We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers Beach has it all!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travellers Beach Resort to your Saves list
Travellers Beach Resort
19 Newtown Beach, Wailoaloa Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Travellers Beach has it all!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I recently spent a week here with my partner and ad the Fiji Experience of a lifetime. The atmosphere is contagiously fun and vibrant, with everything you could dream for, from the fantastic restaurant and bar, live music and kava, fire shows etc etc etc, all located on a pristine sandy beach, There is even an awesome in-house Tattooist if you want to take a piece of Fiji home with you.

My partner and I were mainly here for the surfing, and we got what we were looking for. From the day trips to Sigatoka and Natadola with "Do", exploring some of Fijis best beach breaks To cruising out on the boat with Inia to experience the legendary waves around Tavarua, "Cloudbreak","Resturants","Tavarua rights","Wiles Passage" to name a few. Its safe to say that I was surfed out and loving it.

When not exploring the waves Travellers hooked us up with James and Roman whom took us around some nice spots on the Island, from the Rock Pools to cool down in on a hot day to a awesome trip up the mountain and to some local villages, which I highly recommend.

What else can I say, we had a great time and filled everyday with so many activities that I almost needed a holiday after the holiday :P

Room Tip: I shared a double room with ensuite which was very nice. Was very large, even with all our surfboard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
17
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and two friends stayed here for one night as we were flying home the next day and had spent the majority of our stay in Suva. This place was perfect for us, it's no Hilton Hotel but we didn't mind because it was so cheap! We taxi'd to the airport from here, organised by the reception, and that cost us less than $20. The hotel is right on the beach front with bar and restaurant, pool, volleyball net, hammocks, free tea and coffee, Kava ceremonies and entertainment at night, and great local people! The room wasn't fancy but was clean, with a lovely high-pressure shower and big mirror in the bathroom. The only downside to this hotel was that we felt a little uncomfortable in our togs in front of the locals - in their culture that much skin exposure is not appropriate, so we felt we were stared at. We snuck down to a local, more pricey hotel for a pizza dinner, then watched the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen in my life! I would recommend this hotel for a short staty when you need to be close to the airport, or if you are doing a lot of touristy things in the nearby town of Nadi

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Bc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at a different resort but went to the Bamboo four or five times for the ambience, drinks, and partying, which were all just great. Our home travel agent told us to be sure to see Sam the manager for help arranging off-the-beaten-track sightseeing and he came through for us with some great choices. He also arranged a birthday party for my wife on the beach with the whole male staff doing some great fire-torch dances. Good music playlists on the PA system, too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I visited in April 2014 for the second time. I absolutely love this place because there is always something to do. The staff are friendly and professional, and they engage the customers and make sure they are having a great time. The prices are cheap and service is excellent, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are the best option, however, the dorm is also great price and across from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Travellers beach is a lovely little beach resort on a budget. The pool and the bar are the best for relaxing right on the beach. The cafe restaurant is cheap and delicious. Try ika vaka lolo. It is the village recipe mmm. Evenings are fun with the local kava and lots of local musicians singing the island songs. But the best thing is especially the wonderful caring happy staff! They make travellers beach unforgettable. Highly recommend for budget travellers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It was our first night in Fiji and after a long flight we were looking forward to our own room to relax in. After we had checked in we were taken to a room where already someone else was staying in so we had to relocate and were taken to a terrible building (surrounded by mud and old furniture) across the road! Once we got there I was really speechless about the condition of that room, everything was filthy, especially the bathroom where we found used toilet paper on the floor, used towels and soaps plus a sink full of hair!! We could hardly sleep that night since the toilet was flushing all the time and we were woken up in the morning because of another noise. A RAT was scratching at the bathroom door, trying to get into the bedroom!!!! It had bitten the toilet paper, which was lying around, into 1000 pieces and there were also some wooden pieces on the floor!! I have never experienced something that disgusting! When we told the management about our awful night and morning, they paid for our breakfast and seemed to be sorry. Nevertheless, I cannot understand at all how you can run a business like that! Stay away from that place if you like any kind of comfort!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Bula Vinaka,

we wish to offer our humble apologies. After a full investigation of your review, we have determined that a rare and unfortunate series of events has resulted in your less-than-wonderful stay. We now understand that when our front desk trainee staff member was faced with an unusual situation, he made a very bad decision to pop you into a room that we do not use for our Travellers Beach guests. This room was also not prepared and house-kept, and for this we are sincerely sorry. Had we been aware of this terrible error of judgement, and had these issues been brought to our management's attention at the time, we would have swiftly sorted out the problem and popped you into the right room. Our Management have now reassigned this trainee and will ensure that this situation can not happen ever again.

