We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Friendliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Raro

Save Saved
You added Club Raro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Raro
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Avarua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxation and Friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We spent 5 days at this resort in May 2013. The rooms were basic but comfortable but what stood out for us the most was the excellent service we received.
One of the staff members there, "Tutor??" made our stay an amazingly wonderful experience. He went out of his way to learn our names and made our stay personal. The meals were great value for money and we recommend the BBQ Chicken Pizza. The pool was awesome and snorkelling out the front of the resort was cool. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing and great value for money time.
A++

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are larger and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    54
    30
    19
See reviews for
31
109
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

After reading the trip advisor comments I was very sceptical about this hotel which we had booked through a friend so that we were all staying at the same place - thanks to all the pessimists I was pleasantly surprised!! We booked a lagoon front room while the rest of our group booked standard rooms and received complimentary upgrade to the pool view room. The pool view rooms are actually slightly bigger in space - but the bathrooms are half the size and the tv/air con has been updated through the lagoon front rooms. Staff were fabulous, yes island time applies but they were all very helpful and especially lovely to our 3yo who can be very demanding!! Biggest tip for travellers is to book your scooter through the hotel - they are linked in with Polynesian scooter hire so you can pick up and drop off at the hotel rather than dropping in town and having to walk back. Overall, a fab trip made better by a great hotel in a perfect spot, would definitely return!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went in September and it was fine, the pool is nice with the swim up bar but hopefully you don't have to spend to much time in your room like we did. The rooms are basic but exactly what you pay for and do the trick! One thing is that you can't swim at the beach Infront of the resort...
Food there was good value for money and breakfast every morning was great!
Overall good place but what you get shows in the prices

Room Tip: Being ear plugs the rooster and chickens will wake you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My partner & I found an internet deal so we got a good price of AUD $705 for 6 nights in Lagoon Front room. Which in cook islands was great value. For that price we are giving it 4 stars. View from Lagoon Front room and tables & chairs out the front was awesome . We hired a scooter and enjoyed being pretty close to town. Only downside is it can be rough water at the front of the resort,and is rocky, but with a scooter you can enjoy going to Muri and other great spots to swim and snorkel. Not sure about the standard rooms which look at the pool, so can't really comment on them. Staff were helpful and cleaners lovely. We hired the scooter from Club Raro which was really convenient. As we looked around the island at the other places we considered to stay we were really happy with our decision. Furniture and decor a little bit tired but still clean and when you see how expensive the furniture over there is to buy its seems fair enough to use it as long as possible.
Thanks Club Raro for a great trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days, the staff from front of house through to cleaners and maintenance workers are fabulous, friendly and nothing was ever too much for them. I came with very very low expectations after reading the reviews on this site and amazingly it was much better then I expected and would recommend to others however make sure you book one of the refurbished rooms otherwise your fridge, and airconditioner will keep you awake for your entire stay as they sound like a jet engine in your bedroom, not even ear plugs will help with this one! The breakfast is great, but be warned to get in early otherwise you'll end up with water and toast, and the view whilst eating breaky aint to bad either overlooking the water. If your looking for a holiday on a budget and aren't too fussy with your room surroundings this is worth looking into

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We didn't have high expectations, as we had booked a particularly inexpensive flight and hotel deal for 6 nights, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our standard, self catering room had a spacious bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom. The air conditioning worked (always a bonus!) and while the furniture was a bit old the linens and curtains were bright and clean. Breakfast was included each morning - a range of cereals, delicious fresh fruit and toast and egg/sausage/hash browns options. Its right by the sea, close to the reef, so not ideal for swimming but perfect for a quick dip. The view each morning was lovely and the staff were pleasant. We made use of the table tennis, sky TV and board games too.
We used the hourly round-the-island bus each day, only $2.50 on a 10-trip card - the driver was funny and friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late January.
While 'you get what you pay for' is valid, what we EXPECT (no matter how much/little is paid) is some service and clean facilities.
Other reviews have mentioned the attention to the gardens (which was good) but more effort needs to be put into the other facilities and the service aspects.
I agree with the recent reviewer; I never once saw the reception guy (Kieran) smile. He was surly and made a point of pretending not to hear what you had asked him.
The other staff were reasonably pleasant but did not handle customer service particularly efficiently. Sometimes you would ask a question then they would turn away without acknowledging, then eventually come back with a response. Odd.
The poolside room sounded like a great idea until it came to night time. While we were there the most annoying bunch of people with their loud, screaming kids used the pool area like a lounge until 1am most mornings. Complaints to reception went unheeded with the only actual response being "For God's sake man, everyone's on holiday!".
We loved Rarotonga and will return, but NEVER to Club Raro.
Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME.Offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere, Club Raro Resort is great value for money for all travellers. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails surrounded by flourishing tropical gardens. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again.ROOMS. Club Raro is an intimate small vintage Resort offering 71 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms nestled between winding mosaic pathways, Poolside Rooms bordering the popular pool area, Self-Contained Rooms or Studio Apartments for those that prefer to cater for themselves, the premium Lagoon front Rooms which are more suitable for couples, with a larger bathroom, King beds and amazing views of the ocean and the 4 Bedroom Villa with 2 Ensuites and a Large Common Area. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence with a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • Satellite T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES Enjoy a cool dip and a refreshing cocktail in the freshwater pool with swim-up Pool Bar, or laze on one of the sun decks overlooking the lagoon with the hypnotic sound of the waves on the reef. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort!The Palms Restaurant and Bar offers an a-la-carte menu for breakfast,lunch and dinner with a fantastic fusion of fresh local ingredients with international flavours and warm friendly service. Take advantage of our daily blackboard specials.Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment WEDDINGS.Club Raro Resort can make your dream wedding come true... There are 2 packages to take advantage of. WHITE LILY PACKAGE - This is our simple package which includes, the celebrant, registration of marriage and a ceremony on the decks of Club Raro Resorts Lagoon front. There is the KOROMIRI WEDDING PACKAGE which is on an island in Muri Beach on a beautiful white sandy beach with a archway and 15 people. Extra people will be at a cost. For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Raro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.