We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea-Salt

Sea-Salt
Main Road, Avarua 682, Cook Islands (Formerly Mama's Cafe & Bar)
682 23956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in Avarua
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service, great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We went to Mamas after friends told us of the great food. We were not disappointed. It was a wet cool day by Rarotongan standards so I choose the Lamb shank and mash and gravy with stir friend veges. A big meal arrived and it was delicious. My friend had pork belly with mash and veg and was also suitably impressed. Both cost $15. service was quick and staff were friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Too much cheese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stopped here for a light lunch, but were very disappointed with the meals. I ordered a vegetarian lasagna thinking it would be fairly light, however it was swimming in melted cheese. Also they wanted you to have 2 sides to go with the meal which was way too much. My husband ended up with rice and chips with his meal. This much food might suit some but for us it was just too greasy and heavy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sea-Salt, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. Mama's offers a canteen style product that is all about value for money food.

All our breakfasts are $10 (mixed grill, or eggs benedict, or coconut pancakes w bacon & bananas, or bacon & eggs w toast, and more). Our lunches and dinners are $15 for a main + 2 sides (main options: lamb shank, or crispy pork belly, or grilled chicken, or rukau & pumpkin lasagna with molten mozzarella, grilled fish, grilled steak or ika mata and more). Our fabulous sides include: pawpaw salad, garden salad, coleslaw, potato salad, rice, chips, rukau spinach, stir-fry veges, fluffy mash potatos and more!

If you dont think you can finish one of our big value meals, we also offer other snacks like filled rolls, hearty sandwiches, savoury pies, wraps and more.

Alternatively, there are lots of other cafes around town that offer what you want, but at higher prices. Its all good. We hope you had a fabulous time on Rarotonga.

Ka kite,

Mama Donna Russell
Manager - Mama's Cafe
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Mmmmmm mamas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

What can I say just mmmm yum yum. Easy location to find you can't miss it at end of town. Great little spot few neat shops right beside it. Food was very good and great price. Very busy good sign in my books.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fast delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It was hard to pick what to go for so i went back and tried most things. the two best IMO are is the lamb shanks and pork belly! No fuss food, ready in less than 5 minutes and awesome portion sizes!

The fruit smoothies are great, the only thing it was missing was vodka.... next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Best burgers on Raro - but even for the CI its a little on the expensive side.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea-Salt also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sea-Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea-Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.