We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Shocker” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sentai Seafood Restaurant

Sentai Seafood Restaurant
Main St, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
+679 670 0928
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 71 Restaurants in Nadi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Shocker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Lunch for 4. Should have followed my instincts on this one.
Seedy upstairs chinese. Dirty tablecloths and dreadful food.
Half an hour though our meal they told us they couldn't do a pork dish (which was on the menu)...no explanation.
We had 2 entrees and 3 mains along with fried rice.
Rice was bland and tasteless. Garlic prawns (at $24) was the worst Chinese dish I have eaten in over 30 years. Tiny prawns split down the centre with shells on, and heads intact, literally no meat inside and must have had a kilo of garlic in the sauce it was absolutely dreadful.
Other meals were not good at all...we left most of our meals.
Overcharged as well...do yourself a favour and try elsewhere

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Basic clean and very tasty Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

If you after great tasting , Chinese and basic setting where locals eat. Then try this one :-)

We tried all the entrees , crab ginger , salt and pepper prawns and many other dishes.

It's not fine dining and I guess you will enjoy eating it there as take out always tastes not that good.

Prices are awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cleanest Chinese Restaurant in Fiji”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Serving of food were huge. We had several dishes with reasonable charges. This restaurant has gone through a huge renovation. Food on the other hand is average! The old Sentai was known for taste but don't look into their kitchen.
I hope that they will improve on taste.
Be warned that Red Pork is served like a stew and pinkish in colour. If they call it something else rather thn Red Pork then it wouldn't be so bad.

I would go back.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the worst asian cuisine ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My family ordered takeout to eat in our villa, we ordered a variety of dishes incliding prawns the size of my little finger , i hate to say this but we ended up throwing the food out it was close to inedible a very embarrassing moment for our guests, eat down the road at heng sen across the bridge into Nadi town upstairs

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So good we ate there 3 nights in-a-row!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Downtown Nadi doesn't offer too many dining options at night... many shut around 8pm, while other like the falafel place are only open for lunch. So, wandered and found Bohai it's up a flight a of stairs, and then into what you probably expect to see in a chinese restaurant anywhere in the world.

The service was great (though a little slower on Sunday night when it was packed with locals) and the food was really yummy - especially the various sizzling platter "mongolian" dishes. And if they forget to give you it... make sure to ask for the soy sauce with the chillies in it... yummy!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sentai Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Nadi, Viti Levu
 

Been to Sentai Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentai Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.