We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice night out with beautiful views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind House Restaurant

Tamarind House Restaurant
Avarua Main Road, Avarua COK, Cook Islands
+68226487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice night out with beautiful views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a nice meal here, but perhaps it had been built up a little too much in our minds from reviews our friends had provided. The food was definitely good, the service was excellent, but it wasn't quite the standout restaurant we had been led to believe. That said - make sure you try it as the views are amazing and it really was a good night. Pricing about the same as the better restaurants not he island - NZ$30-$40 for mains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    144
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we eat almost monthly here with the kids, my fish curry was great as were the cocktails. best of all 'israel' i think is name is always looks after us and is very good at his job. the remaining floor staff are always friendly and smiling which sometimes doesnt happned as much as it should here on the island! keep it up

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved Tamarind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here twice and probably could have eaten here all 6 night's of our stay. I was recommended the Tamarind House and it's Seafood platter by a lovely client who said it was the best place to eat on Raro and have to agree the food was a amazing! The platter was so unique, more like a delicious tasting plate of seafood done 9 ways and we thought it was good value at NZD $69 for the quality and quantity. The atmosphere and location were second to none. Great for a special occasion or 'just because'. Thank you to the staff and chefs for providing excellent, unique and delicious food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place located right on the waterfront in a beautifull garden surrounding.The atmosphere is great like probably the old days of island life.The food is excellent with a twist.The service was faultless and very friendly which is very nice.All in all an awsome place to enjoy culinary treats and relax under the tropics.Thank you will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAURANGA NZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

1 of the better restaurants but expensive. If you want drinks before dinner a great view to the ocean from the outside garden. Menu provides for a reasonable selection but we found some choices were not available

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind House Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tamarind House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.