We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and great breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lafayette Hotel to your Saves list
Lafayette Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soriano 1170, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Central location and great breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We chose this hotel for its central location, and relatively short taxi ride from the Buquebus terminal. It's just one block from the main shopping area,and, if you feel energetic, just about walking distance from the old town. There are plenty of dining options within a reasonable radius.
At check in, we received a very friendly reception.Our room was fairly small,but practical, with ample hanging and storage space. Unfortunately some of the drawers were stuck and could not be opened, and the bathroom door did not shut properly.The shower cubicle was quite large, and water pressure good.The bed was excellent. The room had a modern flat screen LED TV, and wifi reception was good.Everything was very clean.
There is small ,but sparkling pool, a sauna, and the small gym is quite serviceable.
Breakfast is fabulous,one of the best buffet breakfasts I have had in Argentina/Uruguay :lots of fresh fruit,juices,cereals with nuts and dried fruit etc to personalize, a good selection of cold cuts,different breads,and pastries etc,etc. A word of warning, the breakfast room is quite small, and it can be a bit crowded ,but it was not a major issue for us.
They are renovating floor by floor ( the bar area looks really good), so in future this will be hopefully an even nicer, modern hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your comments about the hotel.
It's good for guests to share their experience.
We are constantly working to improve and their opinions help us to achieve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    214
    122
    26
    13
See reviews for
78
182
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in July with another couple. THe area at noght does not feel safe. The room is stuck in the 70's and needs a totla updating. The room and linenes look unclean. Bathroom is dirty and internet does not work. DON'T STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel was in the downtown area and did not feel very safe after dark. The room was very dated and had a heavy smoked in smell. The twin beds were very small and the bed linen felt and smelled dirty. The bath tub had paint chipped and the toilet paper was "see thru" and ruff. The internet did not work in the rooms or the main lobby. There was a different code for each floor. We would not return to this property and would not reccomend this to anyone coming to this country.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel is like many of the above average places in Montevideo. This city seems very safe and clean. We walked many times at night and always
felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Lafayette, Director General at Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thanks for your time to comment on our hotel.
Montevideo is a nice city and our hotel a great option in terms of location and services, we are waiting here when you want to return.

Best regards

the direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulster county, ny
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Reading all the reviews posted about this place really brings home how we all have different things we are looking for. Yes, as other reviewers say the hotel could use some updating and a little TLC around the edges. But my room was absolutely clean and quite pleasant to pass the time in, in between activities. (All of central Montevideo seems to suffer from some neglect.) Yes, there were some homeless people sleeping in the streets nearby but that is part of inner city life anywhere. I passed some today in many different parts of Buenos Aires. I can't understand complaints about the breakfasts though. I've been traveling for three months in South America and the Lafayette's breakfasts are at the top of my list - fresh fruits, both whole and cut up in fruit salad; whole wheat bread as well as the standard white bread; crackers; rolls; several types of fruit juice; several types of meat; cheese; scrambled eggs; bacon; licuados; hot chocolate; pastries - I'm no doubt leaving something out but all of these things were replenished as they were used up. There was a toaster for those who wanted and they even started at 7 am rather than the 8 or even 9 that I've been encountering most everywhere else. I can see that the breakfast room might be a little tight if the hotel was full and everyone was eating at the same time. The laundry service was overpriced but not 20 meters away was one of many laundry services in the area that were not. The wifi was slow but it worked in the rooms and was free. My bed was very comfortable and the reception staff were very helpful. I prefer small places but all in all, I think the Lafayette does a great job. Oh, I forgot to say, I never felt at all unsafe coming back to the hotel at night. I'd stay there again if I were to return to Montevideo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel is located very centrally and so is a good base for seeing Montevideo on foot. That is a good thing because the rooms are rather dated and not that great to spend a lot of time in. They do the job and the price is reasonable for what you get, but the hotel could do with an upgrade.
If you are only in Montevideo for a night or two then this hotel is fine, but for longer periods maybe somewhere else would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night and booked off hotels.com in a last minute hurry.

The hotel is central but I would not say the area is very good. We were extra cautious coming home at night.

The room itself was from the 70s and while it looked clean on the surface it did not feel very clean. The hotel is dated and probably needs a renovation.

The breakfast was okay but nithing to write home about.

In the end we would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Hotel

Address: Soriano 1170, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Montevideo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafayette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.