We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. That's all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ukelele Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ukelele Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ukelele Hostel
Maldonado 1183, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location. That's all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overall sensation: They are not prepared for the summer, at all!

The hostel is really well located BUT they lack on:
- Information about city attractions;
- Maps and useful tips to travelers;
- Ventilators, air conditioner or ANYTHING to release the summer (35ºC at night)
- TOO FEW toilets and showers for the number of guests. You would need three times more toilets to attend the demand.

On the other hand they have a nice breakfast included in price, the staff is friendly and they have a great swimmig pool at the backyard.

Room Tip: Ask the the one with a ventilator, or bring your own. (people had to buy one during they stay)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
21
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few days ago. We booked a 8 bed dorm, but when we arrived they asked if we would like to stay in the 6 bed dorm for the same price as it was quiet. The hostel is beautiful, has a pool and just an overall amazing building. Staff were great, they even provided us with breakfast at 6am as we had to leave early! This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you visit Montevideo, stay here! The staff were great, in a decent location, it was super clean with very good showers, and in general the hostel had a lot of character. One of the best hostels I'v stayed in anywhere!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at Ukele for a night only but were really surprised what we got for the 15 USD we payed. Not only was the hostel located in a really nice building, the facilities were clean, but they also had the best breakfast in a hostel I had so far. Comparing it to regular prices, a breakfast of this size/quality would have been 2/3 of the price already.

Since it is a town hostel, visited by a lot of young people you should take the possibility into account that it can get noisier at night (we stayed from Sunday till Monday, so it was pretty quiet after 12)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Firstly, Ukulele made a very good impression. Beautiful old building, nice pool.

BUT:

A) The lockers are open on the rear which you cannot see at all. Means they are not safe and a thieve stole more than 300US$ without breaking anything. And we were told (in written!) to put all the valuables in there. At least the hostel owner refunded our stay but, he did not take responsibilities for the unsafe lockers. Our lock was safe so that this robberies could happen is the hostels fault. It happened to other people in the hostel as well.

B) The 12 bed dorm is very noise and it is hard to sleep before 1 or 2 am until everybody went to bed. Guests arriving late we're brought to the dorm with a lot of noise by the staff and they switched on lights, too. I am sleeping with earplugs but it was very hard to find sleep over there... and we stayed for 3 nights with changing guests.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I hated Ukelele which is such a shame as the building is a beautiful old mansion. Unfortunately the staff were really unhelpful and pretty much unfriendly. They didn't have a map or give any helpful advice or take the time to say hello. The location wasn't very nice either and was near the area everyone is warned not to go. I don't usually notice the cleanliness of hostels but I felt Ukelele was a bit grubby and both the living room and dorms smelt bad and the main bathroom ran out of toilet roll. My boyfriend and I were so disappointed with it we checked out after one night and had to pay for the next night as a fee for cancelling at short notice which I suppose is fair enough and I was willing to pay just to leave. This place has won awards but to be honest I have no idea how.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo, Peru
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We considered ourselves very lucky to have chosen this hostel; what a great place. The hostel is in a beautiful old building with a large staircase leading to the upstairs rooms. It had a great vibe; a very nice lounge room with a piano and a welcome fire; very nice, friendly staff, and in a good location.

Breakfast was very good, with cereal, toast, fruit, coffee/tea on offer in a large kitchen.

There was a bit of a wait for the toilet/bathroom at times, but that's part and parcel of staying at hostels.

Our room had twin bunk beds, but no safety rails or ladders (!) to the top bunks. The two top mattresses placed on the floor made a bed for myself and my wife, and the kids slept on the bottom bunks. This made for very little floor space in the room, but we are used to doing this.

The outdoor area with pool should prove to be a great place to relax in summer.

All in all, I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ukelele Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukelele Hostel

Address: Maldonado 1183, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Specialty lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ukelele awaits you in the best location of Montevideo. Our classic style house built in the 20's, is worth itself, with very spacious rooms, large common rooms and a huge swimming pool. (we are the only hostel in Mdeo that has one!!) We are downtown in the Km 0 of the city, next to Barrio Sur (where candombe was born), and in ten minutes you can reach Ciudad Vieja (old town) walking! Only 300 mts separate us from the Rambla (seaside), one of the best places of Montevideo.Ukelele is the perfect place to have a nice stay in Montevideo. We have large common rooms, with all kind of services to make your journey the best you can have, for the less price.You can enjoy a nice bath on our swimming pool, have some cold beers on the bar with people from all over the world, play the piano, guitar or Ukelele!! Or just relax and watch a nice movie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Ukelele Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ukelele Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.