasing to see that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff. All the above comments will be shared with the staff concerned and please do visit us again in future when you are travelling our way to see what changes we have made and definitely would be happy to look after you.

Kind Regards,

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanoa Skylodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Skylodge Hotel

Address: Namaka Queens Highway,Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Nomads Skylodge Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Skylodge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tanoa Skylodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Skylodge Hotel
Tanoa Skylodge Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.