We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Montevideo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Montevideo Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Victor Solino Street 349, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 79 hotels in Montevideo
Kosice, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very good Sheraton property. Rooms are specious, clean, with big windows. Bathroom was fine as well, big enough. If you are a non- smoker, make sure you ask for a non-smoking room while you check- in ! Otherwise they will assign you automatically smoking room. And you will "smell" the difference. Rooms ending from 01 to 10 have nice river view. The rest of the rooms have a view of shopping mall (attached, part of the hotel).
Breakfast had ok selection if you are a meat lover. The chef prepares fresh eggs to your liking, even poached eggs (thank you once again).
The best asset was the Concierge desk with endless source of informations !
Location is fantastic as well, walking distance from river side, running track. It felt very safe.
If I return, I will definitely book Sheraton again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our guests, and we are glad that your stay with us was a pleasant one. Hope to see you on your next stay in Montevideo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    219
    61
    12
    4
See reviews for
108
157
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The property is in a good location, the rooms were very nice and the best thing of all was the staff. I enjoyed what I usually get at Sheratons anywhere in the world but this property managed to give the feel of a boutique hotel - possibly because the staff was so great. On the same trip I stayed at a fancier Starwood property in Buenos Aires and was disappointed after the great stay I had at the Sheraton Montevideo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had such a good time here. We hope to see you here im your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

1- great location- mall is one elevator away
2-lounge is pretty good in quality and staff from lounge is excellent
3- nice pool and jacuzzi
4- tour bus has one stop close to the hotel

Not very helpful concierge but all others were great.

Room Tip: Budget car rental on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Manager at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for writing about us! We are very happy to hear that you could enjoy our club lounge and our Sheraton Fitness during your stay. We hope to have you back in our hotel in your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Montevideo is a sleepy town and does not have much going on. The hotel was nice and is connected to the nicest mall in the city. There is very little to do at night, but the hotel was comfortable and had some good food. A little bar in the lobby too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you have found our hotel comfortable and well located. We hope to have you back in our hotel in your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall a great porperty with very helpful staff, my only gripe would be that the person checking me out had a runny nose and instead of using a hankerchief used her hand and this while handling my card. So a little training needed there.
Also supremely loud drum and bass music on arrival made it very hard to communicate with desk. However all the other service including breakfast and bell staff very good.
Location great, with access to the sea, and places of interest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about us. It is very nice to hear that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our location. We are going to work with our staff so the incident in your check out does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Sheraton hotels are a little hit and miss with me. Not this one. This is a very pleasant hotel. My room was large, comfortable, and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The gym in this hotel is one of the nicest I have ever seen - very modern and we'll maintained with a great view of the beach. The location is great with an attached mall and good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel restaurant is exceptional. I tend to be disappointed by hotel restaurants but this one is fantastic. The butternut squash soup was really tasty and the steak with sweet potatoes was honestly one of the best steaks I've ever had. The Internet in the room worked very well and there was a plug in option in case the wifi cut out which many hotels don't have anymore. I didn't know what to expect from Montevideo but it is a great little city! It has a much safer feel than many other cities in South America that I have visited. People were so nice! This visit was during winter but I would really like to come back in summer to see the beach again when it is warmer out. I don't have one complaint about this hotel or Montevideo.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are really glad that you had a nice stay with us and we are going to share your comments with our staff! We hope to have you back in the summer, when you can go to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

High prices but nothing to show for it. This is a mediocre hotel. Food is not great. Service is terrible. It is difficult to understand how this is even a Sheraton. Rooms are dated and tired.
There is nothing here of any substance to warrant such high prices. Someone should be ashamed of themselves.
There are plenty of other options around that offer more for less money.

Room Tip: High floor if possible. Too noisy otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lia R, Gerente at Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about us. Our main objective is to accomplish and exceed the expectations of our clients, and we have noticed that some services in the Hotel have not been according to your satisfaction. We are really sorry about that and let you know that we are working to continue improving our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Montevideo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montevideo Hotel

Address: Victor Solino Street 349, Montevideo 11300, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montevideo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo
#3 Family Hotel in Montevideo
#6 Business Hotel in Montevideo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Montevideo Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Sheraton Montevideo Hotel. Located in the fashionable residential area of Punta Carretas and overlooking the serene Rio de la Plata, our hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Adjoined to the Punta Carretas Shopping Center, and only 200 meters from the Golf Club and the promenade, you are surrounded by the comfort of one of Montevideo's most important residential neighborhoods. Find breathtaking views of the bay and the city from our 207 spacious guest rooms, including nine one-bedroom suites and one Presidential Suite. High Speed Internet Access is available so you can stay connected to work or home. Get a great night's sleep beneath the crisp sheets, warm blanket, and cozy duvet of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(R) Bed. Thoughtful amenities and comfortable furnishings will make your stay even more relaxing. Enjoy a great workout and the ultimate relaxation at our Sheraton Fitness, with its fully equipped gym, sauna and massage parlor. Cool off with a dip in our indoor swimming pool. Or warm up in our two Jacuzzis or on the sundeck. Connect with friends or colleagues after a busy in the elegant setting of Las Carretas Restaurant. Our ongoing commitment to excellence and dedication to superior performance ensures the success of every event long before your first guest arrives. We provide the highest level of personalized service, taking care of every request - big or small - in the timeliest, most efficient manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Montevideo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Montevideo
Montevideo Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Montevideo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.