We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Ermitage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Benito Blanco 783, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent three nights here in August with my wife and teenaged daughter. There were some good points and some not so good points. I booked a triple - asking for two beds, and was pleased to discover we had been given connecting rooms - each with two tiny twin beds. The beds of course were too small for two people (I hate twin beds) - so the two rooms was a good solution, and at no extra cost. And the cost was reasonable.

The room was clean, although the carpet was threadbare. There was a new large flatscreen tv as well as refrigerator with cold water. Both nice. The internet was free and worked pretty well.
The location was just 100 yards from the beach and we had a nice view from the room. But - it is really a long ways from anything of interest and downtown. It's a 15 minute taxi ride (about $10-12) to the Ciudad Viejo or the Independednce Square area. The neighborhood is really quiet and it is three or four blocks to find a restaurant or coffee shop or bank. The desk clerks spoke decent English and were helpful when needed - but i wouldnt call them attentive. The elevator broke down a few times while we were there.

The part that irked me was breakfast. It was vile and inedible. The coffee was so bad I almost spit it out. How can you mess up coffee? It was in an urn, and tasted like it was made with chemical water and had sat and burned for about a week. The pastries tasted like they were sitting out for weeks, and the eggs on the buffet were green (no kidding). Nasty. I travel 100 plus days a year and i have to say it was the worst hotel breakfast i have ever seen, and i refused to eat there after one try. That might explain why it always seemed empty when i walked by.

If you want a decent price, and are not looking for more than a decent clean room in a decent location (albeit far from downtown), and you can get by on eating breakfast out of the hotel - than this place may be okay. But next time I am Montevideo i will pick a place closer to downtown and one where i can have a decent cup of coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    210
    60
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
179
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a nice hotel in a good location. The rooms are clean and relatively modern. It's located across from the beach, although the beach was pretty windy (don't know if it's always like that or not). There is also a public bus that stops just in front of the hotel that can take you to the old town. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is also nice for just walking around. There are lots of nice buildings to look at and cute little restaurants to discover. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was good and had a fair amount of choices. It's definitely a good place to stay and if I ever go to Montevideo again I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are really windy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUENOS AIRES
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Hermitage undoubtedly meets the objective of meeting the guest the best possible: the rooms are clean, well equipped with 32 "LCD, beautiful view Gomensoso Square and the river.'s New breakfast room location is on the mezzanine , facing the river and nice color. Parking for now is 2 blocks but are contsuyendo one inside the hotel.'s 2 pc's that are available in the lobby with high speed internet. Beds are comfortable, rooms are great and the bathroom is remodeled. Cleanliness is necessary and care staff are very warm and efficient.
Prices are more than acceptable
It always comes back to this "home sweet home" in Montevideo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is an old hotel which recently has had a update but still has an old feeling to it, rooms are clean and good size, internet is free and not too bad for speed. The breakfast is a typical South America breakfast, some fruit , scrambled eggs and ham with bed and coffee. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Location is really the best thing about the hotel as it face the beach and be sure and ask for a front facing room as it has the views. If you like walking the rambler is a great walk in either direction. Parking is free on the street and there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance or short taxi drive.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing room, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Lima, MG
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location, near the beautiful beach of Pocitos, and relatively close to a large shopping center. Much better that the historic center, which, in my opinion, is a place to visit, not to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street offer a good view of the beach, and are not noisy, at least in the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

HOTELS AND NEIGBORHOODS

Montevideo is a relatively safe city . The city is built on a slight hill, that starts where it was the original city or Old City (Ciudad Vieja). The city extends east from Plaza de la Independencia, along an avenue called 18 de Julio.

El Centro (downtown) is in this area and there will be lots of shops and places to see and very interesting places to visit by day. But not at night.

I suggest if you stay in an hotel choose one in another neighbourhood as Pocitos, Punta Carretas . There are many hotels in this area, restaurants, a beautiful seaside rambla, shopping centers, golf club, and beautiful buildings.
.
The Ermitage hotel is a traditional Pocitos hotel , very well located in front of the Pocitos beach , and interesting places nearby to see by day and night.
Gabriel C.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

loved our stay- helpful front desk with tonnes of advice - very good brekky - ask for balcony with beach views gorgeous! buses everywhere you need to go very reasonably priced! we will visit again -thanks EH

Room Tip: ask for a beachside view for a worthwhile treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage Hotel

Address: Juan Benito Blanco 783, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ermitage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage Hotel Montevideo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.