We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sunset resort is in a handy location, is set right on a beautiful beach with great snorkeling and the room was very clean and tidy. We stayed in a poolside studio (top floor) and we had minimal noise and the room was nice and had a balcony overlooking the pool area. Cocktail happy hour at the drumbeat bar also very good. There is a bus stop right outside for getting around the island.

The only down side was that the food in the on site restaurant was pretty average compared to some other resorts, It's worth going to much nicer restaurants nearby. But dont let this put you off, the resort itself is great value for money and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    124
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
235
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were thrilled when we arrived at The Sunset Resort. The setting is idyllic, right on the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and our accommodation was exactly what we hoped for. Although the resort was full it was really quiet and relaxed. The sunsets were magic, the water warm and clear. We spent hours in the hammocks. I would recommend The Sunset Resort for a couple or for a group.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

great relaxing week good accomodation great service from Kimmy collection from airport showed us around apartment when we arrived close to pool close to beach food ok in restaurant but evening meals quite poor spoke to lady in charge to complain but as i had eaten some said it was NZ steak not from Raro not there problem !! sunset great. left mobile well my husband did tried to ring spoke to receptionist on sunday no response so who knows

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Kia Orana, thanks for posting your review. Pleased to read you had a great relaxing week with us and you enjoyed your stay at the Sunset Resort taking in our sunsets which of course we are renowned for.

We take on board your comments about the restaurant and certainly understand your frustration there.

Re your mobile phone we have responded and contacted you personally via email.

Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wonderful small resort on the west coast of Rarotonga - beach is pristine, snorkelling excellent (they offer use of mask, snorkel and reef shoes, no fins), pools are very nice (lap pool where you can have a complimentary scuba lesson and bar pool), staff is very friendly and helpful, food good, entertainment good. Not for families with young children and might be a bit dull for singles - but an excellent place to unwind for a vacation.

Room Tip: Although slightly pricier, the beach front rooms are the best - but the two bedroom poolside (ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Unparalleled, and great value for money! We even visited the other resorts on the island for drinks, and they didn't really compare.
Quiet, beautiful, and the staff were magnificent. Beachfront suites, palm trees, hammocks and the beautiful lagoon right at your doorstep, I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Did Easter weekend here. Room fantastic, while a bit far from the beach - by about 20 metres the only problem I had was not being able to go out the backdoor and lockit, and the light switches. Light switches at far end of room so a bit of astumble in the dark, as in line with requests and island lifestyle switched lights off when out to save power.
Walk to beach was great going but coming back we found back way so not to have to walk through reception while dripping wet.
Biggest problem and let down was the restaurant. We had appaling treatment from the lady who appeared to be the senior staff memeber running kitchen and dining room. Treated like we were idiots and liars. The only redeeming factors were that what she did to my pizza was so Monty Pythonish that all I can do is laugh about. The rest of our stay there all the local retsuarants got our money for lunch and dinner. If you do stay do not complain about cold food, or you too may get a Monty P show.
Overall a great place, great rooms but all ruined by the experience in the restaurant, would recommend to others but would have to mention experiences.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms or rooms on beach side of reception appear to be best location. Maty also be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a beautiful quiet resort, I stayed here for 4 nights in March while doing a trip across the South Pacific. I had a one bedroom garden suite which was lovely, spacious and clean. The room comes with a kitchenette which contains a hob, fridge, microwave, teas & coffee are provided. A continental breakfast with fruit, cereal and toast is also provided which is more than adequate.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which provides good food for lunch and dinner but there also are a few restaurants close by within walking distance. If you get fed up of eating in restaurants you can buy burger, chips and a beer for $13 at the Roadhouse which is two minutes away from the hotel. It is possible to walk along the beach to resorts close by, I walked to the Manuia resort which took approximately 10 mins to watch the sunset and then walk back via the road before complete darkness fell.
There is easy access to the town centre Avarua, via bus, which stops outside the hotel. Avarua and the airport are only 10 mins away.
The best way to get around the island is by scooter but I didn't take this option.
WiFi is not freely available on the island and you need to pay for it at the resort - $9 for 30mb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia Orana Linda
Thank you for your review . We are really pleased that after a busy trip you found our resort a relaxing place to catch your breath. Safe travels home . Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.