We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, terrible bed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location, terrible bed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in a beachfront apartment in mid April for 6 nights at the start of our 3 week holiday. The location was excellent it terms of the view, sunsets were amazing. Most activities were on the other side of the island so you travel to most things from here but that is easy when hiring a scooter. We hired scooter through the resort, bit of a mistake- upon investigation seems to be the most expensive on the island and scooters are in poor condition- we had 3 separate scooters throughout the stay as they regularly had issues.
The reception is only open from 8:30am- 5:30pm so if you need anything out of those times, which we did, forget it. The washing machine and dryer did not work properly, told the staff but they just kept giving us free tokens to try again eventually had to go to a friends neighboring resort to finish the washing.
The pools were great, room was nice, staff were generally pleasant. The worst part about our stay though was the soft spongy bed. We had a king size bed made of 2 single mattresses and one of the mattresses was clearly older than the other. We told the staff and they said they would flip the mattress for us, which did not happen, we did it ourselves in the end but it didn't help. My husband and i both ended with bad backs after that stay.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms get the greatest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Kia Orana, many thanks for your feedback. Lovely to read you enjoyed the location of our resort and our sunsets.

We hear your comments on our beds and believe this is very subjective as we also get many comments on how comfortable they are.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we appreciate all feedback.

Kia Manuia
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    124
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
237
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset for 5 nights as part of a round the world trip and wished we could have stayed longer. I almost don't want to praise it too highly as we want to keep this place secret but the staff here deserve every praise! We stayed during the last week of March 2013, our first time in the Cooks and it didn't disappoint. The location is stunning, the accommodation is excellent, we had a beach front apartment and it was fantastic hearing the pacific waves crashing on the reef, even when inside, it really is paradise. The beach is beautiful and quiet, we had it to ourselves for a lot of our stay, sunsets to die for, as has been said the restaurant at the resort is fine but there are plenty of nearby or not so nearby places to eat. The islanders are friendly and helpful, we were glad that the local people seemed to be retaining money spent by tourists rather than there being international all-inclusive resorts sucking out cash from the island and sending it abroad.
We met a lady who had been previously to the Sunset and was back this time for a whole month! We didn't want to leave and we cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Where do I start. What an amazing resort. The rooms are spacious and clean and I recommend the beachfront accommodation if you can manage it. The lagoon views from these rooms are just idyllic. We were blessed with great weather for the whole week but there is a great selection of DVDs available at the office if you just feel like chilling out in your room. The staff are very friendly and no request seems to be a problem. The beachfront is pristine with hammocks dotted between coconut trees to be used at your leisure. The resort was full but, incredibly, it seemed really quiet and undercrowded. I suppose this is because there are two swimming pools and the beachfront so there is plenty of room for people to spread out. Cocktails at the Drumbeat Bar were a must and then it was down to the beach to witness the most incredible sunsets! The week went by far too quickly-we just didn't want to go home! Thanks Sunset for an amazing time-we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sunset resort is in a handy location, is set right on a beautiful beach with great snorkeling and the room was very clean and tidy. We stayed in a poolside studio (top floor) and we had minimal noise and the room was nice and had a balcony overlooking the pool area. Cocktail happy hour at the drumbeat bar also very good. There is a bus stop right outside for getting around the island.

The only down side was that the food in the on site restaurant was pretty average compared to some other resorts, It's worth going to much nicer restaurants nearby. But dont let this put you off, the resort itself is great value for money and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were thrilled when we arrived at The Sunset Resort. The setting is idyllic, right on the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and our accommodation was exactly what we hoped for. Although the resort was full it was really quiet and relaxed. The sunsets were magic, the water warm and clear. We spent hours in the hammocks. I would recommend The Sunset Resort for a couple or for a group.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

great relaxing week good accomodation great service from Kimmy collection from airport showed us around apartment when we arrived close to pool close to beach food ok in restaurant but evening meals quite poor spoke to lady in charge to complain but as i had eaten some said it was NZ steak not from Raro not there problem !! sunset great. left mobile well my husband did tried to ring spoke to receptionist on sunday no response so who knows

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Kia Orana, thanks for posting your review. Pleased to read you had a great relaxing week with us and you enjoyed your stay at the Sunset Resort taking in our sunsets which of course we are renowned for.

We take on board your comments about the restaurant and certainly understand your frustration there.

Re your mobile phone we have responded and contacted you personally via email.

Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wonderful small resort on the west coast of Rarotonga - beach is pristine, snorkelling excellent (they offer use of mask, snorkel and reef shoes, no fins), pools are very nice (lap pool where you can have a complimentary scuba lesson and bar pool), staff is very friendly and helpful, food good, entertainment good. Not for families with young children and might be a bit dull for singles - but an excellent place to unwind for a vacation.

Room Tip: Although slightly pricier, the beach front rooms are the best - but the two bedroom poolside (ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.