We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palladium

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palladium to your Saves list
Hotel Palladium
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tomas De Tezanos 1146, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Palladium during a week of meetings in Montevideo. The location is excellent, one block from the waterfront Rambla and 2 blocks from the Montevideo Shopping Center and the World Trade Center complex. The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms are reasonably sized but they really need to be updated (furniture, wallpaper, curtains, linens) to compete with the new wave of business hotels in MVD. Would not recommend as a couples retreat, but it is a decent business hotel for around US$75. WiFi was free and much quicker than in Argentina. Large in-room safes. The free breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor restaurant with views of the WTC was excellent...one of the largest I've seen in Uruguay with 5 or 6 stations of hot food, rolls, coffee, yogurt and juices. The rooftop pool looked nice but was annoyingly locked the entire time I was there. The check-out was very slow, as one of their printers was down, so it took a long time to just leave. Definitely avoid Montesco, the overpriced restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel have views of the World Trade Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    110
    42
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
81
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

stayed 2 nights. Decent Average hotel. you get what you pay for. close walk to the river / restaurant area. mall is a bit further. clean room, hot water available, free internet, standard breakfast. for the price it was good. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Everything in this hotel is good or better, except for the stairs. They are narrow and winding, so in case of fire it will take forever to evacuate. How could they be approved by the Fire Department?
Obviously it was not design by architects specialized in hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anansen, Gerente at Hotel Palladium, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Customer,

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback. For us is critical to have an understanding on all our guest´s experiences to help us improve daily.
Also I would like to share with you that we truly regret that you felt this way regarding our building. On this matter I would like to share with you that our building does comply with all local legal regulations regarding fire security, measures being in fact certified by the local Fire Department. Although we understand that compared with other countries this may seem inadequate for your understanding, we do comply with all measures as per Uruguayan law.
We are glad the rest of the stay was satisfying and again appreciate all your comments.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

You can push the rate a little further down. American Airlines crew pay u$d 80 per night. Rooms are big and comfortable. Decoration is a little sad, but certainly not a problem if you are here to get to know Montevideo.
Breakfast is included, but not as good as with After Hotel across the street.
Tv sets are old and riducule small.

Room Tip: Great for business travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anansen, General Manager at Hotel Palladium, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear valued customer,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with all of us. For us, at the hotel, is extremely important to receive all our customer´s feedback in order to help us improve daily.

We are continuously working to improve both our service and refreshing needed on the property itself to improve guest satisfaction on a daily basis.

We will be pleased to receive you again if you visit Montevideo, honored to host you in our Hotel.

Thank you again for your comments,

Alfredo Nansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Breakfast buffet could be improved very few choices.. .well located hotel. price is very reasonable. Internet connections were not working properly. Front desk staff very helpful.. closed by restaurants a plus

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anansen, General Manager at Hotel Palladium, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear valued customer,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with all of us. For us, at the hotel, is extremely important to receive all our customer´s feedback in order to help us improve daily.

I would like to apologize for your breakfast and internet experiences. I truly regret that they were not up to your expectations and I would like to assure you that we will be working on both to improve them. As a special note we had installed a new wireless internet system that has shown excellent results on a daily basis, but clearly was not up to standards in your stay.

Hopefully we will be able to share with you those improvements if you honor us on your next stay in Montevideo.

Best regards,

Alfredo Nansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Buffett was good staff helpful and the area was walkable and shopping center 3 block s

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The room was very good (superior room), with a confortable bed, very clean ans spacius. The bathroom was ok, a little bit old fashined. The location was fine, in Pocitos area. I got a internet rate, so the price was very atracttive. Great place for business or short trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palladium

Address: Tomas De Tezanos 1146, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Montevideo
#14 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
#17 Family Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palladium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palladium Hotel Montevideo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.