We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind House Restaurant

Tamarind House Restaurant
Avarua Main Road, Avarua COK, Cook Islands
+68226487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Less than we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our dinner at Tamarind House was something we had looked forward to. We dressed up and arrived at 7.30pm anticipating a relaxing evening and good food. We were in by 7.30 and out by just after 8.30. Had barely finished our entrees when main courses delivered. Entrees mainly deep fried and large menu a mish mash of confused ethnicities.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    146
    47
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good Food and Nice Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant so much that we ate there two nights in a row. The restaurant is in an old homestead that has been extended with a large veranda out the back overlooking the beach. This makes the restaurant spacious with tables well spread. Big menu, with lots of daily specials. All dishes we had were good, prawn tempura, home made spring rolls, pepper steak and fish and chips and pasta with chilli prawns. Good cocktails as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So Romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have had a number of visits over the past few years and love the setting. It is a must when you visit Rarotonga. On previous visits the food was a bit disappointing but this time it was very good. I think they must have a new chef.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Setting is absolutely gorgeous, very romantic. Food was generally really good. Delicious cocktails. Dined as a couple and then again as a large family group.
One negative was that when we returned as a family with an 11 month old the restaurant had a laminated message on the table saying that children needed to be kept quiet and that they recommend leaving by 7pm (opens at 6). I found this quite rude and unwelcoming. I think any issues should be bought up with the parents IF and when a child is noisy. My niece didn't make a peep but it made her parents feel very unwelcome. Shame that it tarnished our experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dined at night, lovely lighting overlooking the sea. Meal was very nice and atmosphere was great. We loved it so much we went there twice. Would recommend booking early so you get one of the tables situated inside but at the front with a beautiful outlook. Would defintely recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind House Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tamarind House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.