We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away From Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Independencia 759, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 79 hotels in Montevideo
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My Home Away From Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Friendly, sincere staff that make me feel so welcome whenever I visit. I consider the Victoria Plaza "My Home Away From Home." When things go wrong in other hotels, (as they always do), I often say to my self, "This would never happen at the Victoria Plaza," and if it did, it would be fixed ASAP and with a smile!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor for the views of Montevideo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e-mail response with your feedback about the experience at Radisson Montevideo Hotel.

Your warm words make us feel pleased!!.

All opinions inspire us to continue the effort every day so that our guests will be completely satisfied with our service.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Will be a pleasure to receive you again when return to our City!

Best regards,

Guest Service Manager
Radisson Montevideo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    164
    67
    24
    12
See reviews for
60
138
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

One of the best hotels that I've ever stayed in South America. The Lobby is beautiful and everything is really fast. The room is very spacious and has a great view of the Rio de la Plata and the Port of Montevideo. Really really comfortable bed. The Hotel is very exciting for its inside services like the Ice Bar (Hielo Bar), Cassino and Spa. The Restaurant Arcadia in the top of the building has an amazing view and the breakfast is delicious and unique. Perfect locations in the principal square of the city and in the center of Montevideo. You can go by foot to the port, old town and many others locations. I hope come back to Radisson Victoria Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e - mail response with your feedback about the experience at Radisson Montevideo Hotel.
All opinions inspire us to continue the effort every day so that our guests will be completely satisfied with our service.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Will be a pleasure to receive you again when return to our City!

Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Radisson Montevideo Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhester, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks recently.
The staff, food and accommodation were extremely good.
The only negative thing I have to say is that the bar is very overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel and in my room it sounded like large rocks were being thrown at my windows every 7 seconds. Tried to ask for another room and they would not move me and she said that they would send a maintenance person up to check out why-but it seems that it is a known fact that this hotel has a window problem. In the end, they did nothing and the front desk person was rude, did nothing and also didn't seem to care about the problem. In my opinion, don't stay here unless they get their window problem fixed and staff attitude improved.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e - mail response with your feedback about the experience at Radisson Montevideo Hotel.

First of all we want to give you our apologize for the inconvenience caused, We regret to know that your stay with us was not satisfied and I will share your comments with the General Manager.

All opinions inspire us to continue the effort every day so that our guests will be completely satisfied with our service.

Once again, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel, hiding behind the façade of an older, decrepit red-brick building immediately in front of their newer hotel right behind it; they will tell you that the older building is their former hotel yet their main lobby is at the bottom of the older version. Once you finish with the check-in procedures you walk into a huge, glass-enclosed, very corporate-looking bar area that includes the bar, of course, about 8 tables and chairs and three or four business computers. Again, it looks more like a corporate HQ than a warm, inviting hotel, but the well-equipped rooms make up for this cold, sterile appearance. I was treated to a suite and really enjoyed my stay! The rooms are very well furnished indeed with fantastic views of the city and harbor. Unfortunately the older part of the city is crumbling and dirty with a multitude of dog dung on the streets and sidewalks. Uruguay, like many Latin American countries needs a Human Society or some kind of adopt-a-dog program otherwise it’s just going to get worse.

The two BEST features of this hotel are its spa facilities and its top floor [25th] restaurant with an excellent cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. There is nothing like looking down on the harbor while drinking your orange juice and everyone [naturally] wants the tables by the windows so get there early for breakfast! This hotel has the largest indoor pool that I have found in Latin America—almost 25 meters long and at least 15 meters wide, a real treat for someone like me who swims laps for exercise! They also have a sauna, personal-size Jacuzzi and gym so it’s very nice facility for anyone who wants to relax or work out.

If you arrive by ferry and decide you need the walk for exercise, the Radisson is about ten blocks from the ferry dock TO the hotel and city center, but make sure you get a city map before you leave the ferry terminal then head for the Mercado del Puerto, a meat-eaters delight of about 8 restaurants, all of them busy barbecuing meats. From this eating paradise there is a street of mosaic tiles that will lead you directly TO the city center; just watch out for those dog piles! The main tourist thoroughfare is Sarandi street/avenue. This a wonderful hotel with a very kind and helpful staff!

Room Tip: Ask IF your room windows making snapping/clicking sounds when the wind blows which it almost always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Montev... V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e - mail response with your feedback about the experience at Radisson Montevideo Hotel.

We love your description about our hotel, nobody better than you!!

All opinions inspire us to continue the effort every day so that our guests will be completely satisfied with our service.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Will be a pleasure to receive you again when return to our City!

Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Radisson Montevideo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

To be an old hotel, the service was impeccable and very professional, the location is ideal for shopping and dining in top restaurants in the neighborhood. What stands out most was the friendliness and smiles of the front desk staff. A hotel to return!

I

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Montev... V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e - mail response with your feedback about the experience at Radisson Montevideo Hotel.
All opinions inspire us to continue the effort every day so that our guests will be completely satisfied with our service.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Will be a pleasure to receive you again when return to our City!

Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Radisson Montevideo Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for a business trip. It was in a great location to all of downtown Montevideo.The staff was very good and they were also very helpful to some great places to eat and shop. I had a government rate and had free internet and breakfast included in my rate. The breakfast was on the top floor, the 25th, and the views were amazing. I thought the rooms were clean and very spacious. The bathroom was great and the showers had very good pressure.
I recommend going out of the hotel and jogging around the city as it's beautiful. Or walking down and eating some of the best steaks in the world!! Overall, very good hotel no complaints other than the distance from the airport. It cost around 1200 pesos or $60USD to get to the hotel one way!

Room Tip: I had a king room and it was pretty huge. Not sure if there were any suites, I imagine there were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson Montev... V, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your e - mail response with your feedback about the experience at Radisson Montevideo Hotel.
All opinions inspire us to continue the effort every day so that our guests will be completely satisfied with our service.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Will be a pleasure to receive you again when return to our City!

Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Radisson Montevideo Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Independencia 759, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#12 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Montevideo
Montevideo Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Montevideo Victoria Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.