We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemingly low price reflects low quality service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Raro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Club Raro to your Saves list
Club Raro
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Seemingly low price reflects low quality service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Resort was very beautiful and cleaned every morning. Tiles adorning the floor/ground of most of the resort were very slippery and dangerous when wet which was most of the day.
Air conditioning in the Lagoon rooms were very effective but also very loud, meaning you had to balance these to create the best sleep you could. Some of the signage (in particular under the inside bar, reading "palms bar") very low quality, looked cheap and tacky, as if made by a local school, which is not cute in a professional drinking establishment.
Prices of drinks and meals were totally unreasonable, except the lunch pizzas which, although delicious were minimal in variety. Alarm clock did not work in our room and was not repaired or replaced, although we were assured it would be. The first room we were put into the air-con didn't work. This was a known fact but we were made to bear the 25degree/celsius heat anyway, as the night manager seemed lost or too lazy to change us over immediately. We both awoke to terrible headaches.
A lot of the staff seemed new and in-training, which I have patience for, however they all seemed un-motivated and rude which was off-putting, and their clear incompetence in the smallest of basic tasks wore thin very quickly.
Swimming pool bar was quite nice apart from the birds that would feed on the cocktail fruit when the bar-person wasn't paying attention.
Swimming pool chlorine level was quite extreme, those with sensitive skin types would rash easily as I did, my partner handled it better, save her eyes.
The Television had only two channels which both had weak or even no signal at times.
All in all a quite disappointing experience,and as this was our honeymoon we didn't feel celebrated or pampered in any sense.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    109
    59
    34
    20
See reviews for
40
126
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I had low expectations after reading some of the reviews on here but we really enjoyed our stay at Club Raro! We had a poolside room but were surprised to find out that it didn't have a microwave or any cooking facilities as it was an upgrade on the kitchenette rooms. Luckily we went with friends who had a standard room that so we got the best of both worlds, the pool side and the kitchen. The pool was amazing, and Dawn the bartender was lovely. The beach is coral but it doesn't matter if you rent a car or scooter to get to the snorkelling beaches. Town isn't that close either, we did walk there before we rented our car but it was a bit far to be a convenient walk.

It was raining heavily when we arrived and the tiles around the pool are VERY slippery when wet. I would be concerned with young children unless they are very closely supervised.

Even though it was the wet season we got sun pretty much every day, the pool wasn't too loud although I realise it was the quiet season. I guess if you want to get sleep during the busy season don't get a poolside room. We had a few nice evenings sitting at the tables overlooking the ocean having a drink and watching the stars

I would definately stay there again and would recommend Club Raro - it's value for money!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This was our first trip any of the Pacific Islands, and as a family of 4 (with 2 teenage girls), we really liked the upgrade (they had no standard rooms left for my hubby and I), both of our rooms were clean and cleaned everyday. The staff were very friendly (esp Dawn), the food was excellent, and I think we got what we paid for. The whole experience was fantastic...and we were warned about the coral beach by the travel agent so we weren't surprised by this and found it very beautiful..the gardens were also well kept. We must have gone out of season coz we had no noise worries either. I loved our stay and would go back. It was very hot though:)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My brother went to this Hotel years ago and I ended up going there this year. Via Hotels.com we got our room for $95 NZD a night. 1/10th of the price of some rooms on the Muri lagoon side of the island.

The most fun we had was using the scooter to go around the island, with Club raro so close to town it wasn't a bad thing it was further away from the main lagoon.

There were some ants around, the tv was small and only had the four standard channels. TCM, Cartoon Network, Australia Broadcasting Channel and the main Raro channel. Double bed was easy to disturb my partner from even the slightest movements..

I had a great stay there, half the staff are talkative and we enjoyed talking to one of the receptionists especially.

