We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supporting Raro Youth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staircase Restaurant and Bar

Staircase Restaurant and Bar
Avarua, Avarua 1111, Cook Islands
+682 22 254
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 restaurants in Avarua
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Staircase Restaurant/Bar has been operating for 15yrs. Thursday Night includes $25 IslandNight which includes food + show, or you can come up and pay ONLY $5 just to watch our Cook Islands Dance Group perform. Friday is our A-La-Carte Menu from $15. Saturday is A-la-Carte from $10. Each night is late closing with great dance music and also great special bar prices, Cocktails from $5. Come upstairs and enjoy our island vibe! IT ONLY HAPPENS UPSTAIRS.
Ohope, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supporting Raro Youth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had dinner and a show here and it was great. Great food and a great show. This place puts the profits back into supporting their children and their culture to tour the WORLD!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    19
    18
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great drummers and dancers at the Island night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went here for our island night and were blown away by the performances, the food was nice, cocktails were OK. This place though is very good value for money, if you want to see some of the best drummers and dancers on the island, taste the local food and not spend a fortune.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a good night here, We just paid for the show which was a good move as the restaurant was a complete shambles. Some people waited two hours for food which never turned up and had to have their money refunded.
The drag show was very entertaining and Cindy from Samoa was outstanding and performed for over two hours without a break. The drinks were very reasonable and we had a great time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great show and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Some local friends took me here for drinks. Great venue and good value for money. They have a variety of shows.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arorangi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the place to see an "Island Night" show -- far less expensive than the resorts, a much more intimate atmosphere and good Island food. If you dan't fancy a meal -- drop in for the show and pay only $6 cover charge -- that helps sponsor the educational travel trips organized by the dance troups.

With good food, reasonably priced drinks and usually more Cook Islanders than tourists -- this is a close to a "locals" bar as you can get.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staircase Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Staircase Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staircase Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.