We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Trouville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Punta Trouville Hotel to your Saves list
Punta Trouville Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Francisco Vidal 726 | Barrio de Pocitos, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay (Formerly Punta Trouville Apart & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$65 (USD)
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Brasil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

There are two Punta Trouville Hotels: one is Punta Trouville Apart and the other is Punta Trouville Suites. I stayed in the Punta Trouville Suites, a block from the rambla (the avenue that goes along the Plata River), very quiet, well-decorated, with LCD TV, heating, a new bathroom and free wi-fi internet. There's also a small kitchen in the room. But if you stay there you have to go to the other hotel for breakfast. The buffet is amazing and it's only half a block away. That wasn't a problem for me.
The staff is very helpful and they gave us tips about places to go at night, and made lunch and cab reservations.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a nice view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    197
    67
    18
    5
See reviews for
119
135
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Located in a safe area of residential apartments on quiet tree lined street one back from the main road (the Rambla) along the beach. Easy access to old town by taxi in about 10 minutes for approx US$6.

Our studio room was clean and comfortable, with a small kitchen bench, fridge and microwave. Although on the 13th floor, the view was only of the backs of other apartment buildings.
The bathroom was small but functional. Breakfast offered a good selection and was well presented. Wi-Fi, which was claimed to be available throughout the hotel, provided only a poor connection that regularly dropped out.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The Punta Trouville Apartments is located in Pocitos, a nice and safe neighbourhood just by the beach (actually the Rio de la Plata), with good restaurants and a shopping mall (if that's your thing) within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable without being luxurious and I second the comments about the breakfast - quite good! The service was competent but nothing to write home about. Montevideo is a charming and affordable place, a bit rough around the edges but that's part of the charm. The city center and the Ciudad Vieja are definitely worth a visit but I much preferred to stay in Pocitos.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a Europen style large B&B located in a residential neighborhood. (Its about 4 miles to the center of downtown.)

The Punta Trouville offers nice, clean, simple rooms with apt type facilities (ours had a TV, aircon, fridge, microwave and kettle). The buffet breakfast was excellent. The staff was very helpful. And we liked the 12th floor sundeck overlooking the bay. See their website.

The surrounding residential neighborhood offers few amenities. There is a corner market and a few restaraunts within 3 blocks. The beach is one block away. Down by the beach you can catch the 116 or 121 buses which go all the way to Ciudad Viejo (17 pesos). These buses cover the main tourist areas.

The main shopping center in MVD is about a 20 min. walk.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We liked our room; it was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very good. We enjoyed being close to the shore while staying in a quiet street.
We didn't like being awaken at 8am by construction workers hammering next door. The noise went on all day long until 3 or 4pm. Hopefully this is not a chronic problem.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires argentina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Check in was a bit disappointing. In some hotels after you give your name, 2 seconds later, your handed the key to your room. Not so here; it took 2 guys at least 10 minutes to complete the check in process. The room they assigned smelled as i several cigar smokers had just left. When I asked for a non smoking room, I got one....eventually.
The room was fine. The hotel was a rather long walk to any where. The breakfast was exceptional!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

For $ 89.00 I know we got one of the best deals for Montevideo. As I write this review I am looking outside my suite at the beautiful ocean. My suite is spacious with a bed, kitchen, gorgeous bathroom and free Wifi. I absolutely love the intimacy and yet the service of a hotel. I am not bombarded with tons of people - there is only a few suites and yet I get turn down service and someone assistance us at the front desk. There is no doubt I will recommend this over and over again as one of the gems of Montevideo. Its close enough to town to experience but far enough from town to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Trouville Hotel

Address: Francisco Vidal 726 | Barrio de Pocitos, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay (Formerly Punta Trouville Apart & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montevideo
#23 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 2001 and comprises a total of 85 comfortable and spacious apartments. It also offers large terraces to make your stay even more comfortable and enjoyable. At your disposal there are air-conditioned lobby and check-out service 24 hours reception, elevator, cafeteria, Wi -Fi / Internet access, laundry service and parking.Location:The hotel is located just minutes from downtown Montevideo, in the exclusive neighborhood of Pocitos. You will find restaurants, public transport (bus), shops just 100 m.To 200 meters is the beach and there are also bars, in addition to 500 m is Villa Biaritz parck. The old town is 5 km away and Punta del Este is 140 km.Room:The bright apartments, specially designed, are equipped with private bathroom with shower / bathtub and hairdryer, direct dial telephone, cable / satellite TV, radio, Internet access, a kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave, bed or double, safe, heating, coffee / tea maker, iron and ironing board, and a comfortable terrace that makes every stay a pleasure.Entertainment:The hotel has a terrace with sun beds and if you like sports, you can workout in the gym. Golf enthusiasts have a field 1 km from the hotel.Meals:Guests may select their breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Punta Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Trouville Apartments Hotel Montevideo
Punta Trouville Apart Montevideo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Trouville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.