We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Sands to your Saves list
Tropical Sands
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Main Ring Road | East side of the island, Avarua, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Tropical Sands is a wonderful place to stay. We found the owners to be delightful and welcoming. The location is very quiet and relaxing with beautiful beaches and cute Unga (hermit crabs). The beach bungalows are spacious and we loved having a kitchen. We would highly recommend to others. The only thing to note that it is quite a walk to town, so renting a car or scooter would be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barwon Heads, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Exactly what we were looking for and so much more was delivered when staying with Rudy and Kanoe at Tropical Sands. If you are looking for a family friendly, budget friendly, authentic island feel accommodation right on the very private beach then look no further. only 4 bungalows on the property, our children were free to roam and explore the landscape gardens and onto the beach as they pleased, and thoroughly enjoyed observing the active hermit crabs every afternoon.Our hosts were more than accommodating, friendly and welcoming, as well as providing knowledgeable advise on anything 'Island". No hesitation in recommending here for a fabulous family holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights after staying a week somewhere else. This place is perfect. I stayed in the ocean facing bungalow. Has a large balcony, BBQ available, coffee, tea, cereal, milk in the kitchen upon arrival. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try and get the ocean facing bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We found tropical sands out of pure luck as were booking last minute through expedia. We stayed for three weeks and had such a fabulous time there. It is conveniently located - although no where is very far on this tiny island. Rudi and Kanoi could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed in our spacious accomodation- kitchen area was perfect, bathroom, great and open plan bedroom living area also ideal. We had a lovely view of the sea from our decking and use of the BBQ. We didn't want to go to a luxurious overpriced hotel, we wanted a little area of our own to base ourselves and that is exactly what we got.

Room Tip: I would be happy in any of their bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

These are lovely apartments by the sea especially if you are looking for value for money and peace and quiet. Situated by the sea - the beach is rocky and the sea deep blue which is quite a nice change from the rest of the Island and great if you want to go crab hunting, look out to sea or walk - near Muri, the location is best for those who aren't bothered about travelling to get to the swimming beaches, cafes and shops.

The apartments are very clean and contain everything you could want. The couple who run them are very hospitable and we loved the decor both in and outside the apartments. There is also a lovely garden where you can sit and watch the waves hit the beach. Overall we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Thank you Rudi and Kanoi for such a wonderful pleasant, spacious bungalows of paradise...
Kanoi, such an amazing woman. Loved every moment staying here with families. Will definitely come back again for sure. So relaxing and comfortable. Amazing Craft shop. Best bungalows in Raro...........................

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to our amazing hosts, Rudy & Kanoe for such friendly & welcoming hospitality and making our stay an amazing experience. The accommodation is extremely comfortable & affordable with bungalows right on the beach, all the inclusions you would need and a very quick trip into town by bus or hire car. We'll definitely be back again :-)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sands

Address: Main Ring Road | East side of the island, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sands Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.