We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value at Club Raro” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Raro

Save Saved
You added Club Raro to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Raro
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Avarua
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value at Club Raro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We didn't have high expectations, as we had booked a particularly inexpensive flight and hotel deal for 6 nights, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our standard, self catering room had a spacious bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom. The air conditioning worked (always a bonus!) and while the furniture was a bit old the linens and curtains were bright and clean. Breakfast was included each morning - a range of cereals, delicious fresh fruit and toast and egg/sausage/hash browns options. Its right by the sea, close to the reef, so not ideal for swimming but perfect for a quick dip. The view each morning was lovely and the staff were pleasant. We made use of the table tennis, sky TV and board games too.
We used the hourly round-the-island bus each day, only $2.50 on a 10-trip card - the driver was funny and friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    54
    30
    19
See reviews for
31
109
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late January.
While 'you get what you pay for' is valid, what we EXPECT (no matter how much/little is paid) is some service and clean facilities.
Other reviews have mentioned the attention to the gardens (which was good) but more effort needs to be put into the other facilities and the service aspects.
I agree with the recent reviewer; I never once saw the reception guy (Kieran) smile. He was surly and made a point of pretending not to hear what you had asked him.
The other staff were reasonably pleasant but did not handle customer service particularly efficiently. Sometimes you would ask a question then they would turn away without acknowledging, then eventually come back with a response. Odd.
The poolside room sounded like a great idea until it came to night time. While we were there the most annoying bunch of people with their loud, screaming kids used the pool area like a lounge until 1am most mornings. Complaints to reception went unheeded with the only actual response being "For God's sake man, everyone's on holiday!".
We loved Rarotonga and will return, but NEVER to Club Raro.
Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumarunui
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, this place is in desperate need of a refurbishment. However as a place to put our head it was perfect. Staff great and very helpful and caring. Pool with a bar in it great and well used by us. The dinning area outside with waterfront views awesome. No you can't swim at the beach but Muri not far away. Very close to Avarua which is handy and picked up for any activities on buses. Yes servicing of the rooms needs dramatic improvement, with better cleaning and restocking done. I would definitely stay here again, and as stated here earlier an upgrade would make it a full deal place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. Just the rule of thumb anything in Fiji and Cook islands less than 200.00 a night is not pleasant!! The exterior is kept clean and staff are 24/7 looking after the appearance of restaurant, beach side, garden, .... BUT the room was totally beaten up. The mattress was totally worn out, super old sheets.... good thing I always take sheets and towels with me. Honestly the last thing you will worry about is how fast is the wifi! Amazing beautiful coral beach , beautiful beach side bar and restaurant, staff are always taking care of the garden, cutting the ripe coconuts,... the overhead cost of the resort is so high that I don;t think there is anything left in the budget to spend on upgrading the rooms. We stayed in garden rooms and some one told us the beach side rooms are much better.

Room Tip: Apparently beach side rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Dirty, run down, poor service, Loud
we couldn't wait to get out of this place.....(whilst on our HONEYMOON)
I would overlook this as an option if travelling to Rarotonga
Only thing Positive I must say is that the grounds were well kept.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

"Island Time " is not an excuse for shocking service. Breakfast had always run out, Housekeeping not making up your room. Waiting forty minutes for a cocktail and one and a half hours for our meal. There was always an excuse and really they just didn't care at all. Rarotonga a great destination but avoid Club Raro. There are plenty of other nice places to stay.

Room Tip: Water front rooms are actually modern and clean but you still get the same serviceor should I say no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked the hotel via hotel.com and paid much more than if you book it directly with the hotel. When you book it is important to remember that hotels on the island seems to be over-priced, so if you are looking for a relatively cheaper option it is not a bad one. On the down side the rooms are very basic (ants get there very easily), some of the staff have no concept of consumer service (I had to demand a few times that the room would be actually cleaned). The food (except breakfast) is very bad, so do not eat there.The pool is very small.
On the positive side- most of the staff is very friendly and helpful, the location is good especially if you rent a car, but even on the once an hour bus it is easy to get to town and to the Muri lagoon (one of the nicest places on the island). It is nice watching the ocean with a good drink near the pool.

Room Tip: Without kids the lagoon rooms are nicer but smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME.Offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere, Club Raro Resort is great value for money for all travellers. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails surrounded by flourishing tropical gardens. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again.ROOMS. Club Raro is an intimate small vintage Resort offering 71 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms nestled between winding mosaic pathways, Poolside Rooms bordering the popular pool area, Self-Contained Rooms or Studio Apartments for those that prefer to cater for themselves, the premium Lagoon front Rooms which are more suitable for couples, with a larger bathroom, King beds and amazing views of the ocean and the 4 Bedroom Villa with 2 Ensuites and a Large Common Area. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence with a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • Satellite T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES Enjoy a cool dip and a refreshing cocktail in the freshwater pool with swim-up Pool Bar, or laze on one of the sun decks overlooking the lagoon with the hypnotic sound of the waves on the reef. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort!The Palms Restaurant and Bar offers an a-la-carte menu for breakfast,lunch and dinner with a fantastic fusion of fresh local ingredients with international flavours and warm friendly service. Take advantage of our daily blackboard specials.Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment WEDDINGS.Club Raro Resort can make your dream wedding come true... There are 2 packages to take advantage of. WHITE LILY PACKAGE - This is our simple package which includes, the celebrant, registration of marriage and a ceremony on the decks of Club Raro Resorts Lagoon front. There is the KOROMIRI WEDDING PACKAGE which is on an island in Muri Beach on a beautiful white sandy beach with a archway and 15 people. Extra people will be at a cost. For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Raro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;