We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Greymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Did Easter weekend here. Room fantastic, while a bit far from the beach - by about 20 metres the only problem I had was not being able to go out the backdoor and lockit, and the light switches. Light switches at far end of room so a bit of astumble in the dark, as in line with requests and island lifestyle switched lights off when out to save power.
Walk to beach was great going but coming back we found back way so not to have to walk through reception while dripping wet.
Biggest problem and let down was the restaurant. We had appaling treatment from the lady who appeared to be the senior staff memeber running kitchen and dining room. Treated like we were idiots and liars. The only redeeming factors were that what she did to my pizza was so Monty Pythonish that all I can do is laugh about. The rest of our stay there all the local retsuarants got our money for lunch and dinner. If you do stay do not complain about cold food, or you too may get a Monty P show.
Overall a great place, great rooms but all ruined by the experience in the restaurant, would recommend to others but would have to mention experiences.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms or rooms on beach side of reception appear to be best location. Maty also be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    124
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
235
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a beautiful quiet resort, I stayed here for 4 nights in March while doing a trip across the South Pacific. I had a one bedroom garden suite which was lovely, spacious and clean. The room comes with a kitchenette which contains a hob, fridge, microwave, teas & coffee are provided. A continental breakfast with fruit, cereal and toast is also provided which is more than adequate.
There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which provides good food for lunch and dinner but there also are a few restaurants close by within walking distance. If you get fed up of eating in restaurants you can buy burger, chips and a beer for $13 at the Roadhouse which is two minutes away from the hotel. It is possible to walk along the beach to resorts close by, I walked to the Manuia resort which took approximately 10 mins to watch the sunset and then walk back via the road before complete darkness fell.
There is easy access to the town centre Avarua, via bus, which stops outside the hotel. Avarua and the airport are only 10 mins away.
The best way to get around the island is by scooter but I didn't take this option.
WiFi is not freely available on the island and you need to pay for it at the resort - $9 for 30mb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia Orana Linda
Thank you for your review . We are really pleased that after a busy trip you found our resort a relaxing place to catch your breath. Safe travels home . Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose Rorotonga as we could get reasonably priced flights from NZ with Virgin entering the market. Really happy with the resort. We went Jan 18th to 27th 2013. At first we were put in a unit for disabled travellers but this was changed as the shower floor gets quite slippery. We were a family with a 19 and 14 year old. Breakfast was included and basic but that suited us. Lunch was very reasonably priced and generous and fresh. The unit had a kitchenette. The air conditioning was quiet. We spent a lot of time by the pool. The beach was a bit rocky. We could get a home-cooked hamburger down the road for $5.00. We hired scooters. The weather was perfect. The pick up from the airport was $15.00 per person which I thought was a bit expensive. WE would probably stay at Muri beach next time. But it was a lovely place and all went very smoothly. For a short break I would prefer this over Denarau in Fiji . We didnt realise that it was for over 12s so it was a bit quiet. they had a good selection of DVDs. Definately a quality location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review . We always appreciate the feedback . Transfer charges are unfortunately the by-product of high petrol costs on a Pacific Island where petrol is imported. Our transfer charges are in line with other resorts but we hope you enjoyed the personal service and cold drink on arrival . The Anchorage does represent great value for money and the quality of the food is always good. If you stay with us again please feel free to help yourself to the reef shoes that we provide for our guests at no charge. The snorkelling directly off our beach provides guest with the chance to experience our excellent local marine life around the coral heads.. lots of fish to see . We hope you got to experience the fantastic Sunsets that are available on this side of the Island. We are glad that you got the opportunity to get out and about and enjoy the different parts of the Island and what each has to offer . The flexibility of transport around the island as well as the friendliness of the local people , fabulous food and culture are some of the many reasons first time visitors to the Island always seem to find a reason to return to Rarotonga. We wish your family a happy and safe year and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A gem!
6 of us stayed for two nights (16-18 Feb) and could not have wished for a better hotel.
The rooms are spacious, clean, and with great amenites. Suited for most markets (super-resort lovers would not enjoy as a small property) with cooktops, a HUGE fridge, and great bathroom storage for the ladies. Sunset has two pools, both of which are in a beautiful setting and well contained, but the beach is the best part. Hammocks, azure water, white sand, and great snorkelling... What more could I ask for?!
The staff are amazing. I had the pleasure of meeting Kimmy, Steph, and Muri. They went above and beyond in sorting out transfers, rooming, and restaurant reservations. Thank you, ladies!
I will most definitely be back and recommend to other travellers. It's best to hire some form of transport, but I would recommend this option to everyone travelling to Rarotonga, as there is so much to see and do around the island. Don't miss the Saturday markets, only a short ride away and sooooo much scrumptious food.
Thank you Sunset!

Room Tip: Book poolside or beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia Orana Rosie

we are so please that you and your friends enjoyed your couple of days with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review . I hope you signed up for our regular Sunset newsletter and we can keep you in touch with all of the lastest news from here untill your return visit .

Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in November and had the most amazing time, the resort is very clean and right on the beach. The beach was lovely and sandy and exactly like the tourist brochures of rarotonga! It felt very private, there were never many people around so always had the beach to your ourselves or maybe a couple of other resort guests. There's two swimming pools which were never very busy either. Breakfast was ok, just toast, cereal and fruit really. We had lunch in the restaurant and it was amazing, massive portion sizes, the staff were a bit slow but that's everywhere on rarotonga. It is a little way out of town so would recommend that you get a scooter or rental car to see the rest of the island and to pick up supplies in town. The room was nice and having aircon in the room was great and kept us cool. Overall this place is just great and amazing and we would definately recommend it and return ourselves in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was my fifth trip to the Cook Islands and second time at this facility. In the last couple of years, they have added a couple of 2 storey buildings and a very large pool. Just perfect! Very friendly and helpful staff. There was never any problems and if we did have concerns, problem solved! We had a studio unit on an upper floor overlooking the pool and restaurant. We had a two burner cook top, fridge, microwave, toaster, dish and glass ware. Everything you would need to do some snacks and even dinner. We had a tropical buffet breakfast each morning which was always fresh.
One evening, we were in the path of a cyclone and the management made sure that all was secure and everyone taken care of in the event of a major event. Fortunately, the cyclone was downgraded to a tropical storm and there was no damage but we felt very secure just knowing that all was being done for our safety.
This property has a beautiful beach area. There were lounge chairs, hammocks, deck chairs for our use. There were numerous fish in the lagoon which is very safe for swimming and snorkeling. The shell collection I returned with is amazing! The bus stop was at the end of the driveway and the Sunset is close to the main town. We only spent two weeks there and could have stayed much longer.
If you are going to the Cooks for the first time, I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia Orana

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our property . We think that the food is excellant also (we may be a little biase ). We are very proud of our staff and the service that they give. We hope to see you back again at the Sunset Resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were bumped to Sunset Resort as our original booking was full. Sunset is the most wonderful place. Beautiful and very helpful staff make this place the treasure that it is, nothing is too much trouble and I was quickly transported into Island time. So heavenly. Huge meals, great beach, awesome lawn and decking to watch the waves crash in as you wind down. Beach accom would be great however the garden rooms are wonderful, so clean and nicely appointed with heaps of space.

Room Tip: Go for the beach room if you can, but the garden room is fabulous too. You can access all the thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia Orana Carolyn
Thank your for your review, comments and recommendations to other travellers. We think our beach fronts offer really good value for an absolute beach front stay at the Sunset Resort. But as you know the poolside garden studios are just a hop skip and a jump away from the beach ... or maybe a thirty second walk . :-) Look foward to having you stay with us again
Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.