We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a couple nights stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ViewPort Hotel Montevideo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ViewPort Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
ViewPort Hotel Montevideo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Uruguay 825, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for a couple nights stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place isn't flashy and doesn't look finished (while we ere there they were doing construction). But the rooms are clean and modern. They are also very flexible with your stay, we had our plane cancelled and they were more then happy to adjust our booking at no extra cost.

A good tip for this place is to head to the roof to get some sun. For some reason no one is ever up there and it provides a niece view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viewport H, Manager at ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments from your recent stay with us.

we are really interested in improve our service, so that your review helps us to do it.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    91
    64
    22
    10
See reviews for
38
98
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, comfortable, good location, good breakfast, easy to find and to walk around, good wi-fi.
Some rooms are a little bit noisy, our tip is to choose the room when you arrive.
Perfect stay in Montevideo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viewport H, Director General at ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped:


Estamos muy agradecidos a Ud. por compartir su experiencia con nosotros.

Para Viewport es muy importante recibir sugerencias de nuestros huéspedes, ya que nos sirve para poder mejorar nuestros servicios.

Esperamos tener el gusto de poder recibirlo nuevamente en nuestras instalaciones.


Saludos cordiales,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No fixed abode
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Viewport Hotel has recently been refurbished and while a cursory glance takes in the gleaming whiteness, the modern décor and new furnishings, look too closely and you’ll see it’s been hurried and the snag list was overlooked.

Paint splashes, ill fitting windows, loose handless, and just a general feeling of spots of bodge didn’t however spoil our stay and our room on the second floor (209) was more than adequate.

It had a high ceiling, a double and single bed with good quality, white bed linen and plenty of pillows, plus a desk, two bedside lamps and cabinets and enough power points around the room. A bonus was that the power sockets have both plug configurations from the three in-line hole set up common to Uruguay and the three pin slanted pins that is favoured in Argentina.

A large wardrobe houses the extra big, laptop friendly safe and also has a fridge underneath and the room boasts a big, flat screen TV with a few English speaking channels, such as Warner, AXN, Sony and HBO.

You also get wi-fi in the room but it is a weak signal and speed varies between 5 – 18 MBps. Saying that, when it works it does work well but it does drop often. If that irritates (and it will over a six night stay) use the two modern computer terminals in the breakfast area.

Breakfast is popular, runs until 10:00 and has plenty to offer the eager diner from cold cuts and cereals to toast and more. We didn’t partake but it looked fine.

Our bathroom was also clean and well set out with sink, bidet, WC and walk in shower. The sink leaked but when we reported it they didn’t seem surprised, saying it was a design fault. It would take at least 24-hours to dry the repair and so we would have a new room. We didn’t mind the slight leak which ran onto the tiled floor and into the central drain point and stayed put.

I’m not convinced it was a design fault, more the lack of care in fitting from the off and suggest other rooms may also suffer the same problem.

Oh, and if you want a room with a view, don’t pick 209- you won’t see anything apart from a distant view of the docking cranes. You’re best off leaving the shutters closed t keep the room cooler.

More details and pictures on our Blog- see profile for address, or just send us a private message.

PS: Tip- DON’T use the big Ta-Ta supermarket on the main High Street. They slipped us a fake UYU 500 bill and would not take it back two hours later despite us showing them the receipt and asking them to review the CCTV footage. Accidental or not, they should have honoured their error and I would not use them on principle. Instead use one of the many smaller “mercados” around the area which are closer and not that much more expensive. They also have a far better deli counter.

Room Tip: See tip on avoiding the Ta-Ta supermarkets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viewport H, Manager at ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest:


Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

It is really important to know about your experience as we still working in detail of our building and you point of view help us to improve. We will continue working hard in order provide the best hospitality.

I do apologize about our issues and we will take actions regarding this.

I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again and if that should arise please do contact us to prior to arrival so we can do our up-most to make your stay more comfortable.


Your sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at US$62 pn. Room 202 comprising queen bed and a single bed. Spacious room with modern spacious bathroom. 3 (short) blocks from Plaza Independencia. Not a lot happening in Montevideo but this was a good base. 10 minutes in taxi to bus station. WIFI worked strongly in room (they have a connection for all 4 floors). Small balcony of the room. Water was hot and breakfast was buffet style and hit the spot. Reception staff speak fluent English. No complaints and a good option depending on your price point. Bus stop out the front and it can be a little noisy from traffic in a front room but plenty of other rooms on the floor away from the road. Also has a lift and separate dining room with 2 computers. Comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viewport H, Encargada de Reservas at ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Hopefully, we have the chance to welcome back soon.

Your sincerely,

Alejandra Volppe
Reservation Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel had been open for less than a month when we visited. The interior was all very new and clean. There is a large rooftop terrace with nice views on parts of the harbour. The breakfast is plentiful. Staff is very helpful and enthusiastic. The organisation of bathroom was slightly impractical and the finishing was not complete. However, the hotel is very reasonably priced, I would even say cheap. Prices might go up with time as this new hotel becomes a more settled player on the market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ViewPort Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViewPort Hotel Montevideo

Address: Av. Uruguay 825, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ViewPort Hotel Montevideo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your ViewPort Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViewPort Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.