Would return definitely, cheap, has a pool, lends out gear/board games/lagoon shoes and even let us have some plates etc for our night in meals etc

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

As two ladies travelling to Raro for a holiday (twice now) we look forward to Club Raro as we find the staff very helpful, the facilities clean and comfortable, and generally not many children about which is rather nice. Although we have always had a rental vehicle, the proximity to Avarua makes for a comfortable walk and good exercise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I think that title said it all. It was only NZ$120 per night but after 3 nights of no sleep as they dont stop people partying around pool all night, we got internet special to Edgewater for less!!($112pn). That was luxury compared to this place.
Please dont take a young family here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Hi There,
Thank you for your comment. Our goal is alway to maintain satisfaction to every guest and it seem we have not met this during your visit. Our linen throughout the hotel is fairly new, yet if your room has no been serviced, this will caused the sheets to be this way. If you have a DO NOT DISTURB SIGN outside your room, our maids will not change your sheets till you allow them too by turning the sign out to MAKE UP ROOM. Our maintenance manager has regular checks through the Air Cons to ensure all our products offered are to the expected standards. Because we are in the Tropics, the sea spray decays the shell of the Air Cons, which is out of our control. All our Air Con have been replaced in the last 2 years.
Our hotel is on the coral side of the island which we advertise always, we are closer to the reef which makes it hard to snorkel, yet the island is only 40 minutes around and the great thing about it, you can experience all the beaches around the whole island. Muri Beach is just 5 minutes away with awesome snorkelling.
We cater for all ages and at sometimes we do have the odd guests having too much fun but we always try our best maintain the courtesy by reminding them about the guest around them. The Poolside area is always busy as it is the attraction of our resort, my suggestion is to try out the Lagoonfront Rooms on the Awesome Seaside. They are quiet and suitable for guest wanting to be away from the buzzing side of the hotel. my apologies for the inconvience caused to your stay. Should you return, you will not regret staying in out premium rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Likes:
*Dawn the lady @ the Palms restaurant, such a character - its like talking to family, she cracks the odd joke and always manages to make you laugh.
*Not far from town
*nice garden areas around the pool - once you step outside your room you realise that youre definetly on holiday
*poolside bar and the cocktails, yum!
*the laundromat, i love a dryer that actually drys clothes as opposed to just warming them up
*the entrance

Dislikes:
*dirty sheets
*food @ the Palms restaurant
*the cups, tea/coffee, glassware that had ants (i think they were ants...) crawling all over them
*price of net usage, $7 for 30 mins owch
*the 1 girl @ reception when we left questioning why we stayed there, not a good ambassador to your company/workplace
*when we arrived at the airport you were hard to spot unlike Edgewater ppl who wore loud shirts and had big signs, we ended up catching a cab to the resort and you still billed us for the transfer. Im glad i rechecked the invoice before paying the entire bill.

Despite the dislikes we didnt focus so much on them, Club Raro is 'the' place to stay if youre looking for something basic. The staff are friendly and approachable & its close to the Fishermans Club (a 5 min walk up the road) who serves the most tastiest fish & chips! Club Raro thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME.Offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere, Club Raro Resort is great value for money for all travellers. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails surrounded by flourishing tropical gardens. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again.ROOMS. Club Raro is an intimate small vintage Resort offering 71 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms nestled between winding mosaic pathways, Poolside Rooms bordering the popular pool area, Self-Contained Rooms or Studio Apartments for those that prefer to cater for themselves, the premium Lagoon front Rooms which are more suitable for couples, with a larger bathroom, King beds and amazing views of the ocean and the 4 Bedroom Villa with 2 Ensuites and a Large Common Area. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence with a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • Satellite T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES Enjoy a cool dip and a refreshing cocktail in the freshwater pool with swim-up Pool Bar, or laze on one of the sun decks overlooking the lagoon with the hypnotic sound of the waves on the reef. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort!The Palms Restaurant and Bar offers an a-la-carte menu for breakfast,lunch and dinner with a fantastic fusion of fresh local ingredients with international flavours and warm friendly service. Take advantage of our daily blackboard specials.Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment WEDDINGS.Club Raro Resort can make your dream wedding come true... There are 2 packages to take advantage of. WHITE LILY PACKAGE - This is our simple package which includes, the celebrant, registration of marriage and a ceremony on the decks of Club Raro Resorts Lagoon front. There is the KOROMIRI WEDDING PACKAGE which is on an island in Muri Beach on a beautiful white sandy beach with a archway and 15 people. Extra people will be at a cost. For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Raro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.