We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep like a baby!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pocitos Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pocitos Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Pocitos Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Benito Blanco 640, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sleep like a baby!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Pacitos was a gem of a hotel. Nothing fancy but a very clean hotel, extremely helpful staff, great underground parking and a bed and room that allowed me to sleep comfortably every night of my stay.

After staying at Pacitos, I felt refreshed, revived and well-rested.

The calming Ramble is within minutes of the hotel. Great location if you don't mind being away from the center of the city.

To the staff o the Pocitos: Keep doing what you are doing!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    152
    68
    11
    6
See reviews for
104
95
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

The Pocitos Plaza Hotel is a nice hotel in a lovely aerea, as others were saying it is not very close to the central area of Montevideo, but it is definately a neighbourhood worth visiting to leave all the stress of the business district behind.
The hotel was built in 2001 so it's quite modern and well kept, they provide internet connection both wireless and on their own PCs at no extra cost, the breakfast is continental but satisfying, and the beautiful Rambla of Pocitos (beach) is only a 2min walk away.
The reception staff were very helpful, so I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Neighbourhood
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

The location is very good. Also good to business travelers. The accommodation, the restaurant and the gym are ok. Satisfactory.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

While we didn't book this hotel, the Cala di Volpe Hotel sent us here when they "didn't have our reservation" and we were out of options. This hotel was shabby and unremarkable.
Our non-smoking room had clearly had residual smoke smell and the beds were substandard. The room and bathroom both needed renovation. I do not recommend this hotel unless you are looking for a budget accomodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Just about everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,Fla
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We are just coming back from our honeymoon through South America, this was the worst Hotel of the trip, I saw the pictures through internet wich looked fine. Well we arrived and the first thing is that it right acrooss the street of a gas station which is not a pretty sight. We let them know it waqs our honeymoon well they did not have any detail for us (Which in all other hotels they had) they took us to our room, this is supposed to be a no smoking hotel, the room smelled and the seats had cigarrete but burns, we called the lobby and they in a very rude manner said they would change us but it would cost us more because it was a larger room, well in few words we didnt want to ruin our stay fighting with these people and they never apologized or called to see about our problem. Definitely one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed it is not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

First, the location is simply superb. You can walk to the beach in two minutes, or stroll around the beautiful parts of Pocitos. There are shops, restaurants, banks, etc. anything you may need. Second, the staff is great and customer oriented. Third, the common areas, the exterior of the building, the lobby, the breakfast room, all are very nice and pleasant. Fourth the breakfast is a pleasure. Fifth, and very importantly, the room was a disappointment. It seems it has not been updated in about 40 years. The carpet was faded, stained and looked awful. The curtains were a dingy yellow and gave a depressing tinge to the light in the room. The mattresses were very old and lumpy with widely separated springs. At some point during our stay, the door on the closet hiding the mini fridge fell off one of its hinges. The bathrooms are tiny, tiny, and you can't move around without touching the shower curtain. I would go back only if I heard they renovated the rooms and installed new mattresses. It's so important to have a nice atmosphere inside the room when you are on vacation. I just don't know how they find the current state of the rooms acceptable for guests considering they claim to be a four star hotel. The owner of the hotel should take a look at these reviews because they have a nice hotel on their hands they are letting slip.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere of common areas and breakfast
  • Disliked — The room was old and dingy with bad mattress
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed in the Pocitos Plaza for 3 nights in Feb07. The staff is nice and helpful, the lobby and breakfast area very nice, the rooms are clean but not luxurious - they are renovated and up to date, - a bit better than Day's Inn quality, if you are from North America. We spent an extra $20 for the executive suite, which seemed to be just a little larger room with a large balcony. The breakfast is decent, basic continental with a bit of fresh fruit and coffee. The neighbourhood is quite safe, very handy to the beaches and Rambla (shore side drive and walking area). Also, some decent pub style restaurants and a bit of shopping within half a block. If you have a reason to be in Pocitos, I would not hesitate to stay here - it is a good quality hotel in a good area - you will not be disappointed. We were visiting friends nearby, and it was very convenient for us, but may be a little far from downtown Montevideo and some of the sights for some (10 minutes by car). Cabs are inexpensive (2 or 3 $US) and easy to find however, and we preferred staying in the quieter suburban/downtown neighbourhood of Pocitos than near the old city. We had a really nice stay in Montevideo, enjoyed ourselves immensely and will stay here again when we return.

  • Liked — Price, value and location
  • Disliked — Needs new linens
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pocitos Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocitos Plaza Hotel

Address: Benito Blanco 640, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#27 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pocitos Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pocitos Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocitos Plaza Montevideo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocitos Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.