We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the drink prices.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Montevideo Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Victor Solino Street 349, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Montevideo
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Check the drink prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The question is if three rounds of drinks with three people is equivalent to a nights stay in the hotel, what does that say about the hotel? $13 for a shot of average blended whiskey, $25 for a shot of a single malt is something I have an experienced yet. It is enough to drive anyone to drink, but you couldn't afford it here. Other postings have noted the scrimping on Internet, high price of minibar etc and that coupled with the tired look of the hotel should be sending alarm bells ringing with the management. It's not enough just to live off the Sheraton brand. There are number of other hotels in this great city, and I believe that they are building a Hilton on the seafront which should give this place a serious run for its money. Staff were very friendly, but I noted a bit of inconsistency in assigning rooms. The person next to me was given a choice of city view a River view and a choice of a queen or a king size bed. and I was not. My room consisted of two twin beds, which were quite small by modern hotel standards. I usually expect the hotel to highlight this to me. Maybe it was because I had a corporate rate, did not have breakfast included in the price of my room, that they gave me one of their lesser rooms. Again, what does that say about the management when staff assigned corporate clients this type of rooms? I will be looking elsewhere the next time I visit Montevideo.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having fullfilled your expectations.
The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers to avoid these events from happening again.
We are sorry your experience was not even close to our service standards.
We thank you for your time and comments. They provide us a worthy feedback to continue improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    255
    75
    15
    4
See reviews for
124
185
30
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed with my wife and a friend for one night as a part of our trip home. Our friend was a last minute guest, but the receptionist had no problem with her staying in our room. They only charged us 40 US$ for the bed. The staff was friendly and serviceminded and the hotel looks nice.
We got a free upgrade even though none of us holds any status with Sheraton and stayed on the club floor. The lounge was nice, but small. I did not have breakfeast because of a bad hangover, but my wife said it was good and she is really picky :).
The concierge helped us find a restaurant and seemed very knowledgeable about the city. The hotel is a little bit away from the city centre, but I would definetely recommend this hotel. They also have a direct entrance to a very nice mall which is great.
All in all we had a great stay here and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend an extra dollar on the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We will share them with our associates. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Initially disappointed because the Sheraton isn't in the centre of town but a 10 minutes taxi ride away we soon realised that you need a taxi or hired car to get around anyway. The only one in the town centre was the Radisson, so if you want to be in the town centre don't stay here. Further out is the Sofitel which looked great and more luxurious: despite the distance if you rent a car it makes no difference. But we warmed to the hotel where the staff were friendly. We stayed on the club floor, where the breakfast was excellent. There is a charge for wifi even in the club lounge which always annoys me as it is very petty and should be included as most cheaper hotels do. The gym was above average. Conveniently there are 2 car hire operators over the street and we were lucky to rent a car at one of them. Helpful tip: book your car hire in advance as they sell out over the busy periods and without one you are stuck or dependent on constant taxis. The room overlooked the river and was a decent size.

Room Tip: Club floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina S, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton is not in the CBD of Montevideo, but it's location is good nonetheless. Rooms are very representative of the Sheraton brand - large, comfortable and well presented. Beds are good and the rooms well equipped. One side of the hotel is designated at river view, but the other side affords views over the city itself and its harbour (if your room is high enough). Restaurant is good, particularly at breakfast, but service can be slow. Room service is efficient. The hotel is part of a complex that occupies the site of a former prison, many of the architectural features of which remaining the adjoining shopping centre, which is probably the best mall I no Montevideo. The surrounding area seems safe and all things considered this is a good, albeit quite expensive, choice in Montevideo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time here. Hoping to see you in another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 4 nights during the new year break at this hotel. it was a great choice with a lot of pros and a few cons.

Pros:

- Location (near the "sea", the city and excellent restaurants).
- Attached to a shopping mall.
- Room (clean, good size, huge bed, perfect if you have kids).
- Polite staff.
- Very good breakfast (albeit I read bad comments about the breakfast, I indeed liked, it was a good selection of food, fruits and juice and I did not have problems in finding a free table).
- Pool (the pool/gym floor is brilliant).

Cons:

- The concierge service.
- US$ 15 for using the wifi. C'mon, it is 2014!!!
- US$ 6 for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We are working in all of the items that you mention so we can improve our service and I hope you choose us for your next stay in Montevideo so you can see the changes.
The connection to the mall is something that we have as a plus to our guests, so they can go easily to the mall.
Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The air conditioning did not work, a dirty room, a very small breakfast room. But the worst is: if you needed a taxi, they would force you to take a "remise" ( a hotel's private taxi ). At New year's Eve, they would charge U$ 40 to run 6 miles! After a very hard talk, a regular taxi appeared and I payed U$12. Where is the 5 stars service? I recommend Sofitel Carrasco. It is a much better 5 stars!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We were surprised by your comments about the taxi service, and I will share it with the Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel.
By global standards it is certainly not 5*, at best 4*.
The rooms are fine. But beware, mini-bar is overpriced. (Bottle of water is US$5.50). They also charge for internet, which I find unreasonable.
The restaurant is very dull. The breakfast buffet is almost depressing.
The location is very good. It is In a safe area by the sea. You can walk around comfortably.
Though not close to the Old City, it is very easy to get there by taxi or bus. Just take the bus that says Ciudad Vieja for about US$1.
Tbe adjacent shopping mall is a plus.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are very sorry to learn about the matter and regret not having fullfilled your expectations.
The items you mentioned have all been discussed with the involved area managers to avoid these events from happening again.
We are sorry your experience was not even close to our service standards.
We thank you for your time and comments. They provide us a worthy feedback to continue improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Address: Victor Solino Street 349, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#3 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#4 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay, is a very cosmopolitan city - the result of successive European migrations. With 1.5 Million inhabitants, the city lies along a beautiful beachfront. Landmarks include the Cerro (hill) for which Montevideo (from the Portuguese Monte vide eu, which means "I see a hill") is named. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.