We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Islander Hotel to your Saves list
The Islander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Beach Road | Waterfront, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellence in convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We didn't stay here BUT its a great place to wait for an inter island transfer! Purchase an airport locker for your suitcases then walk a mere 5 minutes towards the mainroad and you will see Aquarius! You can enjoy a good breakfast/meal with a FANTASTIC view over the reef! We had great service by happy helpful staff and everthing was extremely clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
17
41
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great place to go for lunch with an amazing view.You can really lose yourself whilst sitting,relaxing and sipping on cocktails!Really handy being so close to the airport and good not to have to worry about taxis/transfers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friends stayed here for 1 night, the rooms need attention, worn out appearance, over priced
The food was good, the service was below average prices ok but not big meals.
Right by the airport, not a place to holiday in but good as a near airport if travel is early etc.
I have been here about 4 times before, I think standards have slipped and prices too high.
If this place was elsewhere on the Island you just would not stay there, and compare this with Vaimia food and service it is not in the same class.
Shame because it started off so good, I say train the staff in Customer Service.

Room Tip: Stay only one night but check the room first.....Expensive for poor room and service... .Food much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed a night before and after flights to and from Aitutaki. We have stayed here in the past, when room rates were around the $100 a night but this time we paid $160 and for what is essentially 2 star+ accommodation. The rooms are basic. No air conditioning, curtains barely cover the windows. Toilet not flushing properly. Shower head broken. One cup and one glass in a room with 2 king beds.No Tv. Louvre windows into the hall, which can be noisy. This time the bathroom wasn't clean either. Uncomfortable beds.
It is 2 min walk to the airport and we were offered a ride across the road when it was drizzling, which we appreciated.
On a Positive note, the Cocktails are great and I had the best Tuna I have had on all our trips to the Cooks. Just seared and no more. Nice outlook from the bar/ restaurant out to the lagoon.
It is convenient to the airport but we will consider another option next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had eight hours to kill in Raro waiting for my flight back to New Zealand. I was hot and check in didn't open til 11.30pm.
I walked across the road to the Aquarius where a lovely lady called Dawn welcomed me. Nothing was a problem. I could leave my luggage there, use the pool, have a drink at the bar and eat at the restaurant. Nobody minded that I would be there for 8 hours. Also, the prices were very reasonable and the food was good quality. This place was fantastic. Thanks heaps Dawn for making such a tedious wait so enjoyable.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the resort, I just ate at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having read through the reviews on Tripadvisor we had a clear idea of what to expect for this hotel. It provided a convenient place to rest for the night before heading across to Aitutaki. Our room’s ceiling fan wasn’t working and the person at the front desk wasn’t very helpful with this, but the desk fan that was used in place of the ceiling fan was actually more useful at keeping us decently cool through the night. We had breakfast here the next morning which was tasty and good value. The restaurant has nice views in front of the pool and out further to the reef. On our way back from Aitutaki we had lunch at the restaurant which was also a pleasant experience. Overall we’d recommend the Aquarius for a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Not the greatest place for a holiday since the location is far from ideal BUT very convenient if you need to stay near the airport because of a late arrival and early departure like we did.
I would stay here again in these circumstances.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: Beach Road | Waterfront, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Islander Hotel is a value for money 3 star hotel 2 minutes walk across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, beach, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands, daily happy hour 4-6pm with specially priced drinks and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.