We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ukelele Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ukelele Hostel to your Saves list
Ukelele Hostel
Maldonado 1183, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice little hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A nice little hostel! Not much really going on when I was here but the staff were very helpful. It can get noisy at times but that is like any hostel. I found the hostel clean and nice bathrooms. I stayed in the 12 bed dorm so wasnt expecting much sleep! The hostels location was perfect for me, only 3 blocks from the main street. I recommend this lovely little hostel! For me 3 days here was more than enough. See the old part of the city and Pocitos!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
3
28
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ukelele Hostel is a great place with a very friendly staff. I stayed here for almost a week enjoyed the big kitchen, the pool and sitting outside in the sun. This is of course a hostel, and when it's crowded (during the first weekend I was there) it can be very noisy and the showers can be occupied in the morning around 9.What I most enjoyed about this place, is that it is popular with both older and young travellers. A great mix!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back to avoid streetnoise, The 12-dorm is more silent than the 6-dorm on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had no idea what to expect. I'd been invited to visit a vineyard in rural Uruguay and would be picked up in Montevideo, the national capital. I inquired of my host of a place to stay and was given four options, three hotels and the Ukelele Hostel. I was told that the Ukelele was "more than a hostel" and that was the truth. The place is located on a tree lined street, not that far from the port and a short three blocks from the City's main thoroughfare. For that mattr, come to think of it, it seemed to be close to everything. The hostel is an old mansion that may have seen better days. The rooms are all large and with very high ceilings. Everyone on the staff was genuinely nice, as friendly as they were efficient. Both Pepe and Matias on the front desk could not have provided better concierge service if we were in a five star hotel. There is a lobby with a piano and computer station, an ample kitchen where guests make their own meals and two dining areas, one formal, the other very laid back. Oh and by the way, the breakfast buffet is amazing,considering the almost nominal price for a stay. The friendly mood of the place is notable. Guests hang out, chat and swap stories, It's an aspect of the place that a hotel could rarely match. My favorite spot was the Ukelele's terrace. Very relaxed, backing onto aFranciscan cloister, and the birds seem never to stop singing. It's four or five or six to a room, but that's the "hostel" part of the equation. It was actually kind of fun, and I slept like a log. The next time I cross the River Plate to Montevideo, I know exactly where I am staying. Saludos muy cordials a todos los amigos del Ukelele!

Room Tip: Contact them in advance to request a lower bunk or the one private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hostel, beautiful large building, very spacious rooms. We stayed in a private room, huge room. Dorms are also very spacious, excellent bathrooms. Hostel has great character, forget your in a hostel, feels like a hotel in Paris. Situated very close to centro montevideo. Very easy to get to. Enjoyed our stay. Would defiantly recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great hostel with some really nice facilities (pool!) and lots of areas to spend time. Could do with a few more fans durring the summer. The problem with this place is that it books out, so make sure you reserve your bed in advance & plan to stay a little bit longer than you expect to!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great place to stay. We stayed in a dorm and had clean new sheets and
Big bunks.

Building is great big high ceilings. There is a really nice bathroom and some poor ones.

Pool is great! Lovely location. Nice music
Room, lots of places to relax.

Bread was completely covered in mould at breakfast!!

Bad area... But felt very safe and nice when inside

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous old building, spotless bathrooms. Some beds are ok but some are very uncomfortable. Great pool area, but very ordinary breakfast!!
Location isn't really near anything in particular, but central to everything ... a short cab to bus station, 15 min walk to the old city, but half hr bus to the beaches (Pocitos). Quiet, not a party hostel! I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ukelele Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ukelele Hostel

Address: Maldonado 1183, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ukelele awaits you in the best location of Montevideo. Our classic style house built in the 20's, is worth itself, with very spacious rooms, large common rooms and a huge swimming pool. (we are the only hostel in Mdeo that has one!!) We are downtown in the Km 0 of the city, next to Barrio Sur (where candombe was born), and in ten minutes you can reach Ciudad Vieja (old town) walking! Only 300 mts separate us from the Rambla (seaside), one of the best places of Montevideo.Ukelele is the perfect place to have a nice stay in Montevideo. We have large common rooms, with all kind of services to make your journey the best you can have, for the less price.You can enjoy a nice bath on our swimming pool, have some cold beers on the bar with people from all over the world, play the piano, guitar or Ukelele!! Or just relax and watch a nice movie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Ukelele Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ukelele Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.