We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal and view but ripped off on the wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind House Restaurant

Tamarind House Restaurant
Avarua Main Road, Avarua COK, Cook Islands
+68226487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
WPG
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good meal and view but ripped off on the wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The meal was very good but it should be because it was quite expensive. We were really not impressed by the wine waiter who brought us cheaper wine by the glass than what we paid for. We know our wines! When he brought the bill at the end of the meal, he charged us for a bottle instead of a glass! Check your bill carefully if you choose to dine here.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    163
    49
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I really liked the setting of the Tamarind and we had a good night. The food was a high standard but not the best we had in Rarotonga. We had the seafood platter which was good but not great - quite a bit of deep fried food and not all fresh (i.e. some imported frozen). My daughter had the vegetable stack which she said was great. We thought the service wasn't that great. It took a while to get water for our table and the waiter wasn't that friendly. Still it was top class and in a lovely colonial looking building. We would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family of five had a lovely night out here in a beautiful setting. We had a table with a wonderful view and the food was very nice. Thanks

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good we came back twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The food here was fantastic, and the service was great too.
The prices are really reasonable compared to other places we ate, and the food is as good as you will get anywhere.

We ate here for dinner and lunch and both menu's were great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“5 Star Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

One of my favourite restaurants on the Islands. Beautiful food, setting and service. Sue Carruthers cookbook is a must to buy!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind House Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Arorangi, Rarotonga
 

Been to Tamarind House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.