Our staff is a young and lively team of locals with a warm and vibrant island-style hospitality. Although we are not perfect, we always try to care for our guests in the best way possible. We highly recommend our Resort for travellers who are seeking a budget room and a simple, fun, friendly and atmospheric experience.

Cheers and thanks. Apologies again and wish you happy travels,

The Travellers Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our stay here was alright - booked in for two nights and initially loved it. the guys who worked there were rolling around on skateboards or playing guitar and it seemed very "islandy" with all hammocks outside etc. On closer inspection, our room was pretty gross, with all these strange mis matched rough sheets, doors that *just about* locked - it all felt a bit unsafe. I'm not a naturally nervous person but didn't feel that safe there at night particularly when there was a blackout while we were in our rooms. There were a few dodgy characters knocking around and while we were ok, i did notice a young English girl being robbed by a young Fijian guy she had been drinking with prior to that, when she went to the loo. Think the young girls staying here probably too trusting, it seems a bit of a target spot for local Fijian guys to take advantage of that kind of thing and I'm guessing the bar staff are turning a blind eye. The pool was fairly clean, however the restaurant opened and closed at such funny times - or else ran out of food - that we never actually tried it. we spent most of our time eating in Smugglers Cove - far nicer- and ended up booking in there for the remainder of our holiday. The staff were alright, we made our own fun but I suppose ultimately we were glad to check out. The hotel is right on the beach but like that there are nicer places 30m away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_fiji_islander, Manager at Travellers Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Bula vinaka,

thanks you for the candid review. We appreciate your feedback and will look to improve our guest experience accordingly. Since your stay in early January, we have undertaken simple upgrades for each of our guest rooms and we warmly invite you to return and enjoy the new style. We have also launched new security initiatives and consider the safety and security of our guests with paramount importance.

As you mention, we also highly recommend Smugglers Cove for guests wishing for a proper hotel style experience with all the amenities. For those seeking a fun, friendly, atmospheric Fijian style hospitality, we recommend choosing Travellers Beach..

Vinaka and happy travels,

the team @ Travellers Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Beach Resort

Address: 19 Newtown Beach, Wailoaloa Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Beach Resort is a fun and tropical place for budget backpackers and alternative travellers to stay in Nadi. Located on the best strip of Wailoaloa Beach, we offer a fun-loving beach experience with simple clean rooms, delicious meals, and lot of adventure options to enjoy Fiji!Travellers Beach Resort offers pure friendly island-style hospitality. This is a place with traditional island charm and a tropical fun-loving Fiji way of life. It is the oldest and most established property in Nadi Bay overlooking the majestic Mamanuca Islands with the stunning Sleeping Giant Range as a backdrop. We offer a wide range of accommodation with, Ocean wing rooms, Beach front rooms, Ocean view rooms, Mountain view rooms, Family rooms and backpacker dorms. Our restaurant and bar offers excellent affordable meals, Sunset cocktails, icy cold beers and a full bar selection. The poolside dining area offer picture perfect views and incredible sunsets. We have live music, entertainment, a pool challenges and traditional kava ceremonies nightly. There is a large screen TV in the bar area for latest sports, news and movies. This is a place to soak in the island atmosphere and meet the locals. There is also plenty of hammocks and beach loungers to enjoy the tropical sunshine :)Travellers Beach Resort is the closest beach location to the Nadi International Airport. The 'Newtown Beach' neighbourhood is Fiji's best budget traveller base. There is a cluster of cafes, restaurants and other budget resorts around us. Local buses run by few times a day for trips to town and around. Awesome Adventures, Fiji Experience, The North Fiji Backpacker Project and all the main trip operators offer a free pick up from our office. Taxi rides to the airport or town take 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travellers Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Beach Resort Fiji/Nadi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.